kikiproject: we’re half way!

in all the excitement over hitting the mid-way mark of this year’s 1970kikiproject, i nearly forgot that today is also my six month birthday! i’m going to have to do something special to celebrate!

(source)

how are you? i hope your july is swimming along nicely. i’m enjoying my blog break a little too much, various other pursuits and my Big Project, and the great summer weather. my tan is coming along nicely. i already feel a little rusty in the writing department, so bear with me if this post contains any spelling errors or dangling participles, please and thank you!

:)

so: the purpose of today’s post is to check in with our twelve challenges and see how things are looking now that we’re half way there

(source)

1. record at least one positive thing every day in my gratitude journal/excel spreadsheet. this is a second-nature routine, just like brushing my teeth or putting on make-up. i think i even remembered to log my gratitudes on each day this month, and did not have to go back to the previous day, as has happened on occasion, in the past.

2. babysit little e and cutie c two times so that the brother and sil ana can enjoy a significant date or special event. this project is complete! (friday, march 16th and saturday may 12th were the two occasions). the brother and sil ana know, though, that they are welcome to call upon me, any time. since we still have six months left in the 12 days of kiki project, hopefully extended babysitting will happen again.

3. blog three times per week (monday-wednesday-friday). modified on february 13th to: leave a comment on a minimum of three blogs, every day. yup – no issues this month. i have enjoyed becoming steady blog friends with stacie during the past month – it’s nice to have another blogging buddy in my regular mix!

4. run four (point two) km…times ten. i did not accomplish this goal this month – and had no intentions of so doing!

5. eat five wildly decadent and delicious desserts. we are DONE with this project! remember in last month’s recap i said that i hoped to finish either the desserts challenge or the r.a.o.k category? i went with desserts!

treat #3:

saturday june 23rd: @ baskin robbins: choco chip ice cream in a waffle cone

i delighted in my baskin-robbins cone [their choco chip ice cream is still #1 on this earth for best ice cream taste] all by myself! [note: i really wanted a choco dipped waffle cone which was unavailable – i had to settle for plain]. while i do not support using food or booze to drown your feelings, there is certainly nothing wrong with contemplatively nibbling down an ice cream cone to mark the closure of a life chapter. it was the perfect antidote to soothe a heart that was feeling bittersweet and just a little sad.

treat #4:

sunday, july 1: a laura secord waffle cone dipped in chocolate and sprinkles, choco chip ice cream, enjoyed with mom at conestoga mall!

ok, this THIS, my friends, is what i have been lusting after this entire project! holy cow, was this cone fantastic. while i still place b-r choco chip above laura secord’s ice cream, the waffle cone is what put this afternoon treat over the edge. i would sit and eat the cone, sans ice cream, any time. and mom and i had such a great time chatting and laughing and dribbling ice cream all over ourselves our table. i anticipated with glee the return trip to the mall the next sunday…[hey, i *had* to pick up my lâncome order – it was necessary to pass by laura secord on the way to the bay…].

treat #5:

sunday, july 8th: again with the laura secord waffle cone dipped in choco and sprinkles BUT with choco peanut butter cup ice cream, this time!

i could seriously get used to sunday afternoon ice cream at the mall with mom very quickly! all week long, i was counting the days left ’til it was time for ice cream sunday, again. the choco pb cup was amazing – i cannot pick whether cone #4 or #5 was better. true to form, mom and i dribbled and dripped all over the place, yet again…and had so. much. fun.

thanks to this delicious desserts challenge, i have discovered that my #1 treat involves ice cream! i choose ice cream as a preferred indulgence over cookies, cakes, or salty anything, final answer.

6. finish a minimum of six knitting projects. i completed my $4 orange sweater on tuesday, june 26th – just in time for the heat of the summer!

i’ll pull it out for a cool summer eve!

it turned out just as i had hoped – fits great, looks like it was made in the 80′s, and the price of the yarn is a hoot.

7. read seven books, and hopefully more. i finished wally lamb’s she’s come undone and that puts me at six books in six months. at 465 pages, it was a bit of a push to finish mr lamb’s engrossing saga before today’s update.

as i previously explained, this was my second time reading this work of fiction – and can you believe, i remembered nothing, right to the very last page. ok, i lie: for some inexplicable reason, the only image that i recalled was that of a big hill – and yes, dolores moves into a rooming house on the crest of a steep hill when she moves to montpelier. too funny why that ONE detail would stick (??). anyway: she’s come undone is a heart-rending read at times, but it is an amazing novel and a real page-turner. what completely blows me away is that the novel is written in first-person, so dolores (our female protagonist) is the narrator…yet our author (mr lamb) is male. that a man could portray a woman’s thoughts and actions so accurately is completely captivating. i give she’s come undone **** and highly, highly recommend it.

