bday plans + tat #3!

yup, today is my birthday day -> it’s the big 4-3. and that’s ok! i feel great about celebrating my bday this year!

as things work out, i happen to have today off of work (wednesday is my usual day off). here is the celebration agenda:

  • run 43 miles (joke! although i could go 4.3 miles…or for 43 minutes?? or 7 miles [4+3]??!)
  • knitting + blog reading + coffee drinking
  • gourmet pizza for lunch (as in that is the name of the pizza place, i am not going out for really fancy pizza)
  • shopping around uptown with mom
  • baskin robbins for bday ice cream -> it will be my favourite: choco chip icey cream in a waffle cone (this is in lieu of bday cake)
  • an evening with tom cruise (going to see jack reacher! never read the books upon which this movie is based, i do not care at all what the film is about or if it is any good, i just want to stare at my tommy for 2 hours on my bday!).

how’s that for a good, good day?! i’m excited!

~*~*~*~*~

and now for the grand reveal…

yesterday was tattoo tuesday. joining mr cardinal (tattoo #1) and the ode to the boston marathon (tattoo #2)…

tattoo #3 can be called "a celebration of life"

tattoo #3: “a celebration of life”

[sidenote: this photo was taken right when bryan finished the tattoo which is why there is redness; tats look best after they have *settled* for a couple of weeks].

for this tattoo, i wanted to go with “something pretty” -> i wanted symmetry, colour, vines n flowers…and a bluebird. i did some internet googling a few weeks ago, and found some ideas which i took to bryan at tora tattoo back on the day we had our consult appt:

my favourite designs that i found

my favourite designs that i found

from those ideas, bryan came up with…

i took the photo of his stencil once back at home, yesterday aft.

i took the photo of his stencil once back at home, yesterday aft.

yesterday morning, i grabbed one last pic of  my untouched skin!

no turning back now!

no turning back now!

the tat appt went super well: we finished in under two hours and the final cost was less than predicted, too.

self-portrait with bryan! (i cut off his fantastic eyeball tshirt, however!).

self-portrait with bryan! (i cut off his fantastic eyeball tshirt, however!).

so, am i done with tattoos? hard to say. according to bryan, i “sit like a champ” -> i do not find tattooing painful in the least (compared to sports massage and underarm waxing, it is a walk in the park, honest). maybe ONE more??! (i have a body place and an idea ready to go!!). at this time, though, i adore my “pretty tattoo.” as always, i am thrilled with bryan’s artistry, and i am super-pleased with my 43rd bday gift-to-self.

we need one more close up!!!

~joy~

~joy~

now it’s time to embrace the day!

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Nicole  On January 11, 2013 at 10:45 pm

    Wow, Cathy! That tattoo is gorgeous! I love it!!! Sounds like you had a pretty awesome birthday. 4-3 was a good one for you!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 12, 2013 at 6:32 am

      thanks, nicole! it was a fun day from start to finish and one of the best bdays in years! i do not feel 4-3 – haha!

  • janetha  On January 10, 2013 at 2:13 pm

    Glad you got your 3rd tattoo! I know you were excited for it! Looks great :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 10, 2013 at 2:15 pm

      thanks, janetha! you know, i almost emailed you the photo directly because of marshall…i have a ways to go to match him!

  • The Orchard  On January 9, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    Happy, happy birthday! I love your tattoo! It is beautiful! Sounds like you had a wonderful day! Hope to see you soon!

    Cheers!
    T

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 9, 2013 at 9:47 pm

      thanks, tricia! the tattoo looks even better in person! yes – s’bux soon, ok?!

  • Dorry (@dorrybird)  On January 9, 2013 at 7:34 pm

    happy birthday! I’m so glad I happened to check in on such a special day. I love your new tattoo, and hope the pizza and ice cream was awesome – how could that combo not be? enjoy! xo

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 9, 2013 at 9:48 pm

      dorry!!! so lovely to hear from you today!! it was a marvelous day – thanks for the bday wishes!

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On January 9, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    Happy Birthday Cath! Your tattoo is cool. I’m too afraid of pain. And, I couldn’t help but notice when your pants were down, you are so tan for the middle of winter!

  • brokencookiesdontcount  On January 9, 2013 at 1:43 pm

    Happy Birthday, Cathy! Hooray for you on getting your new tattoo! As I’ve said before, I’m up in the air about them. I’m glad you don’t find them painful, I think I would. The art work is Beautiful on the new one…I would have a problem with it though because it wouldn’t be easy for me to stare at when I wanted to. Have a great Day!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 9, 2013 at 4:11 pm

      thanks, fran! i am enjoying such a fun day! and yes, this is the first tattoo that i cannot easily see…it is unfortunate! but i really wanted that lower-middle-back placement…i am going to have to spend more time with my back to mirrors – haha!

  • karen at virtually there  On January 9, 2013 at 9:25 am

    Happy birthday, Cathy! I LOVE the new tattoo! I’ve thought for a while about getting another one for myself and the one you just got totally speaks to me! Will have to add it to my mental inspiration list….

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 9, 2013 at 9:31 am

      thanks, karen! you SHOULD get another one – go for it!! there are so many awesome designs if you google around! glad you approve of my choice!

  • Zo  On January 9, 2013 at 7:20 am

    Happy Birthday! Congratulations on your new tattoo, which looks great! I love the colors and the bird and flower design.
    I hope you enjoy every bit of your birthday and this next year!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 9, 2013 at 7:23 am

      thanks so much, zo! it’s going to be a great year! the tattoo makes me smile, wish i could see it a bit easier, that is the only thing – haha!

  • heather  On January 9, 2013 at 6:45 am

    Wishing you the happiest of happy days!! Enjoy your celebration and your “Tom time”. xo

  • torontorunner  On January 9, 2013 at 1:26 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!! It’s my brother’s birthday too! Happy , happy birthday!

    oh my gosh, what a beautiful tattoo! It is absolutely lovely. I love the pictures too!
    Have a blessed birthday! I hope it’s a year filled with lots of happiness, health and success!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 9, 2013 at 6:28 am

      thank you for your warm wishes, TR! and i hope your brother has a great bday! will you see him today? if so, have fun celebrating!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

