Thursday in Aruba: Aaah and A-Ha

It was a beautiful day in Aruba:

a nautical scene for today!

It was a real scorcher today, right from the get-go. I know…your heart bleeds for me… !

I did not win at BINGO.

So much for knocking the lucky pier post yesterday.

Good news! I have finished my first book! I read this novel:

"good enought to eat" by stacey ballis

I really liked this book! It’s chic lit +: better than your usual female-oriented light read. If you like books by Emily Giffin or Jennifer Weiner, you will like this one. I liked the design of the book, too; each chapter is the name of a recipe, then at the end, you will find actual recipes that correspond to the chapter titles. One book in four days – not bad!

Now I am on to the second book I brought along:

"are you there vodka, it's me chelsea" by chelsea handler

This book was an Xmas gift from Paul and Sharon, and I purposely saved it as an Aruba-read! I’m only into chapter one, but I can already tell I’m going to like it. I quite enjoy David Sedaris’ writing, and I think the humour here is going to be in a similar vein.

Before coming down to Aruba, I had thought that I would take the bus downtown some aft to do go shopping. Upon further reflection, once I got here, I realized I didn’t really feel like making the effort or taking the time.

Instead, I decided to take the bus to two other grocery stores. I could pick up a couple of items, and poke about, since I genuinely enjoy grocery shopping!

The bus system here is really simple, and since we’ve done this before, I felt confident in safely getting myself to-and-fro. Shortly after 9 a.m. this morning, off I set!

here's the bus stop, right in front of the hyatt. you know it's the bus stop because of the bench and drive-up area for the bus-that's it!

The bus arrived about 17 seconds after I got to the waiting area! Cost of a round trip? $2.50 US. Compare that to the $15 and $13 I spent going to Ling’s on Monday by taxi…yea, that’s a lot of BINGO games in savings!

yup, the bus was empty! guess i beat the tourist crowds!

As mentioned on Monday, I like to go to Ling’s initially; however, there are two other options: SuperFoods and Kong Hing.

The bus stopped right in front of SuperFoods. Just to let you know how close together the two stores are, I took the following two photos from exactly the same spot:

to the right...

...and its next door neighbour to the left!

I perused both stores, and picked up a couple of things. OK, maybe more than just a couple…

i was trying to do a self-portrait of my back when a nice, older gentleman of dutch origin offered to help me out!

The bus stop for the return trip was more clearly marked:

love that name! i'm going to start using it back at home!

I had to wait about 15 minutes this time for the bus. Not bad!

nothing really unique about an aruban bus; i am just getting addicted to snapping a pic of pretty much everything!

Whew! I needed to come home and relax, mon! Aaah!

Into a lounger I settled:

you're seeing what i was gazing at...

Let’s see how the tanning work is progressing!

howdy!

Elaine was absolutely hysterical during BINGO and all I did was laugh. Too much fun.

 
 
 

i heart my aruba moms! photo from bingo today!

 

*#*#*#*#*

I had a chat with myself last eve and earlier this morning. See, I really allowed the Internet/Wifi challenges of yesterday to get to me. (I still can’t connect in my room, even now). As a self-confessed Type A/Control Freak, I tend to get anxious when things are not how I want them to be. I need to keep reminding myself to chill out, breathe deep!

So…I reminded myself that this is an example of a situation I cannot control. I can’t change the circumstances, I can only control how I react to them. I can be happy to just be on vacation, or I can fret. Hello! Not hard to choose!

Also, I should be happy that at least I have my own laptop here, and can access the Internet in the lobby sans problèmes.

I brought my computer downstairs early this morning, and got to watch the sun rise, hear the birds sing, feel the slight ocean breeze:

 
 
 

pre-7 a.m., early morning view

 

Can’t do that at home. And, I’ll have all the time in the world to read my favourite websites and correspond by email once I return home. (Funny – I don’t miss the Blackberry at all!)

I’m going to keep reminding myself to relax, and go with the flow. Knowing Aruba, the internet connection capability could return to the room at any time, as quickly as it left. And if it doesn’t?? Well, c’est la vie. A-Ha.

How do you react when faced with frustrating inconveniences? Are the get-anxious type or are you blessed with a roll-with-it personality?

I’m not shopped out yet, haha! I’m off to pick up a couple of items; I have done my research on a few treats to bring home…now I know what I want and where to make my purchases!

Oh – from my own shopping predictions, I can add that 1) I found a mug that I loved – it had a fish handle and lots of bright colours, but it was not microwave safe, so that’s no good, given I want it solely to heat up my Via coffee pouches and 2) I found a pair of flipflops with starfish on them that I loved…at a price of $85 US. Um, no. I’ll keep searching!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Gina Unger  On March 10, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    Can’t wait to read the book you just finished… sounds great!
    Can you do MY grocery shopping for me?! That’d be so awesome!
    I probably respond to problems more on the fretting/anxious side of things than the roll with the punches side. Wish I didn’t. However, I’ll be without use of a computer or internet for this whole weekend and that doesn’t bother me at all – but then that’s pre-planned and not unexpected so a difference for sure. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 11, 2011 at 4:57 am

      yes, do get the book – you’d love it, i think! i’d sooooo love to hire myself out to get people’s groceries. and since i love to organize, i’d be willing to put them away and organize the fridge and cupboards, too! 🙂 you hit the nail on the head: if i had NOT had internet in the room the first few days, it would have been a different story. the UNEXPECTED loss of connection threw me. now that i have had time to adjust, i feel better. funny how all of us “fretting” types wish we were not this way!

  • Lisa  On March 10, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    I love scorchers!

    Great tan 🙂

    I am totally a roll with it type of person, except when it comes to the Internet…I not only am addicted to being connected, but I also am employed via the internet…so I need to be able to access my 5 online classrooms everyday. When I can’t….well, heads roll 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 11, 2011 at 4:55 am

      thanks, lisa! yes, heat is just fine when there is the pool or the ocean so close by in which you can cool off! how *funny* that we are an internet-dependent society now, really…oh yea, for you, a loss of internet would be a stressful sit, for sure!

  • Holly  On March 10, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    When I am not in control I feel so helpless and frustrated! Stuff like internet problems, blog problems, TRAFFIC, etc bother me, even though I can’t do anything about them! It sucks. I also remind myself to relax and go with the flow. Sometimes it works and other times…

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 10, 2011 at 6:51 pm

      oh, thanks for sharing, holly! computer/internet/techie problems are the WORST because i feel so unable to know what to do! at least with knitting, for example, if i have a problem, i KNOW different options to try. i really appreciate your comment…it’s so easy to KNOW what to do (relax) and to actually do it! (even with palm trees swaying around you!)

Leave a Reply

