40th Read! Four contenders, One Winner!…

…As previously discussed, I could have finished the “40 Reads” category of the 1970 Kiki Project ages ago…one magazine, one hour – bingo, done like dinner. That seemed like a cop-out, though. For the very last entry, I wanted to go out with a bang.

I had four possible choices to pursue. Here they are:

1) Through Black Spruce by Joseph Boyden.

 (source)

This is a solid piece of literature, and likely very deserving of the accolades it has received. (It won the 2008 Scotiabank Giller Prize). It just did not grab me, though. The pace of the novel parallels the pace of the Native Canadian way of life: thoughtful plodding (I mean that respectfully). I gave it about a 50 page try, then threw in the towel.

2) In Pursuit of Excellence by Terry Orlick.

my copy

I purchased this book about a year ago, but just recently started reading it during any down time at the store. I like that the motivating stories are drawn from the sports world (extensive interviews with x-country skiier Beckie Scott and downhill skiier Kerrin Lee-Gartner, for example) but the lessons and tips apply to life outside of the fitness realm. Again, though, my attention wanders while reading this motivational book. It needs to be read in small snippets, and I just haven’t made the effort to string together many snippets! So it’s a work in progress.

3) The Hour I First Believed – Wally Lamb.

sitting on my bedside table!

What am I doing writing?! I should be reading this novel NOW! I. Am. Hooked. I reached page 100 last night…of 723 pages, total, in my copy (well, Dad’s copy that I borrowed). I have one month and one day left in which to complete the 1970 Kiki Project. 623 pages in that time frame? Ain’t gonna happen. Even if it wasn’t Christmas, my style is to read before bed, so realistically, I am going to need 4.5 years a lot more time than a month. That being said, I was hooked by page two. Wally Lamb is one of my favourite authors of all time; I highly recommend this book (from what I’ve read so far). Character development is Lamb’s strong suit, so if you like first person narrative and deep personalities, run to your nearest book store/library and pick this up.

4) And the fourth option and final pick???…

#40!

Click here for the review!…

Two Projects complete, two to complete! Onwards and upwards with baking and movie-watching!
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

