Mugging for the Camera

I have two new mugs!

Since I have yet to find the perfect mug in a store, I had the brainwave to ask SIL Ana and The Brother if I could *shop* in their mug cupboard last eve. New mug for me, PLUS  there’d be a positive vibe attached (I ♥ SIL Ana and the Brother, in case you haven’t guessed!). I’m all about vibes for people, places and things.

Success!

mug #1: i love the asian influences in the cream + blue design, plus it's got a lovely shape and heft

mug #2: this one speaks to my quirky sense of humour - i'm not a scientist, and what is a drought research initiative, anyway?!

So until I find the perfect mug to purchase (and it’s out there, somewhere!), I will flipflop happily between my two new choices… + the ol’ BRAD mug!

*#*#*#*#*

I made a special delivery this afternoon!

mom the model and some beautiful touch-of-spring forsythia!

Sweater! – Done! – and now Delivered!

the shrug-sweater style drapes wonderfully around mom's petite frame!

Every rip-back was worthwhile when I see the finished product and the perfect fit.

the sleeve is just the right length - whew!

The pattern was insane quite off-base when they detailed the sleeve length instructions. Glad I freelanced adjusted it.

this shrug will be versatile for layering over different colours, various tops

happy campers!

What project for mom will we find at the Knitter’s Fair this coming September, I wonder?!

*#*#*#*#*

It’s Cake Class #2 tonight!

I borrowed a cake carrier, a cupcake carrier (for next week) and some spatulas from SIL Ana.

Look what I did already…

oops! argghhh!!

Cake casualty during the transfer from plate to carrying platter…hopefully Shay has some suggestions on “how to camouflage an oops!”

The next few days are plum crazy, so I’ll tell you about tonight’s class either Saturday or Sunday. (or Monday or Tuesday!….)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Gina Unger  On February 18, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    Awesome mug (the first one!), awesome work on the sweater (perfecto!), and no worries about the cake ‘oops’ – always fixable!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 18, 2011 at 2:51 pm

      Thanks, G!
      Yes-icing has the ability to fix a multitude of errors, – do believe!

  • Holly  On February 18, 2011 at 9:33 am

    I can’t wait to hear about your cake class! You have me seriously thinking about looking them up in my area.

    Great job on the sweater! It looks beautiful.

    My favorite mugs are from Pier 1 — they are the right size (huge!) and are usually pretty cheap!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 18, 2011 at 10:31 am

      Thanks, holly!
      Great tip on pier 1…I forgot about that store-we have one not too far away.
      Cake class was FUN last eve! I totally encourage you to think about taking it!

  • Zo  On February 17, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    The sweater looks great. And it looks great on your Mom and (I like how you thought out her frame and how you can see what else she’s wearing). I took one look at your cake and figured loading on frosting would fix it (I guess that’s not acceptable in the world of cake decorating, but it works for me!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 17, 2011 at 8:50 pm

      thanks, zo! i think mom will get some good wear out of the sweater. plus, the yarn is sooo soft. haha, i am totally into cheating for this cake decorating stuff! loading on the icing TOTALLY works for me!! wait til i tell you the other cheat tip i got tonight!! 🙂

  • Lisa @ Thrive Style  On February 17, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    The sweater is beautiful! I love it—you are so talented.
    I also love your mug strategy. I should do the same thing. I bet I could shop in my mom’s cupboard. I love it—Drought Research Initiative! Ha.

    Have fun at cake class—I’m sure you’ll be able to repair your little oops! Can’t wait to see your cake masterpiece!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 17, 2011 at 5:12 pm

      thanks, lisa! haha, yes the drought mug makes me chuckle esp because The Brother’s specialty is snow research/the arctic. i will have to ask him how he got a drought mug?!! and you SHOULD look thru your mom’s!!! at least you’d get a new to YOU mug!

Leave a Reply

