three is my karmic number

scenes from a happy birthday:

i am standing on paper towel as my shoes were wet, post-run and i wanted a pic of the full ensemble...it was nice n mild out!

i am standing on paper towel as my shoes were wet, post-run, and i wanted a pic of the full ensemble…it was nice n mild out!

i signed up for the one month unlimited hot yoga! i start tomorrow!

bday self-present #2 (tat was #1) Рi signed up for the one month unlimited hot yoga! first class =  thursday!

the birthday lunching spot!

the birthday lunching spot!

i COULD have chosen diet coke...but opted for sparkle water - wow!

i COULD have chosen diet coke…but opted for sparkle water – wow!

got my choco chip cone - just as delicious as anticipated!

got my choco chip cone – just as delicious as anticipated!

movie recap: tommy=****, movie =**1/2 (intense at times!)

movie recap: tommy=****, movie =**1/2 (intense at times!)

~*~*~*~*~

  • i taught school for three years
  • i worked at the insurance company for three years
  • i worked from home for three years
  • we vacationed in aruba three weeks at a time
  • when i was aunti-nanny for little e, i took care of her three days a week
  • i have run the boston marathon three times
  • my marathon PB is three hours (plus forty-three seconds)
  • steve sax, my favouritest baseball player of all time, wore uniform number three for the dodgers
  • i have three awesome cousins (kate, joel, alex)
  • i would not object to being an aunti for a third time
  • i have three kick-ass tattoos (!!!)
  • i own three madonna CDs
  • each of my ears has three earrings
  • i turned forty-THREE today!
  • i have written 768 blog posts¬† -> that number is divisible by three!
  • i have completed three kikiprojects!

kikiproject #1

kikiproject #2

kikiproject #3

for the past three years, i have announced the year’s kikiproject on my birthday. this year, the vibe is right to conclude my *blogging career* with this post.

i debated back n forth, up n down, about whether to continue blogging or not, as i have had no zowie ideas/a-ha moments for a fourth kikiproject, despite lots of brainstorming. i realize i could just blog about nothing…but that idea is tiresome. i’d rather make like a pro athlete and retire on a high note.

thank you for reading ~ i have reconnected with old friends, kept in touch with family, made new blends…and i have enjoyed so very much sharing creatively through the blog. it’s super cool to have a photographic + written record of the past three years…a lot of water under the bridge! i am going to miss the creative writing process – i have had a lot of fun concocting april fool’s jokes, themes-o’-the-month, alliterative titles…and just plain chatting away.

local friends and fam, you know that i am always up for a s’bux outing; friends at a distance, lmk if you are ever in the uptown waterloo ‘hood. blogging is awesome, but in-person chats are even better!

~2010~

~2010~

~2011~

~2011~

~2012~

~2012~

may the road rise up to meet you.

may the wind be always at your back. [esp if you are running!]

may the sun shine warm upon your face;

the rains fall soft upon your fields and until we meet again,

may God hold you in the palm of his hand.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • janetha  On February 19, 2013 at 2:44 pm

    Miss you!

  • Dawn  On February 17, 2013 at 8:00 am

    Cathy, we will miss you!! I loved your posts. Maybe I will see you at the Running Room :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 17, 2013 at 8:14 am

      oh, thanks, dawn!!! i am glad we have met a couple of times, already, and i would love to see you at the store any time!! happy running and i hope you’re having a good winter!

  • stephanie  On January 26, 2013 at 7:13 pm

    Awwww. :( How did I miss this? I was just thinking this morning that you hadn’t popped up in my reader for a few weeks. I thought maybe something had gone wrong and I wasn’t getting your updates. I’m disappointed to see that I wasn’t getting updates because you weren’t writing them. Well, my friend, I have loved reading your blog over the past…how long? Two years now? I’ll miss you!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 26, 2013 at 8:40 pm

      thanks, stephanie! it has been a real joy to meet you through blogging. i will keep checking in to see your clay figures + stories! i always love them! it was a three year blog ride…and i have not missed blogging one bit, to be honest, since january 9th, so it was the right decision!

