If I Was a Little Girl in 2011…

...i would wear my froggie boots inside the house, regardless of the season

...i would blow my nose umpteen times a day, just so i could get a kleenex from the bunny

...i'd be workin' 9 to 5 in the field of arts n crafts, beginning with a daily dose of stickering...

...i'd channel my inner dior-esque ambitions by creating designer duds for these kids...

...i'd likely complete an activity book a day - paperwork is absorbing, you know

...i'd have the entire WIGGLES collection on auto-play, and know every song by heart

...i'd open my eyes in the morning and smile when i saw these friends on my walls!

...i'd wash and wear my silver-sequined fifi shirt over, and over, and over, and over...

...i'd play interior designer and rearrange the furniture in my eco-friendly doll house - at least once per day

...i'd think that a goldfish snack was manna from heaven

...i'd be oh-so-proud of my princess ring-just like little e - and be equally as oblivious to what 'giving the finger' truly means!

...i'd dream about being an artist when i grow up so that i can paint colourful murals in children's parks

...i'd make up training circuits on the playground equipment: up the stairs, down the slide, up the yellow ladder, drive the bus...and try to go faster each and every time...

...and i'd STILL play with fisher-price toys from the '70s...cuz they just don't make 'em like they used to!

How would YOU spend your time if you were a child today?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On April 8, 2011 at 7:17 am

    I have actually bought that box of tissues…and there are goldfish in our household…who says you outgrow these things. I love those boots.

    I didn’t get to go near a computer yesterday and it looks like you and another commenter went into my spam filter (your comment was there twice…). I’ve rescued the comment though!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 8, 2011 at 8:30 am

      that’s fun that you have the same box of kleenex! i love the themed/brightly coloured tissue boxes available…easy way to add a jolt of colour or fun to household decor…not to mention something as mundane as a kleenex box! thanks for rescuing my comment…the folks at wordpress were trying to help figure out why i’m having some commenting issues…finally answer – they don’t know!

  • Donna  On April 7, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    Just found your blog (super lovely by the way!) and i’m just wondering if i can get those rainboots in a size 6? I would totally wear them 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 7, 2011 at 2:31 pm

      Glad you commented, donna – thanks!
      I know…aren’t those boots the best?! You’d *almost* welcome a rainy day if you could splash about in froggies!

  • Johanna B  On April 7, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    Can tell you spent time with the little ones yesterday.

    If I were a young girl today I would be outside roller skating (not roller blading) around the neighborhood, playing hop scotch, climbing trees or riding my bike. The same things I did back then. I still bike. I wonder if roller skates are in my future?

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 7, 2011 at 1:46 pm

      Oh, you are getting to know me too well, johanna! You are correct! I enjoyed some delightful play time with little e and baby c yesterday!
      I understand – skates vs blades. There is a difference. Glad you still enjoy biking. And maybe skates ARE in your future! Never say never!

  • janetha @ meals & moves  On April 7, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    First of all I just want to say how glad I am that I am NOT a child today. Growing up before the internet existed and getting the original Nintendo for Christmas one year and watching TV before reality shows were around… that is what I call childhood. These days there is too much technology! Second..if I was a kid these days, I sure as hell wouldn’t be at work right now 😉

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 7, 2011 at 12:23 pm

      Janetha, you never fail to make me chuckle! How many hours til you can escape for the day!??!! 🙂
      I soooo hear you on the challenges of being a child today…times sure were simpler in our eras…I remember how excited the brother and I were to get atari and play pacman! And small kids with cellphones?? It’s just wrong!!

  • Dorry  On April 7, 2011 at 11:34 am

    I love this! Goldfish – the quintessential snack for kids. If I were a child, I’d spend my time climbing trees, riding my bike and running around with friends. I’d eat Popsicles and walk barefoot through the grass.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 7, 2011 at 11:42 am

      It’s so wonderful when children can just get out and play. I agree with you: bate feet in the grass is just a joyful experience!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On April 7, 2011 at 10:23 am

    I really want to find that kleenex box with the bunny on it — how adorable!

    If I were a child I’d probably be reading my favorite Richard Scarry books or out at the park playing and swinging!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 7, 2011 at 10:26 am

      oh, richard scarry books were among our favourites! i’ve bought a couple RS books for my nieces, but they also have the ones that The Brother and i enjoyed as kids – classic!

Leave a Reply

