The 1970KikiProject Quarterly Report

Good Morning!

Today is Saturday, April 9th, and the weather is…springlike?? (it’s kinda early in the morning to tell, for sure…appears to be clear out. Let’s hope it’s a sunny day!)

Three months ago today, it was my birthday!

file photo: january 9th, 2011

That means it’s time to check in with our progress on this year’s 1970KikiProject which kicked off its current incarnation three months ago, today.

(source)

Quick recap: I intend to enjoy 41 New Experiences during the time period of January 9th, 2011 to January 8th, 2012.

And where are we today? The tally stands at 12 New Experiences completed.

And we are right on target, kids. Whew! No need to panic!

A couple of comments on the twelve projects completed thus far:

~ Most fun: the fake fingernails

~ Most expensive: trip to Aruba

~ Most time-intensive: the Cake Decorating course

~ Most disappointing: drinking Coconut water!

Just 29 more to go!

I’ve got a lot of ideas floating around in my head for possible Fun New Experiences. In the short term, I have an Easter-themed project in mind, and chances are high that a work-related New Experience will occur, as well.

I haven’t pre-determined how to stay relatively on-track – so far, just randomly going with the flow has worked extremely well (quite unheard of for someone who adores planning!).

While we’re at it, let’s check in on:

The UN-Official 1970 Kiki Project:

Goal: bake 41 different recipes of chocolate chip cookies between January 9th, 2011 and January 8th, 2012.

Status: SEVEN recipes baked….oops! I better hop onto that baking trolley and get crackin’!

Let’s aim for TWO more recipes this month.

Two other shorter term cookie goals:

1) make a fancy version – like something with a unique twist to it in terms of ingredients (although I have learned from experience that anything other than a basic recipe is met with dubious expressions!)

2) make a gluten-free version.

(source)

If I made an all-purpose flour variety AND a GF variety, I’d love to do a blind taste-test!

We’ll see if we can make that happen…

Then, there’s the Coupon of the Month Project.

Happily, this project is right on track, too. And April outings are all scheduled with Mom, with Dad, and with babysitting in Toronto. Yippee!

Lastly: I have two goals for the month of April:

1) finish A’s sweater – the back is complete

please excuse the ugly towel backdrop, but I'm blocking the piece...just finished the knitting last night!

I’d say I’m on track.

2) Still clean!

How are you doing with your New Year’s Resolutions and/or April Goals? Are they still on the radar, or have they faded into the sunset?!

*#*#*#*#*

I really enjoyed reading the results because I am nosy from those of you who took the Real Age Test! Thanks for sharing! (Click here if you’d like to try the test).

Now here’s my question: EVERYONE who shared their results came out YOUNGER than their biological age. So:

~ are readers of this blog generally a healthier-than-average lot? or…

~ did people who came out OLDER than their actual age just not share their results?!

Hmmmm….enquiring minds want to know.

Have a great day!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna B  On April 11, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    Both Alton Brown (I love that guy) and Zesty Cook have great gluten-free chocolate chip cookie recipes.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 11, 2011 at 7:05 pm

      oooo – thanks for the tip! i bought GF flour on the weekend JUST so i can do the cookie taste-test contest whenever the mood strikes! thanks, johanna!

  • Dorry  On April 9, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    You’ve accomplished a lot! Aruba has to be the best, right? That’s a lot of chocolate chip cookies to bake – I’m excited to see the gluten-free version.

    Hope you’re having a sunny day for lots of shoppers. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 9, 2011 at 1:44 pm

      It’s beautiful here and yes – lots of shoppers are searching for new shoes! Hope you’re busy, too!
      Haha – let me know if I can send you and billy a batch of GF, or really any variation of choco chip cookie, that you would like! 🙂

  • Zo  On April 9, 2011 at 10:25 am

    The coconut water picture is utterly priceless! I’d say for my new year’s resolutions i’ve been doing okay…definitely paying more attention to some than to others! Of course with the April goals, as usual I’m worst at the easiest (drink more and be nicer to my hands)!
    I think your being situated on the healthy living blog highway means you do get readers who are interested in running and nutrition…so you probably could expect that people’s ages were “younger!”

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 9, 2011 at 10:31 am

      thanks, zo! i’m the world’s worst actor, have no poker face whatsoever, so the coco water photo is completely genuine! that stuff was just nasty! have you tried kombucha? i wonder what that would be like?! i really enjoyed reading your progress reports on your march goals, and again, following along now as you write about your april goals. isn’t it funny what is easy and what is a challenge! your theory re the real life test is bang-on, i’d say…better that we’re all consistently scoring lower than higher!

      • Zo  On April 9, 2011 at 10:42 am

        I’m not much of a poker face either…people always ask me what I’m thinking because my face shows if I find something funny or strange!
        I’ve never tried kombucha….it’s another thing that’s supposed to be amazing for you…but sounds (and sometimes looks) not very appetizing!

Leave a Reply