  • Jessica  On January 18, 2013 at 8:23 am

    Just found your blog through Angela’s and I can see from your picture you are a local Waterlooite! So awesome to “meet” you!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 18, 2013 at 8:59 am

      thanks for your comment, jessica! we need angela to organize a local blogger meet-up again – it would be fun to meet in person! have a great day!

      • Jessica  On January 18, 2013 at 9:01 am

        Agreed! Have a fabulous weekend!

  • heather  On January 14, 2013 at 6:58 am

    You will be missed!! I guess I have no other choice but to make time and connect with you for a starbucks outing. It would be fun to see you again after so many years have passed since highschool!!
    I wish nothing but the best for you as you embark upon the next 3 that will find you!! xo

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 14, 2013 at 7:55 am

      thank you, heather! i think it is so cool that re have reconnected thanks to fb and this blog…and i would love to s’bux with you! in my head, you still look like you did in high school, just so you know!…

  • Nicole  On January 13, 2013 at 10:07 am

    Oh, Cathy! Sad to hear you’re giving up blogging. I quite enjoyed reading your witty posts and always have…. no more kikiproject in my inbox… :(
    You’ll have to come up with some witty status updates on FB… and I’m still holding you to coffee at S’bux.
    All the best, Cathy! xo

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 13, 2013 at 10:09 am

      thanks, nicole! i always enjoyed seeing a comment from you pop up in MY inbox! and yes – s’bux with you would be great!! you were one of the people i had hoped to meet up with last year, boo hoo! and also yes – i hope to be a bit more present on fb!!

  • Andrea Budding, OCT (@AndreaBudding)  On January 11, 2013 at 6:08 am

    SOMI! :) I will keep you in my reader, just in case you make a comeback. I’m living Uptown now, too, so I’m sure we will cross paths again soon! :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 11, 2013 at 6:17 am

      andrea, thank you for your sweet comment. i am happy to hear you are now in the ‘hood – welcome!!! if i get any grand writing ideas…well, you never know what might happen!!

  • Julie Parkins  On January 10, 2013 at 4:42 pm

    A bummer, Cathy. I feel in touch with you through your blogs even though I live so far away. Coming to Canada for 5 weeks this summer — we will have to meet for one of our chats!
    Julie

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 10, 2013 at 4:44 pm

      julie! that is GREAT news re coming *home* this summer!!! pls keep me updated re dates and i am excited about visiting with you!! i need to fb more to keep in touch with you, i guess!

  • Stacie  On January 10, 2013 at 4:19 pm

    What a shocker! Of course you have to do what’s best for you but I am also sad. I’m leaving you in my reader just in case you change your mind at some point.
    Glad you had an awesome birthday (oh and wow about the sparkling water ;)
    I’ll miss your posts but hope we stay in touch!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 10, 2013 at 4:22 pm

      stacie, i am so glad you have been such a faithful blog friend, and i am going to keep visiting you at your blog! thanks for keeping me in your reader – you just never know, i could get a big A-HA some day!!!

  • strivingcynic  On January 10, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    I want to say “noooooo!” and “pre-April fool’s?”, but I suppose that won’t make you *not* stop. I can’t say how much I will miss reading your blog and what a great impact it and you have had on me. I wish you well..I’ll hope that maybe you’ll pop in with a post every so often. And I hope I’ll see you at “my” place (now I’ll have to keep it up).

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 10, 2013 at 1:26 pm

      zo, *meeting* and chatting with you has been one of the best blogging gifts – and you bet i will keep visiting your blog. thanks so much for your kind words. i know you understand that blogging has to be 100% fun for us…blog commenting IS still super fun, so i will stick with that! chats soon!

  • The Orchard  On January 10, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    What!? I am surprised, but totally understand! Your blog is always fun to read and I love hearing about your new projects! I guess I will have to hear about them in person. As you said, in person is better!

