sulphur springs saturday!

there’s going to be a lotta big mileage numbers recorded into some runners’ logbooks after this weekend at the sulphur springs trail races! today, over near ancaster, you will find ultrarunners participating in 50k, 50 mile and 100 mile distances [there are also 10k and 25 k events, and while still worthy distances, those are not ultras!]. i will be eagerly awaiting the results: one of my fb friends, s.p., is in the 100 miler. this has got to be s.p.’s eighth or ninth attempt at completing this distance, and i soooo hope he gets his finisher’s belt buckle this weekend. s.p. has run amazing mileage thus far in 2012, and it’d be great to see all his dedication rewarded. i think some other fb friends are running, too, so i wish them all the best! you planned the work, now work the plan (and drink up – it’s going to be hot!).

sulphur springs is no walk in the park for a 100 mile race. the course is very hilly, and the trails can be quite technical, at times. i ran the 25k distance a couple of years, and still have the scar on my left elbow from a spill i took after catching my toe on a tree root as a souvenir (well, that and the race tshirt, of course!). one of these years, i would love to volunteer at an aid station at sulphur – it’d be super cool to observe the will and might of these runners!

have you ever stayed up all night to participate in a sporting event? i know fran recently did when she walked in the relay for life! and when i was five, i remember dad being a part of a 24 hour relay running team, back in the 70’s – i clearly recall sitting in the back seat of the car as we picked him up at seagram stadium!

~*~*~*~*~

on wednesay, i was chauffering little e and all of a sudden on z103.5 a song came on that i have not heard in ages – well, since i used to teach aerobics back in the 90’s. i am sure little e thought that aunti had flipped her lid because i squealed excitedly as i animatedly explained to her that this was one of my favourite songs EVER! i had completely forgotten what a kick-ass song it is! [i did not use that term when chatting with little e!].

google is such a beautiful thing. i am really bad with song titles, so i came home wednesday eve and simply googled, “i’m knock knock knocking, knocking on the back of your door” and within two seconds double vision’s “knockin‘” was blasting out of my laptop. man, playing this song is so ENERGIZING!!! it makes me very HYPER (not the best emotion at 10 pm!) and brings a huge smile to my face, both because of the fantastic beat and the happy memories of aerobics-teaching days. immediately after my google search, i bought the song on itunes – best $0.99 purchase in eons!

so watch out: i am seriously contemplating having knockin‘ and ONLY knockin’ on dad’s my ipod on endless repeat for my next running event. the combo of knockin’ + compression socks could bring about quite the race experience!

what is a song that revs you up? my favourites all have a strong and quick bass beat, i’ve noticed.

~*~*~*~*~

remember the super cute card that gina sent me?

andrea’s work of art

well, gina let me know that andrea has a website where she features her cards, and you can order them from this site, as well. i’m passing along the link simply because andrea’s creations are so imaginative and so beautiful – and you may need some cards?!

are you familiar with etsy? i have poked about once, but that was it. i really like going to craft shows (like stitch n kitsch!) where you can see products *for real* and purchase directly from independent artists/creators!

have a sensational (sunsational?!) saturday!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna B  On May 29, 2012 at 3:48 pm

    I don’t usually listen to music when I’m working out. I use it more as a stress release so I like country, folk, and classical. I also LOVE LOVE LOVE Ricky Martin’s “A Medio Vivir” album. I don’t understand a word but I love the music and feel great after listening to it.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 29, 2012 at 4:06 pm

      you’ve got a wide range of musical interests, johanna! very nice! the only ricky martin i know is the song “livin’ la vida loca” (sp?) – i LOVE that song! glad you found a whole album you enjoy!

  • Lisa  On May 27, 2012 at 10:25 am

    Oh, don’t you just LOVE it when a song does that?!!?
    Whenever I hear Madonna’s early stuff, like Material Girl, I always am taken directly back to my bedroom when I was like 10….my sister and I made up a dance routine to that song, and played it over and over…and over!

    I also like a lot of the old pop songs from the early 90’s. I hated high school, but for some reason I have good memories of the music!

    I haven’t done an overnight sporting event….but Joe has–that ragnar thing he did a couple weeks ago. I can’t say it’s high on my list of things to do! But I admire people who get excited about things and love to do them.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 27, 2012 at 10:34 am

      oh, i agree – the 90s gave us some great pop tunes! (the bangles! the go-go’s!). i will go on record as saying madonna’s early stuff (the immaculate collection) remain her best work. although i DO love her last couple of albums A LOT!! i was wondering if it was ragnar in which joe participated…would love to hear more about his experience! so i guess you will not be crewing overnight for joe should he ever do a 100 miler, right lisa?! :)

  • Gina Unger  On May 26, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    i don’t recognize that song but definitely remember songs like it from that “era”! pumps me up to do some aerobics right now!!!
    now all i’m thinking about is… what happened with your quilt at the auction today?!?! i’m all ears!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 26, 2012 at 9:28 pm

      oh yea, i know you were an aerobics fan (and instructor, too!), gina! ah, the good old days! i will be able to phone mcc in the next couple weeks to find out the price that the quilt sold for. i will let you know when i know! the k-w record always does an article the monday after the sale with the amount of $ raised, in total, if you can access the paper online!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On May 26, 2012 at 10:58 am

    I hear about Etsy all the time, but I’ve never looked at it. Guess I should give it a try. I’ve never stayed up all night for a sporting event, but as you know I just completed my third Relay for Life and I stayed up all night plenty of times in college to finish working on costumes or finishing a set for shows. It’s fun!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 26, 2012 at 11:03 am

      oh, the good ol’ college days, eh fran?! that DOES sound like fun times! so proud of you for doing the relay again!!

  • strivingcynic  On May 26, 2012 at 6:44 am

    I’ve never stayed up all night for a sporting event..or any other event. Too fond of sleeping,
    There are a number of “rev me up” songs for me. “head over heels” by the go-gos comes to mind though.
    I’ve poked on etsy a little…suspect I could get lost in it!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 26, 2012 at 8:15 am

      i’m iwth you zo – love the go-go’s!!! “we got the beat” is another energizer! yes, add etsy in with facebook as a time-waster! why i have not ventured into pinterest!…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

