2013 resolutions!!!

heyyyy, friends!

welcome to the final hours of 2012…seize the day!

resolutions: from my unscientific observations, we either embrace them or refuse ‘em. i fall into the love camp. but did you know, i did not make any for 2012?! i think that was because this year’s kikiproject was structured very much like a resolutions list. two years ago, i did make 2011 resolutions which are chronicled here! (haha, i mean the year 2011, obviously, not that i set two thousand and eleven different goals!).

so, even though i firmly stand by the belief that labour day = the most logical choice for *new year’s day,* i’ll be conventional and make new year’s resolutions that will begin tomorrow. here we go…

refrain from cutting my hair. [sorry mom!!!] my last hair cut was…a very long time ago. july 8, 2011, i do believe. i feel like i have a just-past-the-shoulders sticking point, and i want to see if i can break that barrier. plus, i just can’t be bothered with salons.

re-institute outings of the month with mom and dad. this was one of the BEST goals that i set in 2011, and i realized this year that i really missed making a point of seeing mom and dad, separately, once a month. to up the ante this time ’round, dad and will go out for a meal or coffee break once per month at a different location each month AND we have to be able to walk to said location. mom and i will go to some sort of shopping establishment once per month and it has to be a different spot each and every month.

no gum for the entire year. i made it through the ten month gum hiatus, january to november, thanks to this year’s kiki project. if i can do ten months (without great struggle), i can go a year!!!

as a last hurrah, i bought these packs of gum…

all old favourites

all old favourites

…and planned to chew them from december 28th to december 31st just because i felt i should take advantage of the opportunity while i could, and enjoy one last kick at the can. well, guess what, the gum chewing was so non-fun, that i chewed gum friday and saturday december 28th and 29th, forcing myself to keep chewing, then finally threw the remaining sticks in the garbage. (!) that action and my lack of interest in chomp-chomping bodes well for 2013 (non)gum chewing success!

drink diet coke under restricted circumstances. as i enthusiastically documented, the eleven months of being diet coke-free turned out to be a monumental success. honestly, i have been turned off pop since december 9th! the hugest proof: i told mom not to bother getting me any diet root beer for our immediate-family christmas traditional dinner which ALWAYS includes diet root beer!!! zowie!! so: for 2013, i can drink a diet coke IF i am out for a junkfest fast food meal WITH company (as in i can’t be on my own). now: wouldn’t it be funny/great if i some time order a dc and then can’t finish it?!

knitting: i have two main projects on which i am going to focus: 1) i am going to knit sweaters for house of friendship residents and/or out of the cold attendees, and i am going to knit blankets for children for project linus. i bought yarn recently at michaels during a fabulous sale for the first two projects:

this classic wool is warm but not scratchy.

for a men’s sweater: this classic wool is warm but not scratchy.

note to other knitters: sock yarn makes GREAT baby sweaters and blankets!

for a small child’s blanket: sock yarn makes GREAT baby sweaters and blankets!

my theme for the year is going to be variegated yarn -> i will ONLY knit with variegated yarn! i will track on an excel spreadsheet (i love tracking things) how many of each project i can complete. at the end of 2013, i will donate the produced items to the respective organizations.

of course, it would be a travesty to go a whole twelve months without producing anything for my little darlings, so you can be pretty much assured that little e and cutie c will be on the receiving end of *something* at some point during the year!

do one month of all-the-yoga-you-can-yoga-for-$40 at moksha yoga. at some point this year, i will sign up for one month unlimited yoga at moksha. ahhhhh! i would do it immediately, but i have a feeling the studio will be super crowded in january with all of us resolution-makers. hot yoga during the winter does sound great, though!

increase upper body fat (ie arms and shoulders). as a former fitness instructor, i know you cannot spot reduce; therefore i am doubtful that i can spot poof-i-fy my upper story. but i can try??? i am not going for a muscled/chiseled/hard look; i want a softer, roundy shape from my neck to my wrists. more weights and more cheese???…

increase the amount of face-time spent with friends and family. i feel so energized, positive and happy after socials and in-person visiting! i do see a lot of my friends and family; but, bring on more, more, more!!

floss every day: i have sorely fallen off the bandwagon with my flossing. if i state it here, i will remain accountable!

read a lot [i am adding this goal because then i have ten resolutions and ten is a lovely, solid number]. i read sixteen books this year, so my 2013 goal will be to surpass that mark.

et voilà!

happy new year!

