Starting Off On the Wrong Foot

Things got off to a rocky start this morning. My oh-so-reliable internal alarm clock neglected to go off at our agreed-upon time.

we're tardy (haha, flashback on my grade 9 family studies teacher who used this word!)

My morning routine goes like this: drink water, pop vitamins, take newspaper and plastics/glass/tins recycling bins down to our garbage room. I had just started down the stairs, when POP! my flipflop goes flying down the steps in front of me. WTF?! Put it back on, and it immediately slips off again. Closer inspection reveals that the thong has broken! I toe-grip the flipflop all the way down the rest of the stairs, and then back up the eight flights. Not comfy.

Back inside the condo casa…

R foot normal, L foot busted!!!

Sad!!! I’ve worn these flipflops for every garbage room trek since the day after we moved in here, 6.5 years ago! They’re Rider brand, and seriously, the most comfortable condo summer footwear, ever. I’m sentimentally attached, yes. Only one place for them to go, though:

b'bye, beloved condo-wearing flipflops

I feared for how the rest of my day was going to unfold. 5:45 a.m. and two strikes against me??

Happily, it was a lovely Friday. Fun time at the store, beautiful sunshine, successful errand running after work.

Now: to settle the question of new flipflops for tomorrow morning. Luckily, I have plenty of replacement options:

...i shouldn't have so thoroughly purged my collection this summer; this is 1/4 of what i previously could have chosen from...

the final contenders...

And the new condo-wearing flip-flops are…

...the FLOJO's!!!

I purchased these at Conestogo Mercantile two summers ago for, seriously, about $7.00. I got them because of Florence Griffith-Joyner, aka FloJo – she, (like me) always had her racing nails and *her look* for competitions.

(source)

Cathy Kueneman 

 I digress…the Flojo sandals are very comfy, and we’ll try them out tomorrow. (The other two pairs are also uber-wonderful, but I will save them for out-and-about summertime wearing as they are cuter in style.

Or, if the Flojos prove to be no-go’s, I always have these to fall back on:

eenie, meenie, miney, moe...

Or, I buy a new pair. Tempted.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lisa  On February 5, 2011 at 11:36 am

    Poor flip flops! I hate when that happens—it’s hard to part with things have so much history!

    Looks like you have a good replacement though.

    I need to be more of a shoe person…but I really hate shoes. My feet and ankle suffocate in socks and shoes. I totally live in the wrong climate to have that problem 🙂
    Have a great weekend!!!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 5, 2011 at 3:56 pm

      me, too! i’d go barefoot year round, everywhere, if i could…but just not possible in southern ontario! yes, it’s hard to get rid of “favourite” or “sentimental” items of clothing, esp when they are just plain worn out!

  • Zo  On February 5, 2011 at 10:39 am

    So sorry to hear about the demise of your flip flops. The toe grip technique can be tricky! Funny, I bought a pair of slipper/booties yesterday because my foot covering slippers weren’t cutting it at home as far as keeping my feet warm. And there you are wearing flip flops! Incredible!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 5, 2011 at 10:42 am

      yes, i’ve taken to wearing socks around the home this winter…i must be going soft as i usually go barefoot around the house, year-round. but this winter, i’ve been wearing wool socks! can’t wait for flipflop season for outdoor wear! your new slippers must be so cosy!!!

  • Gina Unger  On February 4, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    oh yeah! memories of our family studies teacher came whooshing back when i read “tardy”!!! do you know, I’m still in touch with her every christmas actually?! neat, eh.
    your thongs remind me of summer – or getting a pedicure! i always choose which ones to bring with me when I get a pedicure (if it’s winter and i’m not wearing them out that is). jeff thinks i have too many of them but i need (want!) many colours for many outfits and moods – YOU understand!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 5, 2011 at 5:13 am

      oh, that’s so cool that the two of you are still in touch! “getting a pedicure” is going to be an item on the 41 New Things list for this year…i’ll remember to bring thongs! now i’m wishing i had not been so “thorough” in my flipflop purge…at least they’re cheap to pick up at old navy etc if i want to refresh the stash this year! and they’re wonderful minimalist footwear!

Leave a Reply

