SHU + GU reVU

i love when i have free stuff that i can talk about on the blog, here. makes me feel like a pro (as in professional runner + blogger!).

:)

recently, i earned myself a pair of saucony shoes, and i chose the saucony triumph 9’s:

also available in a HOT PINK version – which i gladly would have accepted!

it’s been about twenty years since i last wore sauconys. they tend to have a wider toe box and i have a narrow foot, so our relationship was not always optimal. but when i tried on the triumph 9’s at the store, they felt awesome, so i decided to go with them.

for the past week or so, i wore my new shoes out and about, for walks, and to work. then yesterday, i tried them for an ez-paced 6k recovery run [sidenote: while you should not have to “break in a pair of shoes” – they should feel comfortable from the first ten seconds you have them on – i do not recommend that you wear a new pair for a long run, your first time out!].  my thoughts as i was running: 1) i do not feel like a gazelle – these shoes are the heaviest i have worn in quite some time 2) i do not feel a lot of impact – great shock absorption! i could comfortably run a marathon in these shoes, i bet! 3) the triumphs are “triumphing” in their initiation test [haha, composing a pun as i run…that is fun] 3) these shoes are going to go into my active rotation, for sure.

the triumph 9’s can best be described as a workhorse running shoe: they are solid, heavily cushioned and very comfortable. i often tell customers that you want a running shoe that best feels like a bedroom slipper -> these triumph 9’s DO feel like that to me…just a very, very cushy pair of slippers! added bonus: the slightly-elastic laces are quite long – handy for people who lace their shoes with the “bunny ears” method.

a friend who works at a saucony outlet store told me that the triumph is saucony’s best selling model, and i can see why – it’s got a lot going for it, even with the heavier weight. (let’s face it, unless we are gunning for the olympics, a couple extra ounces in shoe weight is not terribly important).

the second product to tell you about is a gel:

not the actual gel i consumed, a full pack makes a better picture!

GU kindly provided us staff at theOTHERstore with some complimentary gels to try out. i have heard rave reviews about this peanut butter flavour, so i was quite excited to give it a try. on my giving thanks run this past holiday monday, i had the perfect opp to try out this new-to-me product. my opinion?? zowie!!! sorry, clif, but i have a new favourite gel!! i loved everything about this GU: the consistency (thicker than clif or powergel); the flavour (it tasted JUST like peanut butter, and even stuck to the roof of my mouth a bit!); the way it gave me a kick of energy (and no intestinal distress); the ease with which i could open the package (i was wearing mitts and even so, did not have difficulty getting the tab ripped off). now i would like to try other GU flavours like espresso, chocolate, and mint chocolate!

i actually have a pair of saucony compression recovery tights to try, as well – we’ll save that review for another day (thankfully, it has not been cold enough yet that i have had to break out tights for running).

at what temp do you start wearing tights as opposed to shorts or capris? back in the hardcore days, our *rule* was that you wore shorts til it was zero degrees C. end of story. now, i’d rather keep my muscles warm, so i wear shorts to 6-10 degrees, only!

thoughts on saucony or GU??? share away if you have tried either of these brands!

** please note that while i received the shoes and the gels for free, all opinions are my own. neither saucony nor GU asked me to review their products.** [this disclaimer is probably not necessary, but again, it’s fun to pretend that i am a pro!].

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On October 15, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    I always wear longer pants/tights since I run at the gym (so the ac is blasting in the summer..). I have worn Saucony’s off and on over the years…I just tend to go by how they feel when I try them on, but never know much more about them.
    I have never tried a Gu or Gu like substance…it kind of freaks me out. Also, since I’m [only?] up to 10 miles, always indoors, I’ve never felt the need for more than water.

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 15, 2012 at 5:43 pm

      haha, a lot of people are a little wary of GUs…i think it is the consistency! they can range from almost chewy to very goopy/liquid-y! there is also the option of trying sport beans (like jelly beans) or CHOMPS/BLOKS/chews (like jujubes) for those who can’t stand gels!

  • Gina  On October 11, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    Hey there! I actually just retired my Saucony runners for a pair of Brooks Adrenaline. I am LOVING these! I thought my Sauconys were really no different than my NB pairs that I wore for many years but, actually, my NB shoes held up better than the Saucony pair (which have holes in the top after a year!) I am excited about Brooks as Jeff RAVES about them and they have been his fav for a few years now. They’re working out so far – had them for a month.
    Re: other blogs of yours (as I finally caught up on ones that I missed while having computer prob’s, etc.)… love the orange sweater; so glad you loved the Sophie Kinsella book; the “Give Thanks” blocks are up on our own family room display shelf, too! :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 11, 2012 at 3:31 pm

      gina!! i am glad you and jeff are loving your brooks – they do not do as much marketing as say, nike, but make a great quality shoe. lmk how you like them after a bit more wear, too! those “give thanks” blocks are so cute – wonderful that your family is using them, too!

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On October 11, 2012 at 2:36 pm

    Glad you got free stuff that you like! That’s so awesome!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 11, 2012 at 2:37 pm

      it IS fun!! now i just need someone to give me some event tickets (!) so that i can do a review! haha!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On October 10, 2012 at 7:52 am

    Free is always good! Next time I think about buying a new pair of sneakers…you will be my guru!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 10, 2012 at 9:39 am

      fran, i LOVE helping people choose shoes/gear/clothing, so if i can be of any assistance, ask away!!

  • The Orchard  On October 10, 2012 at 7:23 am

    I’m with you on the shorts. I can usually wear them until about 10 degrees. Any colder than that and I need either my capris or tights!

    I have tried Power Gels (just okay), Clif Bars (great flavour, but I can’t choke them down!) and only once did I try GU. I liked it, though!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 10, 2012 at 9:40 am

      i totally recommend you try this pb GU, tricia!! you can actually chew it a bit! it’s VERY different from powergel, for example! lmk when you have to cave and wear tights for the first time!

  • 42kim  On October 10, 2012 at 6:37 am

    I LOVE gu! My favourite is Chocolate mint. I shall give the PB a try though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

