hello, summer!

today is the first FULL day of summer 2012! yippee!

the only sad thing is that the days are already going to start getting shorter!

what are you most looking forward to between now and the first day of fall (ick)? me=just the summer weather. life in general is just more fun when it’s hot, sunny and light late!

~*~*~*~*~

i am in the mood to talk about books today. every tuesday, zo participates in top ten tuesday, hosted by the blog site the broke and the bookish. i’ve joined in once before, too (again, on the wrong day). i always look forward to seeing zo’s take on the weekly topic. this past tuesday, the theme was “top ten books on my summer TBR list” – oooh, yes! that is a fun challenge! i want to play, too! and top ten THURSDAY still rolls nicely off the tongue. i’m going to go for it.

top ten books on my summer TBR list

1. 50 shades of grey – e.l. james (will start asap when i get the book from a friend or my name comes up on the library wait list!)

2. where we belong – emily giffin (the latest from this author – i’ve already read three eg’s this year!)

3. in one person – john irving (one of my favourite authors, this is his 2012 release)

4. a sophie kinsella that is NOT part of the shopaholic series (will follow up on gina’s suggestion)

5. shoe addicts anonymous – beth harbison (idea borrowed from zo)

6. then came you – jennifer weiner (one of my fave reading-on-the-beach type authors)

7. the newlyweds – nell freudenberger (seen in a globe and mail – or was it the toronto star? – book review section)

8. a joyce carol oates novel (any one i have not read; i am in the mood for her style)

9. ready player one – ernest cline (**11th hour substitution [which bumped bossypants by tina fey] – sil ana and i had a brief yet very enjoyable chat about the 80s yesterday – she mentioned that ready player one was recommended to her as a fun read with a lot of cool 80s references in it. since i ♥ 80s-everything this summer…well, and the 70s…i am IN for checking out ready player one!)

10. tom cruise: an unauthorized biography – andrew morton (i started this one a few sundays ago. to my horror, it is very boring so far. how can you make tom cruise boring?? i am only into his childhood era, so am really hoping the interest level picks up as we move along…)

[i can practically guarantee i will not get ten books read between now and labour day (my definition of the end of summer) – two is a realistic goal!].

what are, let’s say, the top TWO books you would like to read this summer? a book a month has proven to be my pace thus far in 2012!

~*~*~*~*~

30 day photo challenge:

day #21: faceless self-portrait

i was bored with the thought of standing in front of my full-length mirror, again, and simply chopping off my head (or putting a paper bag over my head). here’s the variation i came up with instead:

“criss-cross”

sitting cross-legged like this is a meditative yoga pose, but i also like it as a stretch…and boy, did i feel the tightness in my hips as i snapped this picture! in terms of composition, i was aiming to capture unique angles – usually we see legs in their straight up and down alignment. and!…please note there are no compression socks in this leggy-photo, for once!

wishing you a great first-day-of-summer 2012!!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On June 22, 2012 at 8:01 am

    I’m glad you do “catch up” book challenges, Cathy! The Ready Player One book sounds like something I would really like (80s nostalgia!).. I was just looking at the Newlyweds at a Barnes and Noble last night (I did not make any purchases though). I’ve never actually read any Joyce Carol Oates..she’s sort of a local author although Princeton is very different from the rest of the towns in my area!
    Great idea for a photo. Aside from the crossed legs, I like how the lines of the floor…um…juxtapose!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 22, 2012 at 8:10 am

      ooo, thanks for noticing the floor lines vs the leg angles…my, this challenge is teaching us photography criticism (in the artistic sense!). zo – try “we were the mulvaneys” by joyce carol oates, if you are interested. it was a fantastic read. i really do look forward to top ten tuesday every week, and reading your lists!

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On June 21, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    Nothing wrong with top 10 Thursday! My top 2 (although I will for sure read more than that) are Angela’s Ashes, which I started on the plane, because somehow I skipped reading it when it was released and World Without End which is a Ken Follet tome (>1000 pages) sort of sequel to Pillars of the Earth, which I loved and want to re-read since it’s been 20 years (this is very unusual for me–I usually don’t re-read books). I figure I’ll be reading a lot by the pool once I get home ;).

    You are one flexible gal–I could not do that! Cool picture though!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 21, 2012 at 1:06 pm

      ah! stacie, thank you for reminding me about ken follett. i, too, read pillars of the earth and loved it. someone in the family has world without end right now – i will need to track it down as i would like to read it, too. however it is so heavy (literally and figuratively) i think it is a winter book! i loved angela’s ashes – please let me know what you think when you are done! ah yes, reading by the pool – that will be divine!!!

  • Gina Unger  On June 21, 2012 at 10:39 am

    yay summer! but am already sad that the days are getting shorter. i love spring b/c the anticipation of summer is most exciting for me!
    love the self-portrait – very creative! and thanks for the rec. of the emily giffin book – will have to read now, too!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 21, 2012 at 11:49 am

      haha, let’s crisscross recommendations – the sophie kinsella for the emily giffin! i am with you on loving the ANTICIPATION of summer – i really feel that way this year. loved may and june…feeling like july and aug are going to be anti-climatic! it is so hot here i wish i could dive in your pool – haha!

  • Johanna B  On June 21, 2012 at 10:15 am

    The thing I am most looking forward to this summer is it’s being over. I hate the heat and I despise the humidity. As for books, I have started reading Janet Evanovich’s series and also Lisa Gardner. Anything by them.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 21, 2012 at 10:18 am

      say it ain’t so, jo(hanna)! oh, i am sorry you dislike summer…you are just like my mom with not enjoying the heat and humidity. i hope you like the janet evanovich series – those stephanie plum books will be delightful for light summer reading!

  • Ele  On June 21, 2012 at 8:16 am

    wow, I remember being able to do that! Many, many, years ago!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On June 21, 2012 at 7:09 am

    Cathy, I love the faceless self portrait! Acutally, I’m just amazed you can get into that postion although it shouldn’t be that surprising considering how fit you are! Must be all the knitting! ;-) What books am I looking forward to this summer? I have my huge pile of Goodwill books in the the bedroom. There’s a Jennifer Weiner-Flyaway Home. I always like her books. I’m looking foward to the 3 remaining books that I have in the Uglies series which my friend Kristen will be lending me. This makes me think I should do a Books for the summer post. I’m trying to decide now what I’ll be taking on our trip. I really need a Nook…then I wouldn’t have to think about that!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 21, 2012 at 9:07 am

      yes, fran – you should do a top ten for summer list, too – would be great fun to see what else is on your radar. the nook – would be very convenient for traveling, i imagine. and so many books would be at your fingertips! i hope you get lots of reading time this summer!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

