it’s time for a blogcation!

a peculiar thought popped into my head late last week when the temperature soared and the humidex made it feel like it was 37 degrees out:

it’s too hot to blog and read blogs.

how bizarre! i can see if i felt it was too hot to lie out under direct sunlight, drink steaming coffee, or knit with thick wool yarn…but to feel lacklustre and lethargic about blogging-related activities? that is a first!

i’m actually glad i got this vibe…see, back in june i decided that it would be in my best interest to take a holiday from blog-writing once july rolled around.

(source)

why?? there are three main reasons:

~ i want to avoid hitting blog burn-out -> longtime readers will remember that i posted a blog entry every day last year in 2011. achieving that streak was super fun – it was a creative marathon, if you will.  but then i hit a slump in january – the writing mojo lagged for a bit. i learned my lesson to be pre-emptive in taking a break – for us amateur, unpaid bloggers, this hobby should always be fun!

~ it’s primo vacation time -> i have a feeling a lot of you will be on the beach, at the ball park, lounging by the pool (if so, invite me over, yes?!)…not spending time with eyes glued to the computer screen.  and that is as it should be – let’s get out and enjoy the sunshine and heat and relaxed holiday vibe that is filling the air! [gina is my role model for this leave-the-computer-inside philosophy; she has mentioned before that winter is the time to devote more energy to computer projects, not summer!].

~ i have a major project lined up for the next few weeks (let’s add an air of mystery to our chat today!). i want to do a bang-up, A+ job without trying to balance blogging in there, too. i’ll share more details at the end of the month!

so: for july, i am going to post a six month kikiproject update on monday, july 9th [we’re half way thru the year – zowie!] and regular blogging will resume on wednesday, july 25th. why the 25th? well, because it is then five months until christmas day!

:)

what i may do is experiment with more frequent contributions to facebook (i tend to just lurk-read and *like* other people’s status updates) and return to tweeting some twitters (twittering some tweets?!) – my last twitter comment (of the 236 i have ever made) was april 11, 2011. there’s an art to expressing yourself pithily within the confines of 140 characters!

[a note to blog-friends: i look forward to our continued visiting and chatting…except that it will all be taking place on your blogs! commenting is much less work than composing!]

bloggers: have you ever taken an extended leave of absence from your blog? i will admit to some feelings of trepidation: what if no one reads, ever again (well, i can always count on mom!…) or what if i don’t want to take up blogging again? i hope these fears are normal – and unfounded!

what are your vacation plans for july-august? i am not going away anywhere – and that is fine as i truly enjoy summer in the city, and i will make my escape in january!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ameena  On July 8, 2012 at 4:48 pm

    I went from writing daily posts to 2 X a week posts to 1 X a week posts. So I guess you could say I’m sort of taking a vacation? It’s a lot of work…I feel your pain!

    Enjoy your break!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 8, 2012 at 5:07 pm

      thanks for sharing your blogging “transformation,” ameena. i cannot believe how free my brain feels after just one blog-free week! blogging is fun, but a break does make us realize how much time we spend doing our posts, eh?!

  • Lisa  On July 5, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    I love the idea of a scheduled break! I take breaks….but usually it’s unplanned, and then I feel kind of guilty about it (for what reason, I don’t know).

    So, how do I find you on facebook? Or you can find me if you like– facebook.com/lisakbeach
    And I tried mentioning you in a tweet once and it said user not found… maybe I just typed it wrong?

    Anyway, reading this triggered my memory that I received an email from you last week (the week before?) that I never answered. I apologize for that. I’ve been slightly in over my head lately. I’ll be back on the 9th to read your update!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 5, 2012 at 8:25 pm

      thanks for the visit, lisa! i will search you on fb! twitter – i am following you but not sure why you could not locate me? just today i thought that i should try a tweet…i did not, went with a fb post instead! i was thinking that you must be in the midst of a busy spell, lately…nice to be in touch again!

  • Stephanie  On July 4, 2012 at 11:30 am

    I would NEVER take a break from my blog. I think it’s absolutely crucial to blog every single day, which is what I obviously do. Not blogging? Please! What a terrible, terrible idea. I will never read this blog again.

