Cookies for Firefighters – or Cowboys??

Lately, whenever I make a batch of choloate chip cookies, B’s been passing along a couple to his friend, Eric. A firefighter for about a year now with a local department, Eric fills my heart with joy because he’s loved every cookie he’s tried yet. (Any single ladies in da house??!…Eric is mid-20’s, sooo nice…and unattached, presently! :))

Tuesday eve, we got together with Eric and another couple at the Huether (more about that in a minute). When Eric started raving about homemade cookies, I told him that he’d get a dozen for himself, next batch. So, last night I made Batch #7 of the chocolate chip cookie project. I knew I wanted to make the choco chip cookie recipe in this book…

...added to my cookbook collection in the mid-'90s!

…because Firefighter Eric would be inheriting a good portion of the recipe!

Here’s the recipe:

last made in july, 1996 - see the note? and they were "great!"

I think you can read those ingredients easily enough. And you may very well wish to make these for the firefighter(s) (or cowboys?!) in your life because the dough is divine. [Sidenote: at the bottom of the recipe, it says that Shirley doens’t know any cowboys, but has made these cookies for her family for years…so I’m stumped as to the Cowboy reference!]

I loved this recipe because of how many times “1 cup of x” appears – the less washing up of measuring cups at the end of the baking episode, the better, if you ask me!

In terms of what to do, just do as you usually would for making cookies: beat the shortening, add the sugars, add the eggs and vanilla, dump in the dry ingredients, stir in the chips. Bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes. Presto – cookies!

A couple of comments:

i did run short on white sugar, so topped up the 1 cup required with a bit of extra brown sugar...i think this was ok

Remember when I bought this eight ton HUGE bag of oats for last year’s  40 Recipes Project??!

[From March 2010 – happily, oats don’t go bad…I think!]

Finally, the oats are finished!

good to the last drop

Once again, I fell short on required ingredients (plan, much?) and had to top up the 1 cup measure with my GF oatmeal:

tinier flakes - added textural interest for the cookie dough!

The batter is delightful:

this dough is a more dry and crumbly than some recipes, but i'll take that over SPLAT doughs, any day!

Out of the oven:

beautiful!

…and ready to share!

two for Dad and two for Paul at the store...

tons for B - into the freezer they go! (childhood memory: my mom used to pop fresh cookies into the freezer asap; we always said NO NO! keep them out! now i do the same thing!)

...and eric's dozen!

Eric will receive his cookies tomorrow…hope he likes them!

*#*#*#*#*

An Awkward Situation:

So, as mentioned, we’re at The Huether the other night. The service really stunk: the waitress obviously didn’t care about being there, she forgot to bring drinks, she said they had no special mussel forks (not true)…you get the picture. So the guy of the couple we were with (not Eric), actually confronted her to her face about her poor service! He asked her if she had an issue with our table, he said that we were here for a good time and she was not helping us enjoy our experience…and said a few more true but rather hostile comments. It was so awkward and embarrassing!!! Yes, she was not being helpful at all (another server pitched in and got us the fork, brought us the drinks) but I just could never address an issue like poor service so openly like that. I felt bad for her! And frankly, her attitude did not really improve after being called up on the carpet like that.

What do you do when you receive poor service at a restaurant: address the server or keep your mouth shut? I would let a very small tip speak for me, and would say something to management on my way out…but I could never confront the server myself – I really dislike confrontation too much!

*#*#*#*#*

Followup to April Fool’s Day jokes.

I posted my own joke…which some people believed and some people did not!

My two favourite jokes of the day:

Angela at Oh She Glows played a good trick on her husband! But, top prize goes to Sabrina at Rhodey Girl blog for the joke she played on her Dad. All good fun!

*#*#*#*#*

Quote of the day:

Credit goes to My Dear Friend Gina for providing Our Daily A-Ha:

“Life is like playing a violin in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.” – Samuel Butler

Happy Saturday!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna B  On April 4, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    Giving fresh cookies to firefighters is a great idea.

