It’s the Final Countdown

It’s the final countdown.

[Quick Quiz time: name the music group, their country of origin, and the year this song came out…click to the Wiki link here for the answers!] Unless you were a teenager or older in the ’80’s, this song title will mean nothing to you. In which case, just move on.

(source)

1) It’s the final countdown for…

halleluja!

…the ORANGE toilet paper. That’s the final roll, in use now. Here’s a funny – B rarely reads the blog. However, he made a comment the other day about the smelly old lady paper. So now I know he does check in once in a while! And yes, note the WHITE regular Cottonelle is at the ready.

2) It’s the final countdown for…

my poor watch

As you see, that side is completely sliced and the band parallel to that piece is about half ripped…just noticed it this morning. I’ve had this Timex at least five years, so it owes me nothing. Great brand, if you’re in the market for a sports watch. Just hoping it holds on until I work tomorrow and can pick up a new one then!

3) It’s the final countdown for…

…finishing mom’s sweater!

all the pieces are now knit...

I’ve been knitting off and on since 5:30 a.m. – we’re driving to Toronto this aft, and I madly knit so that I can start sewing the sweater while B drives. I predicted that I could finish the sweater by the end of the week (er, that would tomorrow!)…well, if I technically have until 11:59 p.m. Sunday, we may be successful!

the strategy that finally worked: notes to self + many, many gold safety pins

I have two sleeves, a back piece and then the long band that will act as collar and base of the back of the sweater – it’s one huge piece that will get wrapped all the way around:

the diagrams that came with the pattern

I definitely have my fingers crossed that the dimensions given are correct! My pieces match the measurements provided, but with this pattern…you just never know!

Anything you have a countdown on for right now?

Are any of your possessions on their last legs?

Happy Saturday!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lisa  On February 14, 2011 at 9:45 am

    Wow—the sweater is almost done! I’m so impressed with your dedication 🙂

    Yay for white TP! Yesterday Matthew gave me a valentine and asked if I would like more of the pink toilet paper if he could find it in the store. I couldn’t say no…but NO!

    The only thing I have on its last legs right now (I think) is the key to my car’s ignition. I turned it the other day and felt it “bend.” I visualized it breaking off and me having a large problem…but it turns out it was just the casing on the key that was bending. I still need to get a new one though!
    I do love new stuff 🙂 But I also get attached to my favorite things and wear them out—sounds like you do too, i.e. the flip flops and now the watch!

    Have a great day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 14, 2011 at 4:23 pm

      oooo, i hope you can get your key fixed asap – can you imagine if it broke off in the ignition?? eesh, let’s not even think about it! i am done with coloured tp!! but yes, how could you ever say NO to little matthew!…he sounds like a real cutie.

  • Kristina  On February 14, 2011 at 8:41 am

    yay orange tp gone forever-along with that nasty smell!!!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 14, 2011 at 8:43 am

      hahahahaha!! i am dancing with glee cuz i flushed the last square down the loo this morning!!! sticking with plain old boring WHITE from now on!!!

  • Holly  On February 13, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    OK I love that song so I don’t mind it being in my head!

    I love your fingernails — seeing them makes me wish I took better care of mine (I am a nail biter, big time!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 13, 2011 at 4:24 pm

      oh – you should get the nails!!! they’re proving to be indestructable! i’m so happy with them – although i still can’t type worth diddly! 🙂 just this morning, a friend told me she got fake nails to stop herself from biting her nails – and it TOTALLY worked for her. she stopped completely!!!

  • janetha @ meals and moves  On February 13, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    That song is in my head now, too! Thanks a lot 😉

    I wish I could knit! Was it hard to learn? I want to make my own beanies.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 13, 2011 at 2:17 pm

      you so could learn to knit…not hard at all. can totally see you making your own apres-ski toque and scarf!! too bad football season just ended: while marshall watches the packers, knitting would be the perfect side-by-side activity! (well, next to blogging!)

  • Gina Unger  On February 13, 2011 at 9:01 am

    Thanks (sarcastic) for putting that song in my head, now!!!! It sure isn’t that great of a song, like you mentioned in a comment! but i totally remember it.
    Can’t wait to see that whole sweater put together! hope it works out as it’s supposed to!
    And thank goodness you’re almost done that orange TP! hooray!

  • Zo  On February 12, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    Great….now that song’s all I’m hearing in my head. I can’t think of anything on its last legs, but suspect I’ll realize that I’m surrounded by them (the old, I can never think of what I want or need when people ask phenomenon).

    The cake decorating looked really fun!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 12, 2011 at 6:49 pm

      oh me, too – i was regretting talking about THAT SONG on the blog as it’s been going round and round ever since…and i have no clue WHY it popped in to my head in the first place…the maddening thing is…it’s not that great a song, either!!!

Leave a Reply

