SideSwiped

The past 24+ hours have not been fun. šŸ˜¦

I woke up yesterday (Monday) at 5 a.m. as per usual, and immediately sensed that something was off. I definitely felt woozy, slightly dizzy and brain-fuzzy. By the time I got downstairs to the kitchen, I KNEW I was under-the-weather. Back upstairs to bed. And I didn’t leave said bed until 7 a.m. this morning (Tuesday). (Except for sick trips to the loo – will leave it at that). Whooooa. I tell you, I have not been hit by the flu bug like that since Teacher’s College – we’re talking about 17 years ago, here. I feel like I was sucked into a timeĀ tunnel for 24 hours and a complete day disappeared into never-never land.

Unfortunately, I was not the only one gobsmacked by this bug: B came home from work at noon with it, too. AND The Brother, Little E and Baby C felt its impact, as well. Since we were all together on Saturday, it’s really no surprise! (We don’t believe it’s food poisoning as we have headaches, body aches and crave sleep – all symptoms of the classic flu bug).

Happily, this morning both B and I are feeling better and on the road to recovery (as are the little nieces and The Brother, thank goodness). I just feel extremely rubbery and lack energy. Threw in a load of puked upon laundry and needed to lie down for half an hour. Went out to Tim Hortons (what the what?!?!) cuz I needed two donuts (double chocolate and sour cream glazed), then flaked out on the couch for an hour. So today is definitely low key, and I’ll take the rest of this week to build up my strength and ease into routine again.

Sadly, I had to call in sick to the store yesterday – first time in 5.5 years. Luckily, it was an overlap shift with my manager, so it wasn’t too much of an inconvenience. Things work out!

Obviously, I did not have the opportunity (or the energy or desire) to update the 40 Recipes page with the latest muffin recipe. So that has now been completed! See here for Recipe #35 – Childhood Bran Muffins.

OK, guess what? Time for a nap!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

