A Cake in the Oven

Better than a bun in the oven. 🙂

note that i am using my wilton pan!!

I just popped one 8″ square cake in the oven for Thursday evening’s class. There are also 6 cupcakes in there  – they’re going to be for Week #3, next week.

Have to be honest: I slammed together mixed up the cake using my usual methods (ie. I did not sift the flour, salt and baking powder together, I only used one set of measuring cups, not separate ones for liquids and dry ingredients). Hey – we’re lucky we’re getting a cake from scratch, at all! The batter was dreamy to work with…and my kitchen smells all cosy and cake-y right now. Good stuff.

I’m using this Basic Yellow Cake recipe from Wilton. Shay recommended it because it’s supposedly going to be crumb-free for icing and decorating. I shall report back after Thursday’s class!

*#*#*#*#*

We are all done Season 2 of Jersey Shore, and all up-to-date on Season 3. So last eve we got a DVD out of the Christmas present pile, and opted for…

Damages – Season 2!!!

(source)

If you love drama with compelling characters, sharp dialogue, and non-linear storylines, try this show!

*#*#*#*#*

I’m working on three hours sleep. Three reasons for it:

1. dark chocolate chocolate chips on chocolate ice cream right before bed. Ka-Zing! NOT fun times!

2. a husband who obviously harbours dreams of becoming a cement mixer in his next life. He is banned from the late-night chocolate, too.

3. a busy-busy mind. But have you ever tried to mindfully tell your mind to settle down? My mind did not want to listen to my mind.

It was a situation.

*#*#*#*#*

I want to wind these four skeins of yarn tonight:

the first skein i wound unravelled very smoothly - hope these four go just as lickety-split!

I’ve started A’s sweater:

cables for the bottom of the back of the sweater

Cabling is not as hard as it looks. I love making cables!!!

*#*#*#*#*

one, two, three, four. We’ll call that a blog post for tonight. Not feeling too *feist-y* at this exact moment!! Is it bedtime yet?!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Holly  On February 16, 2011 at 9:09 am

    Cathy I have to tell my brain to “quiet down” almost every night! For some reason it helps me to visualize a lightswitch and “turn off” my brain. Sounds silly I know, but it works!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 16, 2011 at 10:30 am

      oooo i LOVE that lightswitch analogy. i am going to use that one! it’s not silly at all!!!

  • Kristina  On February 16, 2011 at 8:44 am

    Cake in the oven=cake in the belly…win win!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 16, 2011 at 8:49 am

      …and it turned out pretty good, i do think! can’t wait to do the icing/decorating!!!

  • Deb  On February 15, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    hmmmm, I was picturing a round cake.

  • Lisa @ Thrive Style  On February 15, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    What—that’s how I’ve made every cake ever…sift the flour and stuff? ha!

    Chocolate before bed is a big no-no. I have to re-learn that every once in a while too 🙂
    Isn’t it great to get hooked on a tv show? I need a new one! I’ve never even heard of Damages. hmmmm.

    Have a great night.

  • Gina Unger  On February 15, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    Ugh! Sleepless nights are THE WORST! I do empathize.
    I loved knitting cables, too. I wonder why? The pattern that emerges just seems so pleasurable for some reason.
    Can’t wait to see your mom modeling her new sweater! Is it ready yet?!?!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 15, 2011 at 9:31 pm

      for me, i love the symmetry of doing cabling, plus the results are just so beautiful: who would think that by moving a few stitches, you could get such braids and twists! yes! sweater for mom is all packaged up and ready for delivery/modelling! but she doesn’t know yet – or at least, she didn’t know (maybe she won’t check comments, haha!) off to BED!!

  • SIL  On February 15, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    So .. I heard from someone that the way they wind their skeins is by placing the entire thing around their neck! It sounds whacky but apparently it works like a charm!

Leave a Reply

