Friday Photos: Take a Peek Inside Our Fridge

Before I go on to explain, here is a look at the inside of our fridge, photo taken literally 2 minutes ago. Bear with me to see where this is going!…

take a close look at what you see...and what you don't see...

soo00oooo….any observations??! how about you take a look at THIS photo…

hint, hint...

…and now look back in the fridge…

Get it?! THERE’S NO POP IN THIS FRIDGE!!!

🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Surprise!! 🙂 That’s right – I have not had a diet pop since Sunday April 18th. Wahoo!

And I can’t believe the karma of how it worked out…I decided to use up what I had purchased and not buy any more pop – cold turkey is my style. Wouldn’t you know, it worked out that my first TOTALLY POP-FREE DAY was Monday April 19th…BOSTON MARATHON MONDAY!! Good vibes or what!

A bit of history…right about now, some of you may be thinking, “heard this one before – here we go again…” and yes, you are entirely correct. I have quit Diet Coke (the last year or so I preferred Coke Zero) twice previously in the last few years:

1) When we still lived on Ross Ave, I stopped drinking Diet Coke for 52 days. It was soooo hard, I really had heavy withdrawal symptoms, and succombed to the cravings after less than two months.

2) In February 2007, I successfully stopped drinking Diet Pop for 13 months. I gave  in while on our Aruba vacation in March 2008. To be honest, for the entire 13 months, I felt like I was teetering on the edge of caving in. Not a single day passed where I did not want a Diet Pop. I missed my habit of having pop and knitting. I missed the alert feeling I got, the buzz, the taste – everything. I felt like I was hanging off a ledge by my fingernails just to not drink pop. Often, the sight of someone with an ice cold diet pop in hand would literally make me salivate in desire. I made it through our Aruba trip in March 2007, but gave in the following year (March 2008) and was never so happy to welcome something back into my life! (realize this sounds overly dramatic but if you’ve ever had an addiction, you know what I’m talking about).

Tangent here…please note that I am not bashing the drinking of pop. But for me, this is just not a good thing! All indicators show that Diet Pop to me is no different than cigarettes to a smoker or booze to an alcoholic. I fully admire anyone who can kick these habits, as examples, because beating an addiction is tough.

BUT!!! I am happy to report that for whatever reason, this go-round is going TOTALLY AWESOME!!! I’ve had ZERO cravings, ZERO withdrawal symptoms, and it’s been a POSITIVE EXPERIENCE, if you can believe it. Even now, the thought of drinking the sweet syrup makes me think “blech!” – how awesome is that! To what do I attribute the success this time?

  • knowing deep down that I just did not want to keep drinking diet pop, feeling uncentred
  • finding for quite some time that the taste was tasting very fake
  • feeling that a pop-free life, for me, is a healthier lifestyle
  • I realized I was drinking pop out of habit – as long as I have water while I knit or at the store etc, I AM FINE!

So my “pop drawer” in the fridge now holds these beauties…

$10 for 16 Crispin apples at the Farmer's Market yesterday!

So what am I enjoying in place of Diet Pop? WATER!!! Yup, I am finding that cold Brita water in my stainless steel klean kanteen

40oz Kanteen Classic

…is delicious! I’ve never been a coffee or tea drinker, and while I’ve tried a couple of cups of both in the last few weeks, can’t say I’m a fan. And I’m not feeling low on energy, nor have I noticed any effect whatsoever during my workouts due to no caffeine, either – score!

And a shout-out to B, as well: in the fridge picture (above), there are two cans of Coke hidden behind the peanut butter jars; B says that when those are gone, he’s cool with being a pop-free household. This is a major step for both of us as we love our pop. So while B will continue to enjoy a carbonated beverage OUT in restaurants or with pizza, I am going to continue on the straight and narrow with a pop-free lifestyle. Moderation works for most people most of the time, but for me and Diet Colas, it’s gotta be all or nothing.

it's been a slice, darlin'...

i mentally call this "the liquid poison" for postive reinforcement!

so long, farewell, auf wiedersehen, good-bye!

The moral of the story: if at first you don’t succeed, try try again. When you’re fully ready for it, change will not be a struggle.

Cheers! 🙂

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

