April Goals

Last eve, Michelle and I went to the movies. Our viewing selection? The Lincoln Lawyer:

(source)

Channelling back to my official movie-reviewer days, I give it an enthusiastic three star (***) rating! It was wayyyyy better than either Michelle or I anticipated. I had seen a preview, but otherwise, had no idea, really, of what to expect in terms of the storyline. I would have guessed that the movie would be a lighthearted, run-of-the-mill, semi-suspenceful, predictable, generic “guy flick,” if you know what I mean.

It SOOOO is not!! There is quite a dark tone to the whole movie, and it is SUPER suspenceful. This was the first film starring Matthew McConaughey that I’ve ever seen (that’s not enough of a “first” to count towards The Project, though!) and he was rock-solid in his role. Two of my favourite actors, Marisa Tomei and William H Macy, have supporting roles; they’re both excellent. I won’t say more – but do make an effort to see this movie. If you like drama and suspence along the lines of Law and Order but way better, you won’t be disappointed! Michelle and I were on the edge of our seats, several times!

*#*#*#*#*

You know what, I have to say it: I’m a goal-setting junkie.

I love planning ahead. Yearly projects – like my 1970 Kiki Projects, monthly targets, daily To Do lists…all these types of plans are very much a part of my life, and are very enjoyable. There’s great personal satisfaction to be had in deciding on a goal, meeting it (exceeding expectations is even better!), then moving on to another set of plans.

I have two specific goals for the month of April, below. [These are new ideas, added on to my quest for New Experiences, and to the fulfillment of the Outings of the Month get-togethers].

1. Finish the reknit of A’s sweater.

This morning, I got back the first edition of the sweater:

full circle: a's sweater left the house last sunday, it's back in the house this sunday!

I honestly can’t wait to rip the sweater apart, and get started on redoing it. A and I spent quite a bit of time this morning going over how she would like the pullover to fit. I made copious notes that likely only make sense to me:

i'll use these notes and measurements to rework the sizing

Luckily, we need to make the sweater smaller in several areas: that means less time on the re-knitting, and no worries about running out of yarn.

Guess what I’m going to be doing tonight as I watch my PVR of Jersey Shore Reunion?!

2. Follow a gluten-free (GF) diet, to the best of my ability and knowledge. Recently, I’ve reduced the amount of gluten in my diet and have noticed a vast improvement in how I feel, digestion-wise. This past week, I had a string of a few days where I didn’t consume gluten-containing products. Then, at The Huether on Thursday, I thoroughly enjoyed a chocolate-dipped biscotti…but my digestive system did mildly complain, after. So, for one month I’m going to try the GF path. Subgoals: buy some GF flour and try doing some GF baking (GF choco chip cookies, anyone?!) and purchase some new-to-me products that are GF.

Do you enjoy planning and goal setting? Feel free to share one of your April goals!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On April 3, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    You know I love setting goals! I think it’s great that you’re going GF for a month. I’ve found it to be fairly easy. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 3, 2011 at 9:40 pm

      oh yes, you’re a goal setter after my own heart, dorry! i love when you talk about your “30 before 30” list! 🙂 i’ll be checking your blog for GF ideas, for sure! although i know i won’t find any cereals til after easter!

  • Lisa  On April 3, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    I wish I was more of a goal setter right now…I think I am on a work/micro/day-to-day level. But on the bigger things I’m not doing so well lately. Well, dietary-wise I do pretty well, but fitness-wise I’m a little aimless.

    I think I’ll set some goals for june when school is over. I did intend to knock down my to do list today no matter how long it took—and I did it in 8 hours! Banned myself from blogs and the internet, and it worked like a charm. So this week, I think I can reduce my stress level. Maybe my april goal should be to do that every week! Ok, it’s set. That’s it 🙂
    Thanks for the inspiration, Cathy!

    Oh, and I’m totally on board with gluten free—I ate a piece of whole wheat crust pizza that joe made, and my gut has been grumbly ever since! (It was kinda worth it though!)
    Hope you have a great night and great Monday too!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 3, 2011 at 9:38 pm

      yes, i have said that too, in the past: “this is going to not be gut-friendly…but the taste is so worth it!” awesome that joe is a pizza maker, around your home! way to go on getting stuff done today! you must feel so relieved. i can see why you checked out of the “connected” world: emails, blogs, twitter, etc – all such easy distractions! glad you feel “goal inspired!” better start planning your summer now….those months always go by wayyyy too quickly!

  • Johanna  On April 3, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    I like the IDEA of setting goals. I like the idea that after xx period of time xx will be accomplished. But somehow… I just don’t do it. I SOOO admire your ability (and enjoyment) in goal setting. I’m hoping that it’ll rub off! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 3, 2011 at 9:33 pm

      oh, i totally love setting goals FOR other people! (“you WANT to clean your house, you really really do!!”) haha! how’s this goal, then: see cathy once per month. bet we can do that one for ya! 🙂

  • Gina Unger  On April 3, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    I am still reeling (no pun intended!) from the news that this was your very first film starring Matthew McConaughey! Cathy! That’s incredible! He is one of my fav film stars so I cannot wait to see this movie now. Thanks for the low-down on it.
    All the best as you re-work the sweater. EESH! What a lot of work. Better you than me!
    Lists? LOVE them! I am a total list maker. I just made two new lists this weekend actually: one of “Projects to Finish Up” and one of “New Projects”. Because I like to do a lot of different things I seem to get into one project before another one is completed. I took a tally of my unfinished business and decided it was time to get those things wrapped up before I engage in my new ones – motivation on paper for me b/c I really want to start some of those new ones! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 3, 2011 at 9:31 pm

      I KNOW!!! i don’t know how i have never seen matthew mcC in a movie…he’s pretty big-time! i kept waiting for a gratuitous shirt-off scene…but there’s not really one, just to prepare you (one make out scene, but no real upper body, showing-off angles!) i like those two list headings!! yes – finish up the current projects (would love to hear what they are/see them on the blog!) and start new ones!! you’re being very disciplined!

  • Zo  On April 3, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    I like setting them and thinking about “the possibilities” but sometimes I shy away from setting goals…but sometimes it’s interesting to see where they lead. I’ll be interested in seeing how the knitting and the gf diet work out.
    As I mentioned, I have a goal of cleaning out my car in April…one whole month to clean out my car (betcha I do it April 30!).
    I actually knit a few rows on the scarf I’ve been working on today. I cannot for the life of me remember how to purl (I don’t need to for the scarf…but still…), so I’ll have to look it up.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 3, 2011 at 9:20 pm

      you COULD just attack your car tomorrow, and get it over with! … so bad with mine, too – it’s almost four years old. has it ever been vaccuumed??? ummm….. 🙂 yes! you should keep working on the scarf – make it a may goal! i think you did very well with setting goals and meeting them in march…and you’ve got a nice variety again in april! i’ll post updates on the knitting and GF diet as the month progresses…

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On April 3, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    I do like setting goals — I’m actually going over my March goals in my post for tomorrow. I didn’t do as well as I had hoped, but I’m happy with any progress to be honest!

    I’ll have to keep that movie in mind, I remember seeing a commercial for it but not much more than that!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 3, 2011 at 8:06 pm

      i’ll look forward to seeing your “march in review,” holly! well, some targets we hit and others we go wide! 🙂 i think you and jason would enjoy the movie – a good “date night” outing!

Leave a Reply

