Wednesday in Aruba: Peachie to be Beach-ie!

It was a beautiful day in Aruba:

the pier at one end of the resort property

…after a rather unsettled start to the day. It rained!! Annual precipitation in Aruba historically is ridiculously low; however, in the past few years, I do believe it’s been rainier than it used to be.

But, rainy skies lead to sights like this:

this rainbow stretched 180 degrees across the skyline; yet another reminder on this trip that "God keeps his promises!"

I did not win at BINGO.

But I came mighty close: on the first game, either I-16 or I-21 would have won me $97.oo U.S.!!

DAD!!! I totally know why I have not had a BINGO win yet!! Because I have forgotten about thumping our lucky Pier Post! So I rectified that situation this aft:

just like rubbing a buddha's belly or whatever is supposed to bring luck!

By 9:30 a.m. the sky was back to clear, and the sun was shining. I stuck with my pre-determined Plan A for the day, and hit the beach!

Since I only wanted sun, I didn’t bother to search out a chickee. Good thing, because 9:30 a.m. is considered “late,” and I wouldn’t have much chance of finding even a back row chickee, if I had wanted one.

Rather, I just got a lounge chair and plopped it here:

free n clear!

The general etiquette for lounge chairs holds that one of the beach attendants will unlock a chair…

chairs are locked up in stacks at the end of each day

…and set it up for you, then you tip him for his efforts.

As luck would have it, there was ONE UNlocked chair sitting in the open, so I grabbed it! Hey, $1 NOT paid to a chair guy is a game of BINGO for me!

Tan progression photo-of-the-day:

we're getting there!...

I faced my chair to the sidewalk, away from the beach view, so that I could people watch and have the sun on my face! (Cut me some slack, after today I have but THREE full Aruba days left!).

the view from my chair...

...and looking backwards, over my shoulder...

My morning passed like this: I’d read a chapter of my book (down to <20 pages to go!), take a dip in the ocean, go back to my chair and read another chapter…time flew.

I think I saw Paul, Mary and Lisa about six times today!

L to Ri: lisa; (fred - not sure who he was, but couldn't very well say "get out of my picture!"); mary; paul

Lovely people.

OK, so here’s theΒ random philosophical question of the day for you. This was my deep thought process as I was tootling about in the ocean:

Is it OK to pee in the ocean (or a lake) or not?

Growing up, we always pee’d in Lake Huron or in Florida, when at the beach, our whole family. And full confession, I still do. (Aren’t you glad you’re not on vacation with me!!) Now, B, on the other hand, is thoroughly grossed out by the very idea (he doesn’t swim with me, or else I give him fair warning). Be assured: I would never #2 in the water. That’s REALLY disgusting. And I’d never pee in a pool. But the ocean is soooo big…I really don’t see the harm! Thoughts??!

Today was the first day I truly felt relaxed and on vacation.

Then, I completely lost Internet connection from noon – 4:30 p.m. and got very stressed out. I need to hit a RESTART button tomorrow!

So, I guess this is a good time to just say that while I plan to keep blogging every day, if a day passes sans mots, no worries, I likely am disconnected…but not by choice!

Plan for this eve: I might just stay in and relax! Hang in the lobby and people watch? Knit? Watch the sunset? I like the sounds of all those options!

Have a good evening!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Julie  On March 11, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    You are looking a little rosie miss Cathy!!! Keep applying the sunscreen. I guess that is my question — are you lubing up with the good old SPF??? or are you old school?

    Yes, I pee in a lake.
    πŸ™‚
    Julie

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 11, 2011 at 3:13 pm

      all right! the “pee-ers” are winning the poll, so far! yup, spf 15 is my friend…i also look rosie because i’m sweating! πŸ™‚

  • Lisa  On March 10, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    I grew up on Keuka Lake, part of the finger lakes in NY…and it is generally acceptable to pee in the lake. Whose gonna go track water and gunk inside to pee?! Fish pee in the water and so do all kinds of animals…so I don’t see a problem with it!

    The tan looks awesome! I just sighed….I heart vacations πŸ™‚

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 10, 2011 at 3:25 pm

      awesome response, lisa! i love your outlook…very true and quite funny! i hope you have a vacation coming up some time?? summer if not before?? it’s certainly nice to get away!

  • Deb  On March 9, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    I plead the 5th πŸ˜€

  • Gina Unger  On March 9, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    Go ahead and pee away! As far as we’re concerned, peeing in free-flowing waters is a-okay… but peeing in a pool, not so okay (unless you’re a kid). We even have some ‘wild’ friends of ours who have done #2 in a lake whilst on a canoe trip (apparently there is a method that makes it work perfectly and is not gross for those surrounding, but Jeff and I won’t go that route! EWWW!)
    Good luck with BINGO! You’re sure to win now that you’ve knocked on your lucky pier! πŸ™‚

  • Holly  On March 9, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    You are looking much tanner Cathy!

    Good luck at Bingo — hopefully the lucky post will do it!

    I’m not sure if it is ok, but I have peed in lakes. I’ve never been in an ocean long enough to have to go, so I have no advice there – why are you asking? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

