foiled at the movie theatre!

i am not doing very well with my attempts to be nice, lately.

as you have seen, mom and dad have been so very good about letting me steal food from their fridge and cupboards during the great may grocery challenge this month (an apple and a cheese slice here, a baggie of cereal there…it all adds up). yes, i have felt more than a weeee bit guilty over taking, taking, taking (i think the tipping point was having dad get that lettuce for me at the market!).

as a gesture of thanks, i invited mom and dad to join me as my guests for a night out at the movies this past sunday. we could walk over to the princess twin for the 6:30 pm showing of the best exotic marigold hotel.

(source)

i had seen the trailer for this movie [i forget exactly what i was at the theatre to see when i saw it], and it looked like an inoffensive, engaging story – one that you are not uncomfortable to see with your parents [or your daughter, for that matter, i imagine!].plus, we are all great fans of judi dench and maggie smith.

what a gorgeous evening for a quick walk up to the cinema!

we arrived before 6:25 pm…only to be greeted by patrons exiting the theatre – the movie was sold out!

disappointed!

[apart from giving me free groceries, i also owe mom and dad for letting me boss them around about how to pose for photos for the blog – such good sports, always!].

what a shame! all three of us were genuinely surprised that the movie would be sold out on such a lovely evening of a long weekend (isn’t everyone supposed to be camping or at the cottage??). ah, well. not meant to be, obviously.

at least we enjoyed a short stroll in the evening sunshine!

mom and dad, we will reschedule!

plan b was quickly devised: we settled in for a knitting party (ok, not dad) at mom and dad’s condo, and watched the latest (pvr’d) episode of top chef canada -> highly entertaining!

and – will wonders never cease – i went home without stealing a thing!

what is the last movie you saw, and please give it a rating out of **** stars. i would like to go see the five-year engagement and/or what to expect when you’re expecting. i have no desire to see the avengers.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Stephanie  On May 23, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    I laughed out loud at the picture of your disappointed parents. I actually really liked the Avengers! But then, I’m a huge Joss Whedon fan, so there’s that. The last movie I saw at the theatre was The Lucky One. Gag. 2 stars, and that’s only because I think that Zac Efron turned out to be a pretty good-looking grown-up. Is that creepy? I did see The Social Network last week on DVD. Really, really good. 3.5 stars. Kind of sad and depressing, and also I’m not sure how fictional it is, but it was solidly entertaining.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 23, 2012 at 6:11 pm

      oh, i agree with you assessment of the social network, stephanie! i really liked it, too – plus it was educational – we learned the history of facebook! glad you liked the avengers – that is the them today, i see!

  • Johanna B  On May 23, 2012 at 11:11 am

    I don’t remember the last movie I saw in a theater. It’s been a couple of years at least. The last DVD I watched was “The Help” and I give it 3 1/2 stars. I did fix a big bowl of popcorn and a soda to have with it. Does that count?

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 23, 2012 at 11:20 am

      ah!!! “the help” is still on my list to see, johanna! glad you gave it such a good review. i think you did a good job of replicating a theatre experience with the popcorn and soda! how many DVDs is this for you now, this year, for your movie project??!

  • Sue  On May 23, 2012 at 10:25 am

    I’ve seen The Avengers twice now! Once as a action movie with Hubby and once as a chick flick. I give it **** because it is what it is and doesn’t pretend to be anything but fun entertainment. Have no desire to see 5 year engagement or What to Expect, but did get really excited to see the preview for “Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter”. Loved the book – hope they can do it justice!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 23, 2012 at 11:19 am

      wow, a double outing to “the avengers” – that tells me you did enjoy it, sue!! ok, i will not ask you to go with me to “what to expect” or “5 year!” :D have not heard of that vampire movie?? i do hope you find it to be a good adaptation of the book!

  • Lisa  On May 23, 2012 at 8:44 am

    Oh, how disappointing! I used to work in a movie theatre, and I saw that disappointment a lot!
    I’ve mostly seen movies at the theatre with Matthew and Kyle (Joe’s nephew) lately…sometimes those are ok. Oh, we did get talked into going to see Safe House with friends a couple months ago…neither of us liked it–way too violent and scary (we like happy uplifting movies!).
    I’m glad you got to spend some QT with your mom and dad, even without the movie! I bet they don’t mind you “stealing” stuff from them even a little bit!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 23, 2012 at 9:10 am

      ah, lisa, you *know* my parents too well, by this point! they have told me they don’t mind at all when i “shop” at their place…the guilt is of my own doing! it was so cute: there was this little old lady who was soo sooo disappointed she couldn’t see the movie…she was all dressed up, and i could tell it was a special “night out” – i felt so bad for her! i am with you – i like uplifting, non-scary movies, too!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On May 23, 2012 at 8:24 am

    We don’t go to the movies often any more. I think the last movie we saw was Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2. I would love to see Dark Shadows because I watched the original TV show when I was in high school. Sorry you didn’t get to see your movie…:-(

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 23, 2012 at 9:11 am

      fran, did you read the harry potter books, too? (i am going to guess YES!). i have not read the books nor seen the films…maybe you should grab ralph and go see dark shadows, spur of the moment!?!?

  • Stephanie @ Snacking☀nSunshine  On May 23, 2012 at 8:13 am

    I saw What to Expect when you’re Expecting last night and LOVED it. It’s surprisingly sentimental at times.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 23, 2012 at 9:12 am

      thanks for commenting, stephanie! i am glad you hear your positive review of “what to expect…” – i think i need to invite a girlfriend to go see it, for sure!

  • strivingcynic  On May 23, 2012 at 7:50 am

    Aside from airplane movies (subject of tomorrow’s post), I saw “the hunger games” a few weeks ago. I’d say 3.5 out of 4 stars.
    Funny about the film selling out, but you did get to spend time with your parents

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 23, 2012 at 9:13 am

      ooo, i will look forward to your airplane movie-themed post tomorrow, zo!! can never talk too much about movies. glad you liked “hunger games” so much – it’s been super popular, that is for sure!

  • Johanna G.  On May 23, 2012 at 6:59 am

    What to Expect looks terribly good but I’ll confess that I saw The Avengers on the weekend as well and enjoyed every minute of it (a solid 3 3/4 stars in my books) but, of course, that’s not what you’re looking to hear! :)
    PS – I can’t believe your movie was sold out on a long weekend! That’s crazy!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 23, 2012 at 7:05 am

      yes, i had to laugh when i saw on fb that you said how great the avengers was…and that is good! it’s just not *my style* of movie! but i can see how j would have loved it (see kim’s comment, too – her kids loved the movie!). when you pay to see a movie, you for sure want it to be at least three stars!! i could see a SOLD OUT at the princess for a blockbuster, but for a non -mainstream film, it was surprising!!

  • 42kim  On May 23, 2012 at 6:29 am

    I took my kids to see The Avengers on Monday. It was a really funny and the kids were so excited to go to the matinee and Frederick… And so much less expensive than the big theatres. Sorry your movie was sold out. I want to see that one too
    4 stars.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 23, 2012 at 7:02 am

      oh, what a fun way to celebrate the may holiday, kim! i have fond memories of the frederick – have not been in years, mostly because the princess is closer, but yes, great prices compared to the big theatres. glad the movie was so entertaining!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