    Have a FABULOUS vacation, friend!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 4, 2012 at 11:38 am

      bah ha ha!! stephanie, you are the best. you do make me laugh! isn’t it funny how our blogging styles evolve – thanks for being a positive example of letting life dictate your blogging schedule, not the other way around. i do enjoy when i see you’ve got a new post up! :)

  • Johanna B  On July 3, 2012 at 4:28 pm

    Happy belated Canada Day. Enjoy your hiatus from the blog. Think up lots of new things to tell us. Rachel is having another boy. She had the ultrasound yesterday. Ivan will enjoy a little brother I’m sure. I don’t work tomorrow but I’ll spend most of the day doing laundry due to procrastination on Sunday.

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 3, 2012 at 5:15 pm

      oh, congratulations on baby boy #2 for rachel! that is so exciting – thanks so much for sharing the news, johanna. it’ll be so much fun to be grandma to two little boys. happy 4th of july tomorrow – if it’s nice weather, leave the laundry – haha! or watch a movie!

  • Gina Unger  On July 3, 2012 at 10:38 am

    Happy belated Canada Day! we had a great weekend away – super hot and humid – perfect lake weather.
    your ice bath made me feel COLD! good for you for doing it. i’ve never tried (other than jumping into our icy pool after a run in the spring!)
    totally understand your need for a blog-cation. as you know, i’ve been doing more and more of that lately.
    mom and dad arrive here tomorrow (for a week), then it’s more lake time, camping time, hosting friends from far-away and lots of pool time. TOTAL summer vacation! LOVE IT! :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 3, 2012 at 10:52 am

      gina, your summer plans sound wonderful! do enjoy every moment – our summer season is way too short! i do think you would enjoy the ice bath if you are ever super hot n sweaty after a run…although with the pool option, that does sound more fun! so glad you had a great canada day weekend away – we lucked out with perfect weather in ontario, too!

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On July 2, 2012 at 10:49 am

    Oh, I forgot to answer your questions! My blogging break came when I started it–I enabled it and then did not really start it for 2 years, oops. So, I feel like I have to keep the momentum for a while since it’s only really been a few months. We don’t plan to go anywhere July/August but that’s ok since we escaped in June!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 2, 2012 at 10:57 am

      stacie, i hope the weather is just fantastic in july + august so that you can enjoy tons of pool time! it’s been a lot of fun to follow along on your cali vacation, too! ok, that is funny that you had your blog activated for so long before you really got into blogging…it does take a bit of time to find your groove/determine the schedule that works for you. have a great vacation day today!

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On July 2, 2012 at 10:46 am

    Have a great time off Cathy! I am sure it will refresh you–and how great to just have fun in the sun during July! We will all be here when you return!

  • strivingcynic  On July 2, 2012 at 8:05 am

    I have taken breaks for vacations, but not a really extended break. As I’ve mentioned, I locked myself in a bit this year post-wise, and I have been following my schedule.
    I wish you a very happy break, which you absolutely deserve and should enjoy. I can’t wait ro read your 9 and 25 posts and to hear more about your project! And I know I’ll see you over at “my place”. What will be weird is that since I subscribe to you, I won’t get my daily “Kiki posted” e-mail!
    Have fun!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 2, 2012 at 9:30 am

      thanks, zo! it will be strange to NOT blog, but this will be an interesting experiment to see how a break feels! see you tomorrow for top ten tuesday (i hope you are participating this week?!). i think you have worked out a blogging schedule that really works for you – awesome!

      • strivingcynic  On July 2, 2012 at 1:11 pm

        I havent’t written this Week’s book post yet, but I’m planning to have it up for tomorrow!

      • 1970kikiproject  On July 2, 2012 at 1:15 pm

        yippee! :) i AM going to see moonrise kingdom tonight so i will try to remember to give you my four star review in your comment section tomorrow, too!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On July 2, 2012 at 6:10 am

    I will miss my daily Kiki, but I understand. I haven’t taken a real break. Last year I remember skipping a day, I think while we were in NM and it felt like playing hooky! I know we’ll still be in touch and each post will be even more precious when the come. Hugs, Cathy! Enjoy your time off!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 2, 2012 at 6:33 am

      thanks, fran! you can bet i will be checking in on YOUR blog! that’s neat that you (obviously) find daily blogging to suit you best…it’ going to be super fun to see your photos/read your news when you get to new mexico and blog from there!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