    Good luck! You will be missed! :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 10, 2013 at 1:43 pm

      thanks, tricia! i have really enjoyed getting to know you through our blogs and it is BONUS that we are nearly neighbours and can visit IN PERSON!!

  • karen at virtually there  On January 10, 2013 at 12:51 pm

    VERY SAD!!! I so look forward to finding one of your new posts in my feed each morning. Love starting my day with you. Boo hoo! I’m going to insist that you start posting on Facebook… or consider starting a monthly “what’s new in Wloo” blog. Because you are my source for all Uptown and around Waterloo news!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 10, 2013 at 1:15 pm

      karen, you are one of the people with whom i have really enjoyed reconnecting!! i had to laugh yesterday when i saw that you are getting back into blogging – it’s a passing of the torch!! and yes, i think i will do more on fb…it will be a lot quicker to write – haha! hope you make it down to waterloo one of these days!

  • Anonymous  On January 10, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    I’m glad you made a choice that is best for you. That is one of your personal traits that I admire (and envy) so much. Hope to see you more on Facebook and I promise to find a time for Sbux very very soon.

  • biz319  On January 10, 2013 at 11:23 am

    Happy Birthday and best wishes to your next endeavor!! Hugs!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 10, 2013 at 11:24 am

      thanks so much!!! i will still be reading blogs so i will “see you around!”

  • Peggy  On January 10, 2013 at 10:47 am

    Awww…so sorry to hear (read) that you’re hanging it up! I’ve been reading for quite some time, but don’t know if I’ve ever commented. I love that your blog is so positive and your goal setting is inspirational! I understand blogging can get tedious and you feel the readers may have some sort of expectation. Still, I loved reading your posts. Your friendship with your parents and commitment to your nieces is beyond wonderful. Take care.

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 10, 2013 at 10:55 am

      peggy, what a pleasure to read your comment – thanks so much, and i really appreciate your kind words (and “meeting” you!). i will continue to spend as much time with my family as possible – they are gems, all of them. thanks again!

  • brokencookiesdontcount  On January 10, 2013 at 7:35 am

    Oh, no, Oh, No…OH NO!!!! Looks like you had a wonderful birthday, Cathy. I understand and support your choice, but I AM SAD. I don’t want to lose touch with you and you know how to find me. I’ll try not to nag you too much about starting up again. But I hate to lose friends and I do feel that we are friends now. Best of luck to you. You are the kind of person that the blog world needs. :-( Many hugs to you.

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 10, 2013 at 8:02 am

      oh fran, you are so sweet with your kind words – we ARE friends, i feel the same way! and i look forward to chatting on YOUR blog! and i learned this lesson through blogging: never say never. maybe i need a three month break?! haha! anyway, yes, it was the perfect bday, so much fun. xoxo!

  • torontorunner  On January 10, 2013 at 12:29 am

    Happy Birthday again!
    WHERE did you get your running jacket from?? It is absolutely amazing!…and that cone..yes, pleaseeee.

    Now, I’m sad to see you won’t be posting anymore!! :( awwch! Totally loved getting to know you through here the last little while. I absolutely love what you wrote at the end. Beautiful.
    I will definitely miss you around here – all the BEST in everything you do!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 10, 2013 at 5:33 am

      thanks so much, TR (hug!) – and i will still visit you at YOUR blog! it’s been fun to chat back and forth with you, too! the jacket is saucony – honestly, it’s the first “running jacket” that i have ever liked!

  • Gina  On January 10, 2013 at 12:23 am

    WOW! Cath! what a post! i was totally wondering what your plans were for the blog. and now i know. i will miss you dearly on the 1970kikiproject, but also know that you are only fingertips away from a wonderful chat anytime, anywhere. thank-you for that. thanks for all the laughs, newsy-updates, cute trivia, and thought-provoking blogs that you have done over the past 3 years. love ya so much. :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 10, 2013 at 5:35 am

      thanks so much for your supportive comment, gina – hug!! and you are right, we are only an email visit apart. i can take “blogging time” and email you instead. love ya right back!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

