WordPress Ate the Fashion Parade!

Argh!!!!

I just spent over an hour getting a lovely blog post all ready with a fun fitness fashion show.

Then, zoop, I inserted one last photo, and the whole thing disappeared, and I know not where.

Sometimes, things are just not meant to be.

So, in the interest of time (we are off to Toronto today to babysit the little nieces! Suddenly a zapped blog post is not so important.) we’ll revise the original plan.

I hereby give you Four Top Fitness Wear Trends for Spring 2011.

[Please note that the Running Room is the source for the following photos. Each item can be found in Running Room stores now. All prices are in Canadian dollars].

1. Dual-Purpose Jackets:

Shifter Jacket

Nike Shifter Jacket, $119.99

Supernova Sequence Convertible Wind Jacket

Supernova Sequence Convertible Wind Jacket, $109.99

Each of these jackets features removable sleeves, so you really are getting a 2-for-the-price-of-1 deal: a jacket + a vest. Yes, the price is more than the Unisex Reflective Jacket, for example, but you can never beat both Nike and Adidas when it comes to quality, innovative design, and durability (you will tire of your garment before it wears out).

2. Fitness Wear as Lifestyle Wear:

More and more, we are seeing crossover between items that serve as exercise clothing and out-and-about/yoga clothing:

3/4 Frolic Capris

Running Room 3/4 Frolic Capris, $64.99

Peek a Boo Tank

Running Room Peek A Boo Tank, $54.99

Again, it’s fabulous when you can get multiple usage out of one clothing item – more bang for your buck. I don’t know about you, but I love to feel comfortable out running errands, lazing around the house, playing with the nieces…there’s nothing like Lycra and stretchy fabric in terms of comfort!

3. Bye-Bye Skorts, Hello Short Shorts:

For the last 3-4 years, skorts have been all the rage:

Morning Glory Skort

Running Room Morning Glory Skort, $59.99

Every major brand produced its own version of this shorts+skirt combo; they flew off the racks faster than we could stock them. This year, I’ve noticed the emergence of the boy or short short:

Nike 2" Road Race Short, $34.99; Nike Swift U-Back Bra, $59.99

Nike 2" Boy Short, $39.99; Nike Knit Ribbed Tank, $34.99 - this combo would be divine for a gym workout, taking you from elliptical to weights "seamlessly!"

adiStar Shorts

Adidas Adistar Shorts, $44.99

Epiphany Stretch Shorts

Brooks Epiphany Shorts, $39.99

If you’re hesitant to give the short shorts a try, just try them on before you make a judgement call. It’s wonderfully “freeing” to work out/run with less fabric swinging around your legs. And a tighter bottom wicks moisture away more efficiently. Show off those gams!

4. The Slogan T:

Pithy expressions on running shirts are huge this season:

Nike Graphic Tee, $34.99

Live Tee

Running Room Live Tee, $34.99

The men’s lines also have a few good ones available – men’s medium would fit most women, and with a tshirt, styling is pretty unisex!

I love this time of year at the store because it’s like Christmas when new boxes of product arrive: what do we have today? Although it IS a bit dangerous: with first access to the goods, I could easily spend all my paycheque and then some on the fantastic styles available!

Do you plan to buy new spring fitness wear?

Have you ever had your computer eat your blog post? This is the first time this *disaster* has happened to me!

Enjoy your day!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lisa @ Thrive Style  On March 20, 2011 at 7:57 am

    I’ve never had wordpress eat a whole post! But this is a good reminder to hit Save Draft periodically!

    I probably won’t buy too many new workout wear pieces this spring. I’m sure I have enough already…but I always seem to snag a few new ones!

    I never did the running skort thing—the nike running shorts have been my go-to for a few years now.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 20, 2011 at 8:15 am

      Nobody can match nike when it comes to design, style, tech fabric innovation, comfort, durability, washability…can see why you stick with their shorts, lisa!
      I never did skorts, either – it’s double fabric (hot) and I just don’t WANT to run in a skirt!
      I don’t need anything new, either, but I sure am tempted!

  • Gina Unger  On March 19, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    Oh yes! I can relate to losing blogs before I save them/post them! It’s terribly frustrating! One time I actually cried b/c I was so tired from spending 2 hours on it and then losing it all! Now I can save it as I go and I won’t lose my stuff anymore.
    Love the pix of the clothes. Can’t wait for Spring/Summer to get rid of the winter gear and RUN FREE!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 20, 2011 at 4:04 am

      ack! i would cry, too, with a two hour time commitment lost! that’s hideous! if anyone is deserving of a warm spring, it is YOU! outlasting a winter in winnipeg is no small feat! (although you are a seasoned veteran, i realize!)

  • Peggy  On March 19, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    Luckily, Blogger has an Autosave setting that saves every 5 minutes or so, so if I’m in the middle of a post and it crashes, the majority is still up when I reload!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 19, 2011 at 8:48 pm

      THAT is a lifesaver for a Blogger blogger, for sure! i know i’ve THOUGHT i’ve lost a post before, and then it HAS been autosaved…so i have no idea why not even a smidgen of my original post was saved…

  • Julie  On March 19, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    Worse (in my perspective) is when the computer eats report card comments!!!!!

  • Zo  On March 19, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    I haven’t lost a post…I’ve lost paragraphs…usually hitting some version of undo helps. Like Holly, I also save as I write (usually because I do a lot of previewing and save before I preview).

    I like trend no. 2 the best…love the peekaboo tank. Probably because it was so warm (70s) yesterday that I’m thinking about warmer weather gear!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 19, 2011 at 12:54 pm

      get out! you had temps in the 70s?!! jealous!! the tank is super cute…and the fabric feels silky and soft. i’m unusually impressed with the running room collection this year – edging close to nike and adidas quality! undo – note to self taken!

  • Holly  On March 19, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Cathy I have lost entire posts, or portions of posts and it sucks! Now I try to save as I write it — that way I won’t lose all of it. How frustrating!

    I love the look of the shorter shorts, but I prefer to wear the longer compression shorts — they don’t get bunched up when I run!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 19, 2011 at 12:10 pm

      i think i will do that, too, from now on – make sure that a draft is saved. thanks for the tip! normally, wordpress automatically saves a draft but not this time??? compression shorts are also great for wicking away moisture because there are no gaps at all. glad they work for you!

Leave a Reply

