The Best Room Freshener Scent

Last evening I rectified a sorry situation: the last time I baked cookies was back on Saturday Feb 5th! Wow, time flies when you’re sitting on the beach having fun! Given that I have made it an UNofficial goal to make 41 choco chip cookie recipes this year, I decided to get crackin’!

I turned to this trusty resource book:

this cookbook is at least 20 years old!

Conrad Grebel College is affiliated with my alma mater, the University of Waterloo. The cooks at Grebel are all of Mennonite background – you cannot beat the Mennonites when it comes to cooking and baking, let me tell you (I know of what I speak as I grew up in the Mennonite faith – but “modern,” not Old Order).

In university, I had supper once a week at Grebel, and consumed many a cookie back in those days.

This Grebel cookbook was one of those community fundraiser types, where people submit their favourite tried-n-true recipes. My favourite chapter is the one that contains Grebel-famous goodies:

grebel cookies and grebel bread: the stars of this compilation, for sure!

Last night, I made a recipe that I have previously made:

does anyone else date when they try a recipe, or make notes? i always write in the date the first time i try a new one...

And yes, I had NOT made these cookies since 1996! I have to laugh: see how the recipe states you could get seven dozen cookies? Like, how?!!! Your cookies would have to be the size of thumbtacks! Grebel always made their cookies the size of small dinner plates, hence the “Grebel-sized” option, as noted.

I think the recipe is clear enough to read if you’d like to try these – I do recommend them. They are buttery and rich, just as a chocolate chip cookie should be. I was not 100% happy with my version, though…

the bottom tray got a bit more brown than the top tray - two different textures, then!

As you know, I loathe and detest a cookie that bakes up in a “splat” – which is exactly what these did. It was completely my fault: see in the recipe that they say 1 cup shortening OR 3/4 cup butter or margarine? Well, I used 1 cup of butter because I had 2 x 1/2 cup butter sticks at the ready. Error! The result definitely indicates the mis-matched ratio of butter:dry ingredients. Thank goodness the taste is still superb!

I got 24 cookies out of this batch – I am laughing at my notation that I made 12 cookies back in ’96! They must have been the size of flying saucers!

To my mind, there is no better smell to have wafting around the home than fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies. I need one of those automatic poofers that disperses blasts of air throughout a room, like in a conference centre! Barring that, I guess I need to make cookies daily!

Have a great day! I am off to Toronto to see the little ones!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On March 16, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    I love the grebel-sized (and kiki-sized) portions. Old cookbooks are amazing. I have one of my mom’s “community” cookbooks from the 70s…so funny to see how many jello molds or recipes calling for “oleo” are in it…and the trendy (at the time) “baked alaska.” I once saw a cookbook from the 50s that had an ingredient I’d never heard of (a sugar substitute, maybe cyclamate). Apparently, it was eventually banned in the US as a carcinogen!

    Anyway, those cookies look great!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 16, 2011 at 8:40 pm

      cookbooks really can serve as culinary history books, can’t they! that’s wild about the sugar substitute mentioned i that old cookbook-was that in one of the jello mold recipes?! haha! i’ll have to try big cookies again, soon! it’s fun to mix up the sizing – although i have never been one to make “dainty” cookies!

  • janetha @ meals and moves  On March 16, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    Cookbooks like that one are THE BEST. We have one from our church from when I was a kid and the recipes are just timeless.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 16, 2011 at 5:42 pm

      i agree! church compilations contain classics, and recipes that have been passed down thru generations! macaroni salad and lemon pie spring to mind!

  • Dorry  On March 16, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    haha – love that you made 12 last time from the same recipe. I can’t complain about a huge cookie! Chocolate chip cookies and cinnamon rolls are probably my favorite kitchen smells. Hope you’re having fun with your nieces!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 16, 2011 at 5:51 pm

      oh, cinnamon rolls!!! that is such a good scent, too…we have a cinnamon roll store in a local mall here, and the smell extends thru half the mall, i swear! sadly, i am not much of a yeast baker…but it’d be worth a shot just to get that wonderful aroma in the house…!

  • Gina Unger  On March 16, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    Yum! I want one of those cookies right now! A perfect end to my lunch. 🙂
    Ever since you first made mention of the fact that you date your recipes, I’ve been wishing that I’d done that, too, so many many years ago! It’d be like a cookbook journal for me! Alas, I didn’t do it before and so haven’t been in the habit of it so I fail to remember to do it now. A good reminder! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 16, 2011 at 5:49 pm

      one reason in favour of using a cookbook over a recipe found online/on the internet – i really like marking up my cookbooks with notes (i usually note if i omit or add in ingredients, too). i like to try new recipes, so adding the date lets me know what has been done before! wish i could mail you a sample! 🙂

  • Holly  On March 16, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    I love that you note the date in the cookbook — that is such a smart idea! I need to start doing that from now on.

    And a few years ago, whenever I’d make cookies I’d only end up with 12-15 cookies too — now I know why. I’d eat so much of the raw batter!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 16, 2011 at 5:46 pm

      oh, i do recommend dating the recipes, holly! hope you do start that. it’s surprising how quick the years have flown by! i think this raw batter would be great in ice cream! (hello, janetha, queen of the homemade ice cream!)

  • Lisa @ Thrive Style  On March 16, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    I love the smell of cookies too!

    Funny though, I just roasted a beet, and thought that smelled great too—what the heck is wrong with me!!!

    Have fun with the little ones in Toronto. They’re so lucky to have you as their Auntie 🙂

    You know, we only live about 3 hours away from each other—we should meet sometime!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 16, 2011 at 1:12 pm

      i have never roasted a beet, so i will take your word for it that it smells good! 🙂 i’d love to meet up! would niagara falls be about half way?? or outlet malls at the US border?!!

  • Johanna B  On March 16, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    I like old cookbooks, too. I also date and make comments each time I try a new recipe. It’s fun to read back through them and see what I was cooking years ago. I recieved the one I use the most often when I got married which was back in 1975. My favorite is a curried lentil soup which I make quite often during the winter months.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 16, 2011 at 1:01 pm

      oh, ’70s cookbooks have some great classics in them! glad you still use yours! i like to look at recipes from the ’50s, ’60s and ’70s…gives a good sense of the eras! adding a comment helps to know whether to “make again” or “avoid!”

Leave a Reply

