theme week: top ten tuesday

it’s tuesday! theme week continues with book discussion time!

blog friend zo is the queen of top ten tuesday participation, and it’s thanks to her that i know about ttt!

(source)

i took a look over at the blog, the broke and the bookish, that hosts top ten tuesdays, and zowie! things work out as they’re meant to be, as i was instantly jazzed by the suggested list for today, tuesday august 21st:

TOP TEN FAVORITE BOOKS YOU’VE READ DURING THE LIFESPAN OF YOUR BLOG

i started my blog in january 2010 (as my 40th bday present to myself) so that means we have two point five years of collected novels from which to choose. once again, i’m super glad i keep a log of the reading i do!

we’ll be short ‘n’ snappy (i’m not linking, you can google if you wish more details on a title!). i’m also sharing the date when i finished the book:

1. good to a fault (february 19th, 2010) – marina endicott (a modern-day classic)

2. best friends forever (october 2nd, 2010) – jennifer weiner (this author knows how to do beach lit)

3. born to run (november 7th, 2010) – christopher mcdougall (some parts are better than others but if you run, you must read this non-fiction work)

4. the hour i first believed (january 25th, 2011) – wally lamb (amazing)

5. the help (may 31st, 2011) – katherine stockett (ditto on amazing)

6. american wife (august 28th, 2011) – curtis sittenfeld (multi-layered story, i loved the protagonist)

7. something borrowed (march 31st, 2012) – emily giffin (the best novel from this popular, best-selling author, imo)

8. she’s come undone (july 4th, 2012) – wally lamb (this was my second time reading this incredible work)

9. the undomestic goddess (july 25th, 2012) – sophie kinsella (A+, four stars, for a light, fantastically enjoyable summer read)

10. explosive eighteen (july 28th, 2012) – janet evanovich (the whole stephanie plum series is mindless fun, great escapism)

if you blog, when did you start blogging? and please share a book title from that timespan that is super-great!

if you do not blog….just share a fantabulous novel that i must read! i am almost done book two of the 50 shades of grey trilogy. review to come on sept 9th with the next project update!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lisa  On August 21, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    Hi Cathy!! I’ve missed you :-)
    I tried to comment today from my flight, but the inflight wireless wouldn’t let me go to a site outside the US…how frustrating! Anyway, I like the idea of this list!
    I don’t know exactly when I started blogging—but it was a while ago…
    A great book I read recently was called Little Bee.

    Looking forward to your review of the 50 shades books. I just read them…actually I’m having trouble getting through the 3rd one!

    Anyway, I hope you’re doing great. I’m sitting by the window looking at the ocean and thinking about how darn lucky I am!

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 21, 2012 at 9:54 pm

      lisa!!! i have been thinking of you today – so excited for you!! little bee – i have heard of it, and i will investigate further! is there anyone NOT reading 50 shades, eh?! i am just starting book #3…so far #1 was the best! you enjoy that ocean view…and the sunshine tomorrow…and the heat…!!

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On August 21, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    I love this theme week of yours Cath, what a fun idea! Is tomorrow WIAW? I actually read less now that I blog, which is a bit of a bummer. Still trying to sort that out. I really liked the Weird Sisters (if you like Shakespeare, you’ll really like it!) and Discovery of Witches. I didn’t love Bossy Pants even though I thought I would. Right now I’m re-reading Pillars of the Earth which is one of the best books EVER. Your list gives me even more to add to mine! Have a great evening!

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 21, 2012 at 7:53 pm

      thanks, stacie, and yes you are correct re wednesday (it was either that or WTF wednesday!). pillars of the earth -> epic!! glad you are enjoying that one again. oh, too bad re bossy pants – that is on my “to read” list, i guess i will not rush to get to it. so fun to chat books!!

  • strivingcynic  On August 21, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    I am in the middle of sittenfeld’s Prep and suspect it would be on my list if I had finished in time for this challenge! It’s great when these top ten posts are fun challenging as opposed to groan-inducing challenging. Glad you participated, Cathy!

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 21, 2012 at 1:32 pm

      zo, “prep” has been on my xmas list for two years now, and will be back on again for christmas 2012!! i hope you will do a review when you are done! it’s a good sign if it would have made your top ten list, anyway! yes, if a challenge is not fun, i’d probably skip that week’s topic! happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

