Canary Feet

Two days ago at the store, I saw these shoes…

how could you miss them?!

…on this wall…

women's shoe selection...

…and knew they needed to be on these feet.

mine

I started running back in 1989 when I asked my dad if I could tag along with him. After a few outings, we went to Webco Sports, and I chose a pair of *real* runners: a grey and pink pair of Adidas Peachtree running shoes. I wore them for several years (that’s a cringe-worthy statement, now!) and they, to this day, remain one of my all-time favourite pairs of shoes I’ve ever owned.

Adidas shoes typically have a narrow midfoot upper:

saucony and asics tend to be wider

With my shape of toe box, they fit really well.

a narrow foot inherited from my mom!

 I don’t like some of the other current models that Adidas has out – the highly cushioned heel makes the shoe feel clunky.

see the generously cushioned outer heel??

 But these

i squeal!

the adizero boston 2, are meant to be a lightweight trainer.

They fit like a glove.

they wrap right around my foot!

They make me feel like dancing!

who needs a disco ball for the centre of the dance floor?!

Happy feet!

yippee!

Welcome to the family…

have we reached "excessive" yet in the active rotation?!

(The Bostons will be the first pair of yellow shoes…see, they are needed!!) 

I should have a green pair of shoes to show, in honour of St Patrick’s Day!

(source)

(Hmmm, what does the clock say….maybe I have enough time to run out and snag a pair!)

Are you wearing green today??!

i am!

…and my green eyes are a natural accessory!

eye spy!

The University kids have been whooping it up around town since mid-morning! Oy, yoy, yoy!…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On March 17, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    I LOVE your new yellow shoes!! They are so cheerful and I bet they make you want to go for a run all the time. I have narrow feet, too. I love your shoe collection – what a great benefit from your job! I just started running last June, and I remember learning that I needed to buy shoes a couple times and year – or more depending on my mileage and I couldn’t believe it. But now, I realize the importance of having support. I see your Vibrams…and really want a pair! I also want a pair of Nike Frees. 🙂

  • Johanna  On March 17, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    I’ve typically used the excuse that ‘I AM a Greene’ – ha! – but that lame-o excuse is just to cover the fact that I forget. Today, however, I remembered and even had shamrock pins in my hair! Terribly kitchy but it was rather fun. 🙂

    I absolutely marvel at your shoe collection, Cath! Very impressive! I’m 100% confident that you would have stern words for me in regards to the runners (1 pair and hand-me-downs at that) that I’ve been wearing for *muffled* years. Of course, I don’t put the mileage on them that you do (by a LONG shot!) but still. Eep.

    Oh! And I have green eyes too! Well, most of the time. They’ll swing to a more blue-ish tint sometimes but they’re often green! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 18, 2011 at 4:14 am

      ooo, shamrock pins?? you’re lucky i did not see you – i would have ripped them from your head so i could wear them. i looovvve earrings, necklaces, hair accessories that are celebration-themed for special events. actually, so many people wayyyyy overuse their running shoes – i’ve had people come in and say it’s been 10 years since my last new pair! of course, i cover my ears (!) but then my dentist would have the same reaction when he hears i use a toothbrush for 6+ months! 🙂

  • Holly  On March 17, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    Haha! I have green eyes too so I guess I did have SOME green on today!

    I love the shoes Cathy — and wow am I jealous of your collection!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 17, 2011 at 7:32 pm

      oh, cool! another green-eyed gal! it’s not that common an eye colour! the collection…an occupational hazard! i have no resistance whatsoever!!!

  • Lisa @ Thrive Style  On March 17, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    Great new sneaks! I love the yellow.
    Looks like you have quite a collection—but that makes sense considering your occupation 🙂

    I definitely wore green today—and I did eat some green too, green smoothie and avocado pudding. Oh, and a salad. Lots of green!

    Hope you have a great evening!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 17, 2011 at 7:30 pm

      thanks, lisa! yea, some women go for heels, stilettos, jimmy choos…my thing is the running shoes! glad you were festive and in the st patty’s day spirit!

  • Zo  On March 17, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    I love the photos in this post (especially the fixture one). Congratulations on your snazzy sneaks!

    I did not wear green today…shame on me!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 17, 2011 at 7:27 pm

      no green!! the horror, zo! 🙂 the shoes are off the chandelier, now – ’twas for photo purposes only. pls don’t think i do that every day!

Leave a Reply

