Cake Class Deux

Thursday night saw my return to Michaels:

welcome back!, says shay

 Creature of habit, I took the same spot at the same table as last week. Just me and my cake with the thumb hole in it.

did i scare my tablemates off last week?!

Our first lesson of the day was icing the cake:

workbook instructions at the ready - i want to try the wilton ideas!

I felt like a sculptor at work on a creation!! (hey, a girl can dream):

a little dab here, a little swoop there...

Our Cake Guru Shay pronounced her wisest words of the day:

Once you’ve got the cake iced, STEP AWAY.

You don’t want to overwork the cake.”

i took my photo, and ... walked. away. 🙂

Next lesson: adding colour to our icing:

watch and learn, kids

Then we practised with our decorating tips. Today was all about curving lines and tight zigzags:

these lesson pages remind me of the exercise books we used in primary school when learning to write!

All you moms, listen up: as a mother of four, Shay has refined her “how to bake and keep your sanity” ideas. Here’s a really good one – tell your children (once a certain age, of course) that if they leave mummy alone to bake in peace, they will get this reward for their good behaviour!…

a happy face to lick!

Linda DID show up a little late, and I am so lucky to have her as my tablemate. She answers all my questions so patiently (when Shay is at the opposite end of the room), and kindly and generously shares her supplies with me.

linda, you don't need to practise!

Let me be honest: cake decorating is not coming naturally to me. I forgot how to screw on the coupler, I cut my decorating bag too short, and I tried to put my decorating tip IN the bag…argh. BUT! I am having fun, and that’s what counts.

By this time, our icing had hardened enough for us to grab our parchment paper and smooth the icing:

i loved this step!

i named my technique "soothing the baby" - i pretended i was rubbing little e or baby c's back! it worked like a charm -- beautifully smooth icing!

 And now, the grande finale lesson: Coloured Cupcake on White Cake:

piping gel for the cupcake design!

my cake!

....cupcake in the book...

...now back to my cake. ok go back to the workbook picture!

Two of my classmates produced really good designs!

laura made a double layer cake with filling! and look at that edging!

i love jen's BRIGHT BLUE!!

Once home, I showed off my cake:

me and my cupcake!

I sent the cake along to B’s Friday morning class. 8 a.m. cake time? dandy when you’re of college age!

Another fun night – our classes are half over! Boo Hoo!

Next week we will work on cupcakes for our practice pieces!!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Gina Unger  On February 20, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    I love your cake! And that piping gel technique is so awesome! I’ve never heard of it before and want to do that now! And I wish I’d read this blog earlier. I actually JUST finished making Hayes’ b’day cake 10 minutes ago and wish I’d known about using parchment paper to “soothe the baby”! (good analogy!) I hate when my icing doesn’t look smooth… you’ll see what I mean when you see the pix.
    Have fun at the rest of the classes. Doing great!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 21, 2011 at 5:30 am

      thanks, g!! i can’t wait to see hayes’ bday cake – i bet it’s a gem! post your pics asap, please! plus, i bet it’ll taste divine! oh – that rubbing the cake with parchment?? what a GREAT technique!! gives the plainly iced cake SUCH a professional looking finish. i had no idea! score one again for parchment paper! how did i live 40 years without it?!

  • Zo  On February 20, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    I think the cake looks great! I’d be impressed to know someone did that who was just learning how to decorate. Drawing is not my talent (and I cannot stay within lines for anything–I’m sure I would not produce something that resembled a cupcake!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 20, 2011 at 3:26 pm

      haha, i think i was just commenting on your blog at the exact same time you commented, here! *weird*!! insider secret: TRACING!!! we traced the cupcake from our lesson workbook. but you could take a kid’s colouring book and do the same thing. you juse the piping gel, trace the pattern, flip it down onto the cake, press it down, lift off the parchment (tracing) paper, and VOILA! design on cake, ready to decorate!!

  • Lisa  On February 20, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    Great job on your cake! I’m impressed—all those little things you may not have done perfectly…well there are bound to be things like that! At least you are doing it anyway and not afraid to just jump in and try it.

    I would have a hard time not sampling the frosting if I was taking that class 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 20, 2011 at 2:50 pm

      thanks, lisa! haha, actually there WAS a lot of finger-licking going on around the classroom!!

Leave a Reply