8. perform eight random acts of kindness. i completed one r.a.o.k. this month which brings our tally to four of eight complete! now, this r.a.o.k. has to go in the record books as the mystery r.a.o.k. what i will tell you is that i did a nice gesture for a friend – it helps her as she preps for her own training challenge, and it warmed my heart to surprise her. i have ideas for the next four acts (although does that then negate the “random” part of the equation??) so we will see if i follow through on them, or if the universe throws surprise opportunities in my path!

9. watch nine different and new-to-me tv shows (either online, on dvd, or on tv). two more done! so we’re at 7/9 thanks be to glory.

show #6: numberjackslittle e and cutie c and i watched this animated british show on an aunti wednesday. ok…trying to be positive here, what can i say…it’s educational? will that suffice in terms of commentary?? sorry, but this is my least favourite children’s show we have watched to date – i did not *get* it! numberjacks is kind of suspenseful…there was some number-stealer guy…as i say, it lost me (how embarrassing). you do realize, of course, that if the little ones wanted to have a numberjacks viewing marathon, aunti would be right there, no question. * (one star)

you know what else is embarrassing…show #7! beginning on the canada day weekend, i have indulged in several episodes of real housewives of vancouver. of all the reality shows out there, real housewives is my second favourite series, right after top chef. i love rh of new york city the very best. how did vancouver measure up? well, the botox, fabulous jewels and extravagant lifestyles are similar to the other locations – nothing new in vancouver. in fact, there is nothing that marks the show as canadian (although it’s a little less polished, a bit more scripted than the american series i have seen). it’s just so funny to find yourself wrapped up in a completely mindless and irrelevant show – and wanting to watch more! if you’ve seen rh of vancouver, my favourite *character* is jody – she reminds me of a snooki who’s been around the block a few more times (example from episode three: jody wore her bedroom slippers out for drinks, to the confrontation with christina). *** (three stars)

10. refrain from chewing gum for ten months. this past month saw me desire gum on more than one occasion: once when i was cleaning the condo casa and once when i was blog writing, i really wanted to be chomping, snapping and popping gum with great vigour and abandon. this craving is a little perplexing since it had been absent for many months. [do you realize i can have gum again in only FOUR months from now?? not sure if i will, though…see diet coke below…].

11. abstain from drinking diet pop (any pop) for eleven months. like i explained here, i have 100% convinced my brain that being diet-coke free is a good, good way to be. to be honest, i am amazed (and more than a little proud of myself) that i am now six months clean – wow. i did experience cravings this month: for example, on the holiday monday (july 2nd), i sat out in waterloo park on a blanket…with a sparkly water. boo. i realllly would have loved to sip back a frosty diet coke.

here was the situation that made me drool the most, though: i was down in the fitness room for an early-morning x-training session, and my neighbour was also in there with her personal trainer. the personal trainer, had a 700ml diet coke in hand!! this was 6:48 a.m., might i add! anyway, the snarky part of my brain immediately chimed in with, “see! nothing wrong with a diet coke! the trainer has one!” it was all i could do to tear my eyes away from the bottle – but i did feel virtuous, have to say!

12. meet with at least twelve different friends for a social get-together. i did not get together with anyone new this month – but i thoroughly enjoyed repeat visits with sharon, and joanne, for example! so we’re at nineteen different socials, right now.

i’ll see you again on Wednesday July 25th…i already have updates/events/news/photos that i want to share with you on that date!

do you celebrate your half-birthday in any way? i so wish i could transfer my real bday into july…summer fits me much more than january!

anything exciting happen in your july so far? at the very least, you can tell me if you’ve seen a good movie!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On July 22, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    Congratulations Cathy! I just awarded you with a burdensome blog award. MY rules are: If you want to do it, do it. If you don’t, don’t. It doesn’t matter to me (although don’t think I’m not totally interested in your answers). I just want you to know that I think you are awesome!

    http://www.snapsandbits.com/blog-awards-are-like-chain-letters/#.UAxVaY6yrwg

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 22, 2012 at 4:03 pm

      thanks, stacie! and i am honoured to receive this award! i assume my golden statue is in the mail?! :D

  • Ameena  On July 17, 2012 at 11:04 pm

    Wait…there’s a “Real Wives of Vancouver?” Really? I had no idea!

    Love Top Chef. Love it! Can’t wait for a new seasons to start up soon.

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 18, 2012 at 5:37 am

      oh yes! i think rh of vancouver is a recent addition to the rh collection…i hope you can check it out. it’s the usual fun! top chef is the best – tom c. alone makes it worth watching!! since i dislike cooking, it really is just an entertaining show for me!

  • Lisa  On July 14, 2012 at 11:55 am

    Great update! You really are going along quite nicely with your tasks!

    My birthday is in July, and I can definitely say it is the perfect month for me! I do think it’s a great month for a half birthday too…

    I’ve been enjoying my breaks from blogging a little too much too… Maybe it’s just the summertime!

