New Experience #8: Graduate from Cake Class!

I’m happy to report that as of Thursday evening, I am a Cake Class graduate!

Shay presenting me with my certificate of completion

shall i frame it?!

Once again, our class session on Thursday eve was a ton of fun. (For a recap of Week #1, click here; Week #2 is here; Week #3 – here).

I found the pacing this week to be a lot more relaxing than last week’s flurry of decorating lessons; our curriculum for this week consisted of learning how to print and do cursive writing…

flashback to grade 3 and writing lessons!

[Sidenote: Lesson learned: the icing recipe for when you do writing asks for 1/4 tsp of piping gel + thin consistency icing. I omitted the piping gel because, in all honesty, I didn’t want to open my container for  a mere 1/4 tsp, and I didn’t believe it could really make a difference. I was wrong! Error in judgement! Use the gel!!! Your writing will be more fluid and will adhere to your cake].

…and how to make a Ribbon Rose. I loved learning how to make this flower!!

Shay demonstrates how to make the rose base: you want a hershey’s kiss shape and NOT a witch’s hat!

For the final hour of our class, we dedicated ourselves to creating our unique cake masterpieces.

The concept I envisioned for my cake? A Bon Voyage message with an Under-the-Sea/Aquatic theme. My mental picture included a fish, seaweed, aquatic flora and fauna on the cake face, and a snail shell border around the middle layer of the cake.
Sadly, this design remained but a figment of my imagination.
I accept full responsibility! I embodied the motto, “Fail to Plan, Plan to Fail.”

not so sure about the final outcome!...

ok, it's kinda cute!

Ah, well. On the bright side, I: 1) got a message onto my cake, and it did say Bon Voyage 2) my cake features the Ribbon Rose, the shell border, and the dot, all decorating concepts that I learned over the course of the course.

i liked making ribbon roses more than i thought i would!

every cake in future will feature a rose, somewhere, somehow!

 

haha! the most successful part of my shell border is located on the SIDE of the cake!

I’d like to give a very big THANK YOU to Shay, my wonderful instructor. Shay really made the course fun. The mood was light, yet we did learn; Shay is personable, relaxed, and knowledgeable, and I just had a great time attending class each week. Thanks so much, Shay! I definitely know a lot more tricks and techniques than when I walked in the door for Class #1!

My classmates kindly granted permission for me to show their cakes on the blog. Enjoy the cake parade!

linda, my table mate for all four classes - i give her an extra special thank you, too, for her willingness to share materials and tips with me; she was a very congenial cake buddy!

connie and lydia - watch out cake boss! lydia is very talented already!

jen - how does she get her colouring so divinely shaded?!!

i m in awe of margaret's shell-making talent!

erin's drop flowers just pop!

laura's attention to detail and her creative genius show a natural ability with decorating!

constance's baby-themed cake was truly creative...and perfect for the intended occasion!

All in all, I’m very happy that I enrolled in this course. I look forward to making cakes for family celebrations, in the future. Mom and I have already discussed our strategy: she will bake the cakes and I will play decorate them. Win-win!

Thanks again to MichaelsWilton, Shay and all my classmates for contributing towards a making New Experience #8 of the Kiki Project so completely enjoyable!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On March 6, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    So fun to see everyone’s decorated cakes. I think you simply MUST frame your diploma. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 7, 2011 at 4:30 am

      haha, maybe i could incorporate the diploma into “kitchen wall art” somehow!! or put it up in my closet with running medals??!!

  • Stephanie  On March 6, 2011 at 10:04 am

    So much fun! I’d love to take a cake decorating class!

  • Gina  On March 5, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    Great job completing your course! Your cake IS cute and a perfect send-off to you! I got some really neat ideas from everyone’s contributions. And now I really want to make those ribbon roses! So neat. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 6, 2011 at 4:30 am

      ribbon roses are the best!! i would never have guessed i would really get hyped about making them! “shaggy tip” decorating?? yup, that i could have predicted!
      this course would be right up your alley! except you could likely teach it! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 6, 2011 at 4:30 am

      ribbon roses are the best!! i would never have guessed i would really get hyped about making them! “shaggy tip” decorating?? yup, that i could have predicted! this course would be right up your alley! except you could likely teach it! 🙂

  • Amanda  On March 5, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    Oh, that looks like so much fun, I have always wanted to learn how to decorate cakes!! Great job! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 6, 2011 at 4:15 am

      thanks for your comment, amanda! the course WAS a ton of fun, and i really recommend it. even if you have no intentions of becoming a *professional,* the tips you learn are really useful. plus, you get to play with icing – what could be better!!

  • Zo  On March 5, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Congratulations! I think your cake looks sweet (I suspect some of your classmates weren’t exactly newbies!).

    Did you name the plate?

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 5, 2011 at 3:04 pm

      Aw, thanks so much for the cake compliments, zo! Yea, since I spend as little time in the kitchen as possible, I will be happy with my results!
      I think your suggestion of “laird” is the winner! I really like that, and it’s working for me!!!

  • Lisa  On March 5, 2011 at 9:54 am

    Congratulations Graduate!

    What a fun thing and great way to feel accomplished and learn something you can use later too!

    Love your cake—I can tell you put your heart into it 🙂

    Have a wonderful weekend.

Leave a Reply

