a decadent drink + a marvelous movie

sunday was a fun day!

part i:

in the afternoon, i met up with mom and dad at starbucks. this was a momentous occasion because i had my first-ever iced beverage!!

mmmm!!

it’s true! i’ve never had a frappa-cappa-latta-mochi, ever, and sunday was the day to try one of s’bux specialty iced drinks. since it was 3 p.m., i did not want anything with coffee in it, so i ordered (after receiving info and clarification from the barista) a double chocolatey chip (don’t quote me, but i think that was the name). i loved it! this beverage becomes entry #2 in the wildly decadent and delicious desserts category for the 12 days of kiki project. here’s a fact: any time you add whipped cream and/or chocolate sauce to anything, said item automatically gets bumped into “decadent” status. [i’m calling it now: the remaining three desserts of the project are going to be ice-y cold, in some way, shape or form]. anyway, that chocolate drink gets a **** rating, and i highly recommend it.

the main reason for our get-together was to celebrate mom’s upcoming birthday!

a photo to mark the occasion!

as part of her gift, i made mom a pair of socks…

how many socks do you see???!…

…except due to technical difficulties, i only had one sock completed! so, mom received one sock on sunday and an IOU card for its partner. hopefully, by this weekend, mom will have TWO socks in her possession!

we had a lovely time visiting and raising a glass an iced drink in mom’s honour!

part ii:

sunday eve, we headed back over to the princess in order to attempt, once again, to catch the film the best exotic marigold hotel.

would we have better luck getting in on an overcast and humid sunday eve of a non-long weekend?

(source)

yes!…but barely! we got seats mid-theatre -> would not have wanted to be any closer to the screen!

we’ll go with inside-the-theatre photos, this week!

hello!

we all loved the movie. i give it a rock-solid ***+ star rating.

the storyline is captivating and quick-paced and filled with unexpected twists. my favourite characters were played by bill nighy and maggie smith, but the movie is chalk full of stellar performances. the dialogue is LOL funny in parts, but the film is also full of gentle life lessons such as:

everything will be all right in the end…if it’s not alright, then it’s not the end.

that is brilliant!

if you get a chance to view this movie, go for it – you won’t be disappointed!

whose birthday will you next celebrate among your immediate family/close friends? we enter a drought period after mom’s birthday – nothing until cutie c turns three in august!

do you have any desire to travel to india (the setting for the best exotic marigold hotel)? i do not, i must admit. call me unadventurous, but i do think india is a little too exotic for me…although i would find my beloved hot weather!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry (@dorrybird)  On May 30, 2012 at 9:57 pm

    that chocolately drink looks amazing! decadent is right. I love your close relationship with your parents – invaluable! my sister’s birthday was on Memorial Day, and my dad’s is up next on July 1st. we’ll be skyping! :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 30, 2012 at 10:20 pm

      wow! your sis and my mom are just one day apart in bdays! now if your dad was in canada for his bday, he could see fireworks galore – july 1st is canada day!!

  • Johanna B  On May 30, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    I used to love s’bux iced drinks but the mixes for most of them contain gluten. Therefore, I bid them adieu. I am now happy with a skim, sugar-free, no whip vanilla latte. It’s just not the same – definitely not decadent – but I enjoy them anyway. The last truly decadent dessert I ate was a flourless chocolate cake at a little barnyard inn just north of Topeka.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 30, 2012 at 5:15 pm

      i did not know they contain gluten! good to know! that dessert sounds wonderful – very memorable!

  • Stacie  On May 30, 2012 at 9:11 am

    I love the caramel frappuccinos–they do make a light version which is not so bad on the decadence scale if you want to enjoy one that won’t break the dessert bank!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 30, 2012 at 9:32 am

      oooo, thanks for the tip, stacie! i think it would be a very good idea to go to starbucks once per week from now til september and have a different drink each visit!

  • strivingcynic  On May 30, 2012 at 8:29 am

    I have definitely had frappucino goodness a number of times over the years…I usually get caramel. The kind you had sounds so good.
    I would like to see India although there are many other places I’d like to see first.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 30, 2012 at 9:07 am

      i checked out s’bux cold drinks online and could not believe how many there are!! caramel – now there’s another flavour to try! yes, that is the travel problem – so many places, so little time (not to mention money!).

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On May 30, 2012 at 7:35 am

    Those drinks are TOO good, Cathy! I’ve had to stop ordering them after I figured out how they count on WW. I just usually get iced coffee with a spritz of one of the sugar free syrups. I heard that movie is good. How can it not be with Judi Densch and Maggie Smith!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 30, 2012 at 8:21 am

      fran, i have never had an iced coffee, like just plain iced coffee! i think i will try that this summer, too! yes – do take ralph and/or ele and see the movie if you get a chance!!

  • Lisa  On May 30, 2012 at 6:31 am

    That’s one of my favorite quotes ever! Whenever things are crazy, confusing, or not-so-good, I just repeat that to myself!
    Glad you loved the movie….and I’d def agree that the s’bux drink counts for your decadent dessert! I have never had one—mostly because I’m afraid of the sugar (but even before that I didn’t because I didn’t know what those things were or how to order them!).
    My gma’s bday is June 12, but she’s so loopy now, I’m not sure we’ll celebrate—so I think the real next one is June 19th, my sister. She’d be 36 this year, and my mom and I have a plan for that day. In July are 3 of joe’s nieces, my mom’s man, and me!

    I wish I wanted to go to India….but I don’t. I’m not that adventurous. I like the beach. :-)

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 30, 2012 at 7:08 am

      oh, that is neat that you are familiar with that quote, lisa! it was a new one for me! apparently there is another s’bux drink with choco whipped cream and cookie crumbles?!! that might need to go on the summer to-try list! you have lots of bday celebrations coming up! your june/july sounds like our may!

  • The Orchard  On May 30, 2012 at 5:21 am

    I would love to see that movie and also go to India. But I would be nervous to go to India with the kids. It seems too crowded!

    This is one of our busy birthday times with Jeff’s birthday in May, Lauchy’s birthday is in June and Heather in July. Addie and I wait until November for our birthdays!

    Enjoy the day.

    Cheers,
    Tricia

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 30, 2012 at 7:09 am

      do try to get to the movie, tricia – a date night for you and jeff? although not as exciting as a date night in south africa! that is so fun that 2/3 of your children have summer bdays – awesome time of year for outdoor parties!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