(source)

resolutions: do you love them or leave them? bonus answer – > share a 2013 goal!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • stephanie  On January 4, 2013 at 8:00 am

    No blogging goals this year? I’m like you…I love making resolutions. This year I’m going to get my house organized. I’ve already made good progress, by going through, culling and organizing my kitchen cupboards. Yay, me! I also want to do more writing: finish my book and blog six times per month.

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 4, 2013 at 8:09 am

      yea for resolutions!! good luck with the house organizing – wish i could come over and help you, seriously, as i love organizing!! that is great that you want to do more writing and blogging..nanowrimo, as well???!!

  • brokencookiesdontcount  On January 1, 2013 at 11:12 am

    Love the idea of more time with Mom and Dad and with family and friends. I like the read more, too (of course!!!) I suggest you join Goodreads. I think it helped me to keep up my reading in 2012 because I was competing with myself. Upper body strength is so important for women as we age. When I’m on the exercise bike reading, I am also usually pumping with a weight ball I have. I have another in the bedroom (which I just found again yesterday!) and when I’m reading in there, I’m going to start up again. Happy, Happy New Year, Cathy!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 1, 2013 at 12:08 pm

      i hope your new year’s day is going well, fran! thanks for your comments! i hope to read more this year than last year (you are a great example!)…i better pick short books?! just watched some of the rose bowl parade with dad, our tradition, and heading over to see more family later today – a fun, social start to the year!

  • Michelle @ Run Eat Travel  On January 1, 2013 at 8:30 am

    I’m a new blog follower and really like your goals! I wrote a post about what I plan on accomplishing this year….accountability is key and I think the blog will help with that.

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 1, 2013 at 9:29 am

      thanks, michelle! i think you will find that blogging goals really does help with accountability. i chalk up my success with quitting gum chewing and drinking diet coke to having posted them on the blog! when i was tempted, i thought, “then i have to confess on the blog!!” and just that thought alone helped! off to check out your post!…

  • Angela @ Eat Spin Run Repeat  On December 31, 2012 at 3:35 pm

    These are all so great Cathy! I love your knitting goal and I really can’t wait to hear what you think of Moksha! As you know, it’s my all-time fave place to get my yoga on and i hope you enjoy it just as much as me! Good call on not starting in January though. I bet the studio will be bursting at the seams! Happy New Year! :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 31, 2012 at 3:38 pm

      thanks, angela! maybe we will meet up at moksha when i get there??! i know you enjoy it and i have othe friends who love it…can’t wait for the HEAT and the STRETCH and the ZEN! have a great new year’s!

  • Zo  On December 31, 2012 at 3:07 pm

    As always, I love your goals and wish you the best of luck with them. I can’t wait to see how they all go. I’m glad you’re reinstituting your outing(s) of the month, since I remember that you had so much fun with them!
    Happy New Year! “See” you in 2013!

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 31, 2012 at 3:09 pm

      thanks, zo! i am quite exctied about each goal…esp because i don’t have to go a whole year with no dc – haha! i hope you are still planning to blog your 2013 plans!! have a great new year’s!

  • Samantha  On December 31, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    Isn’t it interesting how the body ages and we are all different in where we are going to store and where we are going to lose? I will say go with the heavier weights – it has helped me. Especially when you are more active (looks like you run, and I am more of serious hiker) I think between the aging process and the cardio activity the body just kind of loses “plumpness.”

    Looking forward to your knitting project. I am hoping to actually do some more this year. I often favor sewing these days over knitting.

    PS. I cut my own hair. :) Basically when it bothers me or the ends get too crappy. I kind of have a set length that past that my hair just starts to look scraggly.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 31, 2012 at 2:11 pm

      thanks for your comments, samantha! maybe i should give my ends a quick trim this eve?!! i hope you do get into some knitting projects this year – although handcrafting via sewing is also a good thing!

  • torontorunner  On December 31, 2012 at 8:13 am

    Great goals!
    I have the same goal for diet cokes..
    I’m also a gum addict, I cannot believe you went that long without chewing gum – wow!! SO impressive.
    I love the one about more outings with parents – that was one of mine for 2012!

    HAAAPPY NEW YEAR!

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 31, 2012 at 8:36 am

      happy new year, TR! good luck with the diet coke goal – it is TOUGH but you’ll feel virtuous when you get on a dc-free streak! want to know something funny, i have a similar story to you with stocking up on paper towels when out with mom…except in my case, i just kept piling xmas paper towels into my mom’s arms til they fell all over the floor! glad you enjoy spending time with your parents, too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