    As for confrontation – I mostly don’t. I do leave a meagre tip and either write a letter to the manager or try to speak with him/her on the way out. My lastest tiff with a store employee was over plastic bags. I brought my own cloth bags and the checker insisted on putting my groceries into plastic bags and then into my bags. She said it was store policy. The manager disagreed.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 4, 2011 at 2:15 pm

      what a silly action re the bags!! glad the manager sided with you! here, many stores are now charging five cents per plastic bag – so Bring Your Own Bag is becoming more and more common. glad you are a cloth bag fan! every use is one less plastic one, right!?!

  • Lisa  On April 2, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    I love cookies…the dough mostly!

    I would never confront anyone—there’s a fine line between asking for something and being hostile! I’d likely just not say anything and not want to come back. I don’t know—nothing to crazy has really happened, so I’m not sure exactly what I’d do!

    I missed all the April fools stuff–I was so busy this week I banned myself from blog reading. I missed it!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 2, 2011 at 9:39 pm

      you have had a really hectic week, lisa! i hope things settle down for you a bit! yes, that’s another way to “make a statement:” just refrain from returning to the pub/restaurant…glad you haven’t had too many negative experiences! enjoy some relaxation time!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On April 2, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    Cathy I so want to make some cookies now! Jason and I were going out to eat tonight so I need to make sure I get some sort of choc chip cookie dessert thing. That sounds so delicious right now!

    Bad service — yeesh. Honestly it has never been so bad that we need to complain, and if we do, we mention it to the manager, or, if we are being ignored, etc, we flag down a different server. Usually the different server hints to our actual server that we are asking him for help, etc. What I mean is, usually it works itself out thankfully.

    How uncomfortable for you though! Yikes!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 2, 2011 at 6:04 pm

      hope you have a wonderful dinner out tonight, holly! ok, a choco chip cookie dessert: i picture a cookie+ice cream+choc sauce…how’s that?! let me know what you get!! and i hope you get excellent service!

  • Dorry  On April 2, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    Oh, I want to bake some cookies after all this cookie talk! That is an awkward situation, but I’m with you about the confrontation. If they get my order wrong, I will almost always say something (politely) and send it back. Hope you’re having a great weekend!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 2, 2011 at 4:38 pm

      i agree – a wrong i order i would (politely) ask to be fixed…or if a dish was undercooked or cold, something like that. enjoy your day, too!

  • Zo  On April 2, 2011 at 11:22 am

    I was wondering how much variety you see in these cookie recipes…I suppose calling for oats is different (I am a big oatmeal eater, so there’s always some around).
    I tend to divide up rude people between those I will have to deal with again and those who are “someone else’s problem” and usually don’t say anything (because if people start at rude, they rarely get more polite..). With people I have to deal with, I usually brace myself for the rudeness so I can “get in and get out” quickly.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 2, 2011 at 1:42 pm

      Yes, going back to the other day’s discussion about variety of recipes…it’s funny how many differences there really are with recipes! And the oatmeal was a nice change…I hadn’t done oatmeal choco chip for a while!
      Good point: there’s a difference between people you deal with once vs over and over.

  • Gina Unger  On April 2, 2011 at 10:23 am

    OOPS! posted my comment before I was finished. LOVED the April Fool’s jokes! Laughed aloud at many I heard/read about yesterday! So much fun! 🙂

  • Gina Unger  On April 2, 2011 at 10:19 am

    oooh! cookies look awesome! great work again! (i think oats last a long time, but they can go rancid, too… i keep nuts, bran, wheat germ, flax, etc. in the freezer so they stay fresh… but not my oats, so I think they keep fresh longer???)
    confrontation… hmm… i am way more likely to confront than jeff, but i’m with you on the when/where/how. i’d do the same: small tip, talk to management, or maybe confront the server in private. so much easier to confront a stranger on the phone vs. face to face with a person -esp. one that you know.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 2, 2011 at 10:24 am

      yes, i highly recommend you make this recipe!! as my baking guru, if YOU keep oats on the shelf, then I shall continue to do the same! honestly, they were just fine! i agree about flax, wheat germ etc needing cooling. and yes – face to face confrontations are just very uncomfortable for all parties!!! email is my 1st choice if a situation MUST be addressed! although sometimes you just have to deal in person…which i encounter at the store sometimes, too.

Leave a Reply

