Reading in a Winter Wonderland

Anyone else wake up to a scene like this today?

oh, the joy of living in the great white north!

Overnight, we experienced one of the biggest snowfalls of this winter, so far. And it’s cold, too! Happy to report that my new boots are fantastic – perfect for a day like today where the accumulation is above-the-ankle…and that’s before slopping through drifts and snowbanks.

toasty toes!

Would have been a perfect day to curl up on the couch with my book (I have less than 200 pages to go! And my interest has not waned in the least)…except I was at the (very quiet) store today.

I got to thinking about favourite books that involve snow. Here they are:

1) The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats

Cover art of the children's picture book The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats, Caldecott Medal winner(source)

While I do remember my parents reading me this story when I was little, a more recent memory is sharing it with Little E when she was a baby, and now again with Baby C this winter.

2) Katie and the Big Snow by Virginia Lee Burton

 (source)

I had a sudden flashback memory this morning about this book, but all I could remember was “Katie” and “bulldozer.” Thanks to the beauty of Google, I found the story I was looking for by mistakenly searching “katie and the bulldozer.” This story I do only remember from childhood…and while the details escape me, I remember this book was a favourite!

3) Laura Ingalls Wilder books

(source)

Oh, how I loved this book in my tween years! If I read Little House in the Big Woods once, I read it at least twelve times. This is the first in the series of Laura Ingalls Wilder stories. Winter figures more prominently in The Long Winter, the sixth book in the series, but I think I only read that one 2-3 times…the hardship of the harrowing temperatures and harsh conditions troubled me. I passed many a happy hour with the Ingalls family, engrossed in my reading, snuggled on the couch or flopped across my bed.

4) Into Thin Air – by Jon Krakauer

(source)

You can’t get much closer to the theme of “snow” than by reading about Mt Everest! I read this book several years ago, and to this day, it remains the only book that has ever given me serious nightmares. Yet, I couldn’t put it down. Be prepared to read late into the night with this one!

5) Ultra Marathon Man – by Dean Karnazes and Running For My Life – by Ray Zahab

(source)

(source)

I have both of these autobiographical works in my personal library. Each of these ultra runners includes a chapter in his book about extreme cold weather adventures: Dean writes about racing at the South Pole while Ray recounts his experience at the Yukon Arctic Ultra. Dean is the more charismatic writer; Ray has a more Canadian more modest style. I recommend both books if you enjoy reading about athletic pursuits. You’ll be truly inspired to go after your own life goals and athletic dreams (and be grateful for our “warm” winter temps!).

So, yes, we are in the throes of winter. But the good news? The days are getting longer. Mom and I have always noticed that increased daylight is evident about the time of my birthday. True to form, it’s now about 5 p.m. by the time nightfall hits!! Zowwwwweeee!!

Any other snow/cold/winter-related reads to pass along??

No reading here tonight! We’re repeating last eve’s entertainment! 🙂

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Gina Unger  On January 12, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    Well, well, well… looks like Southern Ontario has finally caught up to what it looks like for us here in Manitoba!
    I LOVED those kids’ books as a child, too. We’ve read the first two, but I can’t wait to start reading the Little House books with our kids, too.
    Won’t be reading that book that gave you nightmares any time soon! I get freaked out over very little with my wild imagination!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 13, 2011 at 5:15 am

      yes, stay away from “into thin air!” it would haunt your dreams, i am sure!! it feels very “winnipeg’y” here…i’d like to send the snow back to you??!

Leave a Reply

