one week, a second perfect day

so, in my last blog post, i told you about wonderful wednesday. well, yesterday turned out to be spectacular saturday!

it’s really funny how things work out as they are meant to be. originally, i had booked yesterday off from the store because i was planning to spend the day in toronto, and then participate in a fun event in the eve. well, as this past week went on, i kept getting the vibe that i should deviate from my intended itinerary – so i did! and i could not have asked for a more joyous saturday than yesterday!

to start, i finished off my latest knitting project at the ripe hour of 6:18 a.m.:

the orange baby blanket! i’ll show you a full view after i block it. still have tons of yarn left over, i’m passing it to mom to use for HER knitting projects!

then, i went for a run. i tried a new route.  i g-map‘d a neat-o course, then sharpied the directions onto my hand:

who needs a garmin?! [oops, i probably shouldn't say that given as i sell those gps devices!...]

actually, garmins truly are great training tools, it’s just that tracking distance/time/pace is not my approach, and after 22 years of running, i can tell when i am going slow/steady/fast. [sidenote: windex takes sharpie-marker off of skin very well].

i had barely started off when my running friend val and her husband caught up to me – so fun to wish each other good running, and that cheery chance meet-up set the tone to my outing.

here is a post-finish photo:

uncombed hair, 20 year old LIFA top, shorts that are losing their elastic, yup i am a real fashion plate…at least the compression socks are in good shape!

oh – and could the weather yesterday have been any more gorgeous?

view from the condo casa window

the only thing is that an autumn feel is most definitely in the air….

next, i went in to play at the store for three hours. like i said, i was supposed to be off, but since we were a bit short-staffed and i wasn’t going anywhere anyway, it was just fine with me to spend some time working with manager paul and being social.

there is the cutest new coffee shop right across from the store: café 22. the proprietor, asha, used to work at the nougat bakery in kitchener, and now has opened her own establishment:

the lovely asha!

the decor is beautiful!

i encourage you to pay café 22 a visit if you are in the ‘hood. mom and dad and i had a lovely time!

right next door to the café is o.w. sports, and they happened to have some items out on their sidewalk, marked 50% off:

a spur-of-the-moment $22 treat, this billabong hoodie came home with me!

that’s a lot o’f fun in a day. but wait, there’s more!

in the eve, seagram stadium (a short stroll away) was the site of an invitational tattoo.

a gathering of marching bands!

what a gorgeous evening to be out-of-doors!

ahhh….my type a soul revelled in the precise marching formations, staccato beats, and 4/4 time of the music:

exhibit a!

exhibit b!

seagram stadium was packed with a huge audience – it was fun to people-watch!

i hope YOU enjoyed a busy + happy saturday, too!

*~*~*~*~

best wishes to the endurrun-ners this morning! they are finishing off their weeklong adventure with a mere…marathon!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna B  On August 20, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    Love the baby blanket. I just found out that my aunt (who also lives in Topeka) knits. I thought she only crocheted. I’m going to buy the necessary items and let her get me started. I’m a visual learner. I’m planning on making myself a lovely winter scarf. Hope I have enough time before the weather turns ugly.

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 20, 2012 at 4:41 pm

      yippee for knitting! that is really exciting that you are going to make yourself a scarf – that is the best project to begin with. i hear you on being a visual learner – me, too. so glad your aunt is going to get you started – keep us updated!

  • The Orchard  On August 19, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    Sounds like a great day and I am looking forward to checking out that coffee shop! Want to meet there some time? Very soon, I will have Mondays, Wednesdays and every other Friday to myself! :) During school hours!

    We were wondering what all that drumming was about! Glad to have found out!

    Tricia

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 19, 2012 at 9:23 pm

      tricia, a coffee outing with you would be divine!! in the meantime, do take a book and enjoy a coffee at cafe 22 – it’s very peaceful! yes, you are entering a new life chapter this september! very exciting for your family!

  • Zo  On August 19, 2012 at 9:09 am

    It sounds like you had a really good day indeed. I can see why you get so much joy out of the socks…they are a fun color (and I know you make your legs feel good).
    Yesterday was an activity packed day for me…10 mile (yes!) treadmill run in the morning, mr. sc and i went out for a bit of shopping (new vertical blinds for the kitchen) and lunch, then I went to visit my grandmother…and yes, gorgeous weather here too (well it rained in the morning, but then it was just lovely!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 19, 2012 at 9:12 am

      you DID enjoy a wonderful saturday, too, zo!! running (hey, that 10 mile distance is de rigeur for you now!!), shopping, visiting, nice weather…all elements of a perfect day!

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On August 19, 2012 at 8:28 am

    What a fun day Cath! I can’t wait to see the finished blanket. I just love the sharpie directions, I was laughing! And those socks will be awesome with your new hoody ;)

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 19, 2012 at 8:35 am

      thanks, stacie! haha, i never thought of pairing the hoodie with the socks…good idea!! i’ll post a blanket photo with the next monthly kikiproject recap!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

