Aruba Report: Good Karma

Despite the rocky start to the day yesterday, things improved dramatically.

The plane ended up leaving only 1 hour 15 minutes late – not at all bad considering the horrid snow conditions in Toronto. And a surprise was on me! Given the way the boarding gate was angled, I couldn’t see the plane; I thought it wasn’t even pulled up to the gate yet, and then all of a sudden we were called to board! What a pleasant situation! (Good thing I hadn’t wandered off!)

The flight was uneventful. I got 112 pages read of my novel. Can’t remember the last time I read for hours, uninterrupted. Loved it.

How’s this for the most excellent luck ever: back at the airport, I had overheard a young mom tell another passenger that she was heading to [my resort] to stay with her parents. On the plane, I noticed she was sitting right behind me. So I initiated conversation…and all of a sudden are eyes alit in mutual “A-Ha!s” – her parents, Ed and Marge, are friends of ours from our previous years at the timeshare, and we have met before when she’s visited them in the past, down here!

Amy was travelling solo (brave soul!) to meet Ed and Marge, along with her 19 month old daughter, Hannah. Amy offered that I could share her taxi to the resort. This weekend is Carnival in Aruba, so taxis are in high demand. But Marge had pre-booked a taxi for Amy, and Amy asked me if I would like to join her in the ride to the resort; by sharing, we could split the cost of the journey. Wow!! Can you believe the luck that Amy would be right behind me on the plane, and that I would chance out with her graciousness in sharing the taxi ride. Thank you, God, #2 moment of the day.

all aboard!

hannah and amy en route - child seats in aruba?? not so much...

We landed at 5:15 p.m. Aruba-time, and I was in my condo by 6:15 p.m. Gotta love a tiny island.

open lobby at my home for the next week!

I settled in…

please excuse the blood-shot eyes and tired traveller look - it was a long day! but i want a photo so that i can do a TAN COMPARE at the end of the week!

…and did a short walk-about to search for a Wifi Internet card (yea, sorry, but being connected while on vac-ay was stressing me out). I bought a 1 hour card for $5 after the front desk staff advised that I NOT purchase the unlimited Wifi time online because it would be unpredictable (although this is what we have done other years).

So I got my one hour card, got online hassle-free, and caught up on emails and blogs.

Good Karma: the Internet connection in the kitchen is faster than my internet at home!

After my one hour expired, I decided to try buying the unlimited seven day internet connection online, anyway. Biggest loss that could happen – I lose $35 in trying (hey, gambling is big in Aruba!).

But I had no issues! So far so good!

I have my computer set up just like I have it situated at home:

i'm so at home with this set-up!

Other years, we have moved our computer about the condo, spent time online in the lobby, poolside etc. But I am not going to mess with perfection…let’s leave well-enough alone, and keep the computer in its spot til I leave!

The day is off to a good start. Coffee!!

i amusing the MEASURING CUP for my mug, as the one provided is NOT BIG ENOUGH - hey, my substitute is ROUND and HAS A HANDLE - that's a MUG in my books!

Here’s the rough plan for today: beach, groceries, pool, beach, BINGO, beach, beach walking, shopping. Tough day at the office ahead.

I’ll be back tonight with Day One Recap!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Toni  On March 8, 2011 at 8:16 am

    Your pictures are lovely. My husband and I were considering Aruba for vacation. Looks stunning!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 8, 2011 at 8:20 am

      thanks, toni! oh yes! do consider aruba – it’s simply perfection. next week i will post a “why you should consider aruba” blog entry – it’s really a wonderful spot!

  • Holly  On March 7, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    I’m so jealous you’ll be playing Bingo!!! I love Bingo 🙂

    How crazy to meet up with Amy like that — I love when stuff like that happens. I find myself looking around thinking “is this really happening???”

    ENJOY!!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 7, 2011 at 6:58 pm

      all right! another BINGO fan! funny – i ONLY love it down here!! would never play at home where it’s really rather gross…but it’s such a great game!

  • Nicole  On March 7, 2011 at 11:05 am

    That’s unbelievable that you’d meet up with Amy like that. Karma for sure. I am so envious of your vacation and look forward to reading updates. We leave for Mexico on Friday but it’s still fun living vicariously through others. Aruba is on my bucket list.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 7, 2011 at 3:34 pm

      oh, have a wonderful time, nicole! i’ve never been to mexico so i hope you fb some photos or comments – would love to hear about your trip!
      i know – meeting amy falls under the “coincidence, i think not” category of life experiences!

  • Zo  On March 7, 2011 at 8:49 am

    So very jealous over here. Your trip is off to a good start. I hope you have a great day! Enjoy the sun!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 7, 2011 at 9:33 am

      thanks, zo! just finished groceries so my work for the day is done, haha! out i go!… have a good monday, yourself – stay warm! 🙂

  • Lisa  On March 7, 2011 at 7:34 am

    Glad you made it without any big issues….and with a great bit of luck with the taxi share!

    I would totally do the unlimited internet thing—seriously, you can’t get anything done in an hour!!! 🙂

    Hope you have a super fabulous wonderful time—soak up the sun 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 7, 2011 at 7:54 am

      thanks, lisa! yes, I tell you a Higher Power definitely had a hand in getting me to Aruba yesterday! it’s a sunny morning…going to get groceries and then that beach is mine!

  • tinkerbelle86  On March 7, 2011 at 6:31 am

    at least you got some headway made in your book!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 7, 2011 at 7:52 am

      thanks, laura! yes – and the book is a good one, too, so i was motivated to keep reading. unfortunately, my knitting goal went in the opposite direction…i had to rip back 4 rows on A’s sweater. oh well, can’t win ’em all!!

Leave a Reply

