New Experience #6: Play Roll Up the Rim

What is Canadian???….well, let’s see:

~ maple syrup

~poutine

~hockey

~the Rockies

…and TIM HORTONS.

more abundant in locations than s'bux, really and truly

Every year, at this time, Canadians get super excited because it is time for the Roll Up the Rim To Win contest at dear old Timmie’s.

Since I have never been a coffee fan until this year, I have never had occasion to play. In fact, UNTIL YESTERDAY, I had only ever had ONE Tim Horton’s coffee, ever (it was after I ran the Chilly Half Marathon in Burlington, one year, and I was, yes, so chilly, that I sipped a free coffee. I found it profoundly yucky, but when you’re practically hypothermic, you sacrifice).

I have no idea how long the RUTR contest is on for, and since I am outta the country next week, I thought I better play while I can. So I stopped in on Monday afternoon at one of the three TH’s in my ‘hood.

the menu is decidedly easier to figure out than starbucks, thank goodness!

I knew what I wanted: the largest decaf possible:

cup options - why would you want anything other than the contest cup??!

TH customer service is hit and miss. I had a slight miss – they had no decaf brewed, so I had to wait four minutes (the horror!) for my coffee. On the positive, at least it was tres fresh that way! And that just gave me more time to snap photos (no embarrassment whatsoever; it’s all about the blog!).

i don't care WHAT i would win, i just would love to win!

I brought my coffee home to the condo casa so I could add in some stevia and sip in solitude:

will beginner's luck be mine??!

I just about busted a fake nail trying to roll up that rim!

a coffee as big as your head?? that's ok!

And, and….

NOT my lucky day...that would say "play again."

And you know, I just very well may play again! I LIKED the Tim’s coffee! Some people call it swill, [Sidenote: Tim Horton’s has a much more blue-collar/working class reputation as opposed to Starbuck’s yuppie, white-collar vibe] but I honestly thought it was good coffee!

This was a short and easy New Experience! And I deserve a gold star on my passport for becoming a fan of Tim!

Where is your favourite place to get a coffee? Anyone had any luck at Tim’s yet this year??!

My mom usually wins a muffin and/or a coffee per year!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lisa  On March 2, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    When I drank coffee…I did like Tim Hortons. I used to get the hazelnut. I found it way more predictable than Starbucks…which could be terrible sometimes. However…starbucks felt like it had way more caffeine because whenever drinking that I felt like I could save the world (till it wore off…then I just wanted a nap).

    I’m trying to get into the funky little tea shops around here now, and meet people there for “drinks” instead of coffee shops or bars….

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 2, 2011 at 4:36 pm

      hazelnut!! now, i have yet to try a flavoured coffee of any sort…ah, so much to learn and try!! a cosy tea shop sounds just lovely for a meet n chat with a good friend. i hope you have a few in your ‘hood to try! funky would be fun!

  • Johanna B  On March 2, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    I love the Java Plaza which is in the North Tower of the hospital where I work. The buildings are connected but it’s about a block walk to get there. They do a very nice job and the coffee is pretty good. I’m not really a coffee hound I usually get almond steamers when I stop there.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 2, 2011 at 12:32 pm

      almond steamers…now that is a completely new and foreign concept to me but it sounds healthy and yummy! i love that name java plaza! so nice that you can easily access delightful coffee at work!

      • Johanna B  On March 2, 2011 at 1:42 pm

        An almond steamer, the way I order it, is steamed skim milk with a shot of almond syrup. Good stuff. I know the syrup has sugar in it but sometimes I indulge myself.

  • Holly  On March 2, 2011 at 11:01 am

    Honestly my favorite place to get coffee is McDonalds or a gas station — Starbucks is way too “brewed” for me — it is so strong, I feel like I’m drinking gasoline! So bitter. Yuck.

    Not sure if you have Caribou Coffee in Canada — MN based coffee house but I know they are elsewhere in the US. They decorate with moose pictures, rugged wooden furniture, etc. I find them much more cozy than Starbucks — and they use regular names for sizes: small, medium, large. None of this venti stuff that I never know how to pronounce! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 2, 2011 at 11:36 am

      haha, i love your comments, holly! no caribou coffee hereabouts – sounds like a neat place. and starbucks menu confuses the heck outta me – where is “plain coffee,” please and thank you?! my mom is not a starbucks fan, either and has the same comment as you: too bitter. i heard mcdo is giving out free coffee here this week (??) – i think i better try it. my mom has positive comments about their coffee!

    • Johanna B  On March 2, 2011 at 1:44 pm

      Holly, we have Caribou Coffee here in Topeka. It’s located inside a Hy-Vee grocery. It’s hard to pass by when I shop there.

  • Zo  On March 1, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    I’ve been to Tim Horton’s on visits to Toronto, but they didn’t have this contest going (and I admit, I like the atmosphere a bit more in Timothy’s and Second Cup).

    Be on the lookout because I’m referencing you (nicely!) in the post I’m working on!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 1, 2011 at 8:57 pm

      Yes, cool how each coffee shop chain has a unique atmosphere. I do prefer starbucks and coffee culture to tim’s-*snobby?!*
      Roll up the rim is limited time only, while supplies last. I think it’ll be done by the end of march???…
      I’ll look forward to seeing your blog post! 🙂

  • Stephanie  On March 1, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Ha! I love that you have a blog post about rolling up the rim!

  • Dorry  On March 1, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    haha – it really is all about taking photos for the blog. I love it. I’m sure my neighbors are so confused at times when I step outside for good lighting. 🙂

    There’s a precious neighborhood coffee shop down the street that I love.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 1, 2011 at 6:50 pm

      Ah yes, what we won’t do for our blogs!
      A home-y neighbourhood coffee shop is the best!

Leave a Reply