    Oh, and yes, you should definitely feel virtuous about the no soda…that trainer was setting a bad example!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 14, 2012 at 12:04 pm

      hey lisa!! you are so lucky with a july bday – and yes, with your love of floridian-type weather, it IS the perfect month for you! i’ve enjoyed your twitter updates this week so i know you have been enjoying some fun times! we can blog all winter long! have a great day!

  • Stephanie  On July 13, 2012 at 8:02 am

    Happy half-birthday!!! I love your 80s sweater. See? You were lying when you told me that you wear nothing but running clothes. Ha! I loved the book She’s Come Undone…I agree with you about the voice. Dolores is probably the best woman-written-by-a-man I’ve ever read. And I also appreciated that the end is happy, but not all-tied-up-with-a-bow perfect. Kind of like real life. I’ve read a few other Wally Lamb books, but I didn’t like any of them as much as I liked She’s Come Undone.

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 13, 2012 at 8:14 am

      thanks, stephanie! i had a fun half bday day but now i am closer to 43 than 42, oh dear! yes i just throw the sweater OVER my running clothes…always a good look, right?! i would love to have a wally lamb book discussion with you. i THINK i may place “i know this much is true” SLIGHTLY ahead of “she’s come undone,” but to be fair, i should re-read “i know…” – last summer i read “the hour i first believed” and it was absorbing, too. happy friday!

      • Stephanie  On July 13, 2012 at 3:07 pm

        Wally Lamb really is a good author! I just liked She’s Come Undone best out of the books that I’ve read by him. (I’ve read three…are there more than that?) I mostly liked I Know This Much is True, but I kind of rolled my eyes at the perfect ending. I also really strongly disliked the main character. I mean REALLY strongly disliked him. A few of his actions in the book were unforgiveable to me. I thought the girl was kind of crazy for staying with him. The Hour I First Believed was also good, but I didn’t like the constant time jumps. I’d settle in to one story, and then be thrown back into the other. It was jarring. She’s Come Undone was just better for me on all counts: one consistent voice, very likeable character (even when she was doing unlikeable things), realistic ending.

      • 1970kikiproject  On July 13, 2012 at 4:45 pm

        dolores in “she’s come undone” WAS an incredibly likeable character, i so agree….now, in “the hour i first believed,” there were times i really disliked the main guy…i never felt that way about dolores. i’d rate wally lamb among my top five favourite authors (for quality, not fluffy beach reads). thanks for continuing the discussion, stephanie!

  • Ele  On July 10, 2012 at 7:34 am

    I’m so proud of you. I love people who make a list or commitment and then go ahead and accomplish it! You and Fran are two peas in a pod….I, on the other hand….not so much!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 10, 2012 at 8:05 am

      thank you so much, ele – i appreciate your lovely words. :) yes! so often i read fran’s blog post and think, wow, are we ever similar in our styles…and i love reading about your get-togethers and birthday celebrations that you all enjoy!

  • Zo  On July 9, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    Wow…you are just doing “phenomenal”…I like how you take the “fun” goals as seriously as the “good for me/good for others” goals. And I can tell you’re having a good time as you work towards them. So fantastic.And those ice cream cones look so good.
    I usually make a comment about how “it’s my half birthday today” to my nearest and dearest and get smiles or looks of amusement in return!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 9, 2012 at 8:03 pm

      thanks, zo! so far so good…i think all of the goals are on track for being at the half way point of the project. “smiles and looks of amusement” -> i can relate. that’s what i got when i used to propose to my family that we transfer my bday to july 9th!

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On July 9, 2012 at 4:31 pm

    Glad to help you accomplish number 3 and thanks for the nice shoutout! I have enjoyed getting to know you too Cathy, it’s the best part of blogging! Aren’t you sad to be done with the dessert challenge? I wanted to go get ice cream after looking at your cones! I am enjoying a diet coke per day for you. I usually just have one. I could stop but not sure I want to ;)

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 9, 2012 at 5:05 pm

      isn’t it funny how blog friends feel like real-life friends?! it’s so fun to comment back and forth on our blogs! never fear – there will be more ice cream consumed! i just won’t need to take pictures :D please DO continue with your daily diet coke and yes, enjoy fully on my behalf!!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On July 9, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    Very good update, Cathy! Love the shot of the sweater! I agree that you should have ice cream every Saturday afternoon…especially with your Mom! That’s usually when we have it to. It feel like we’re having an international ice cream date! Wish we could!! Have a great day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 9, 2012 at 3:21 pm

      thanks, fran! i am looking forward to wearing the sweater…except that when that happens, cooler temps will be here – of that, i am not a fan!! i like your idea of international ice cream time – we should have a virtual ice cream eating party (same time, think of each other as we enjoy our treats!).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

