Time for Some Colour!

Spring has created in me an urge to decorate!

The Condo Casa walls have looked like this for over 6.5 + years now…

the living room...

main floor den - i call it my *zen room!*

the right of the front entry...

the upstairs...

upstairs, my stairmaster zone! (3x4 foot private gym?!)

While I love minimalism in the home, things are just looking too bare and too drab. I’ve found the solution!

Earlier this week, I met with Jeri of MURAL-TASTIC! Paint Solutions. She does custom murals in private homes!

She toured the Casa with me, and I told her what I envisioned. We’re going to start with three wall paintings:

1) I’d like her to recreate this poster…

a david hockney print that i've had since university!

…for the area behind my Stairmaster:

for the back wall, there

2) We’re going to do a full sunset scene (can you picture the living room in Jersey Shore episodes? That’s exactly the look I want to replicate). Something like this:

(source)

The plan is for Jeri to paint that sunset scene here:

the wall over the couch is perfect!

3) Although I eventually want to do more, the last mural that Jeri will do for us will be in the Zen Room. I want a Buddha-theme:

wg-287_th.jpg (source)

I like how the colours are not too bright and will blend with the bookcases already in the Zen Room!

we'll incorporate the same shades as the bookcase, there, to the left

So what do I think?!! I am so excited for Jeri to get started. She thinks she’ll be able to begin next week!!!

Do you have a lot of paint and/or wallpaper in your home, or do you prefer neutrals?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • thehealthyapron  On April 1, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Oh how wonderful! You’ll have to post pics of the finished product! I live in an apt where we cant paint and I am SO SICK of white walls. I like a little splash of color here and there!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 1, 2011 at 1:52 pm

      Thanks, erin!
      Since it’s after noon…on april fool’s day…I have a confession: this post was my attempt at april fool’s humour!! You hit the nail on the head-i like splashes of colour, too…but full murals are not my style!! Too much!! I think I should have said I was going to do the whole condo in one big mural…that would have been a bit more *obvious,* perhaps!
      But thanks for your cheery comment! I hope you can add colourful accents like pillows or dishes to your place to spice up your plain walls!

  • Dorry  On April 1, 2011 at 10:01 am

    I love splashes of color! I think they really just add so much energy to a room. I’m a big color person, though. And truthfully, we don’t yet have a lot of artwork in our new place – but we do have a purple kitchen! 🙂 I’m excited for you – I think you’ll love the colorful additions.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 1, 2011 at 10:04 am

      I would love to see your purple kitchen! I bet it just makes you and billy smile!

  • Johanna B  On April 1, 2011 at 9:34 am

    My daughter is a photographer (she had her first show last July). Most of the stuff I have hanging on my walls are framed photographs that she has done. I’m a proud mama!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 1, 2011 at 9:38 am

      That is a wonderful skill to have-photography! Must have bee very exciting for you to attend your daughter’s show! Your home is an art gallery for her work!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On April 1, 2011 at 9:33 am

    We have neutral paint throughout the house — I think the paint color is sand or something like that? so it is kind of yellow-y but very homey and pretty. I just love it. Our bedroom paint color is actually called peanut butter — it is a darker brown. I didn’t like it at first but it grew on me. It is calming and I need that out of a bedroom!

    My sister’s inlaws have a mural kind of like that beach scene in their house and I really like it — they also have a “wooded” scene in their dining room. I definitely think it adds personality to your house doing something like that!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 1, 2011 at 9:36 am

      Yum!!! A bedroom painted in peanut butter shade sounds very cosy!! Yup-a bedroom needs a relaxing shade-anything to help with a good night’s rest, right!

Leave a Reply

