The Same, Yet Not

Tuesday, I had the day off work. Since I was all caught up on housework, errands, and just wasn’t feeling the urge to embark on spring cleaning tasks, I spent a lot of time blogging and knitting (these would be two of my favourite things).

For the blogging portion of the day, I sat for a while in the Huether Cafe.

It was quiet, and I could perch in the big front window, spread out my laptop and mouse (dislike doing lots of computer work without using my mouse), drink coffee, and peoplewatch. Doesn’t get much more enjoyable than that.

When I returned home to my knitting, I propped open the glass sliding doors in the Condo Casa and let the sunlight stream in, and the fresh breeze clear out some of the winter cobwebs – both in my head, and in the living room corners – haha!

Yesterday, I again had the day off. Seeing as Wednesday = Aunti Goes to Toronto Day, and being that I had no appointments scheduled in the morning, I hightailed it down the 401 relatively early in the morning, and passed a lovely day in Ontario’s Capital City.

(source)

Unfortunately, Tuesday’s sunshine turned into Wednesday’s rainshowers:

a good day to break out the (almost) duck-feet!

Once again, knitting and blogging were the themes of the day.

After arriving in TO, I worked on A’s sweater. Second sleeve = finito! I’m like a horse with blinders on, now, in regards to this project!

(source)

Around noon, I ventured to The Purple Purl. I’ve been approached about doing another commissioned knitting project, so I went to my favourite Toronto yarn shop to research wool.

now this is my idea of being like "a kid in a candy store!"

The afternoon was the perfect opportunity to visit the Dark Horse coffee shop – I’ve been dying to set up shop at their communal wooden table for years!

sharing a common (gorgeous wood) table adds a real sense of community to the coffee shop experience!

Of course, I had a coffee. Can’t absorb the atmosphere and not order something!

mmmm.....large decaf americano (brought my own stevia!)

Unfortunately, I could not connect to a network, despite repeated attempts PLUS three re-boots of my laptop, so I did not last long. Too bad – I really like the indy atmosphere in there:

i think they rotate the art on a frequent basis, and feature local artists

All in all, a very fine day. And the icing on the cake? Time spent with Little E and Baby C!

How do you like to spend a rainy day off?

*#*#*#*#*

Remember last week when I found a copy of the Oprah magazine in the Recycling Room?

i'd love to set up a more formal magazine lending library in our building! save trees and save $ - share!

I’ve finished paging through it. It was an OK read. I DO like Oprah, and I DO like the variety of topics covered in each issue of her magazine.

One pet peeve to comment on (note, this PP is not unique to this magazine – lots of other ‘zines grab our attention this way, too):

when i see a headline on the front cover, i expect in-depth coverage inside...

entire length of the feature? ONE PAGE!!! this is it!

And no blasts of brilliance on how to save your money, either. The four main points?

~ Go international

~ Look for in-season produce

~ Eat meatless or meat-light

~ Make your own (ex: salad dressing)

Nothing we haven’t seen before.

I don’t mind short ‘n’ sweet articles; just don’t make them out to be more than they are, by highlighting them on the front cover.

What’s one of your magazine pet peeves? Photoshopping and airbrushing also turn me off!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna  On April 16, 2011 at 7:24 am

    OK, mentally, I didn’t get get very far past this line in this blog entry… “I was all caught up on housework, errands…”. DOES THIS HAPPEN TO PEOPLE? Gracious. The envy – the extraordinary envy!!
    😛

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 16, 2011 at 8:46 am

      well, i COULD have found some backburner stuff to do…and i have spring cleaning on the list…i just pretended those things do not exist! 🙂

  • Dorry  On April 14, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    I want to come hang out in a coffee shop with you on a rainy day! I’m so incredibly jealous of your Vibrams! 🙂 We both have great perks with our jobs, don’t we?

    I love spending a rainy day inside with the windows cracked if the temperature is mild. I really don’t mind occasional rainy days, but overcast skies make me feel claustrophobic after a while!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 14, 2011 at 9:10 pm

      we both have the most awesome jobs, dorry! we need to do a product swap! 🙂 yes! we’d do the coffee shop thing then eat our avacado salads, how about that! grey skies DO get to be much if they continue for days on end…i could never live in vancouver for that reason!

  • Zo  On April 14, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    The other month, Marie Claire had a cover story that on the cover said “Weight Obsessed? How to Stop Food from Controlling Your Life,” also what it was called on the contents page..which sounded to me like it was about not always thinking about the next chocolate bar! Instead it was an article titled “Eat, Purge, Live” about one woman’s treatment for anorexia/bulimia. I think they could have had “one woman’s struggle with” as the cover instead. As I’ve mentioned, that subscription isn’t getting renewed…

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 14, 2011 at 8:25 pm

      that’s a totally misleading cover statement! very interesting…your alternate suggestion is much more fitting!

  • Lisa  On April 14, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    Sounds like a relaxing experience—coffee shop blogging, but no internet really puts a damper on that!

    I’m usually disappointed in general with magazines—they’re so “fluffy” nowadays. Not that I already know everything 🙂 But, I get intrigued by the covers (including sometimes the cover model), and then when I make that impulse buy and am done looking through the mag in 10 minutes…I remind myself why I don’t do that!

    I think I learn more from blogs and get more quality entertainment from blogs than from any magazine!
    Glad you had fun with Little E and Baby C!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 14, 2011 at 5:31 pm

      i totally agree with your magazine-quality assessment, lisa. i have let all my subscriptions lapse due to feeling unfulfilled with $ vs content. magazines – TOTAL impulse buys, yes! and it can really add up at $4-6 an issue! blog reading?! ah yes! much more satisfying to “visit friends” than celebrtiy-gawk, the writing/content is better and it’s cheaper than a mag! hope you get to see your matthew soon, again!

  • Johanna B  On April 14, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    I was also disappointed in that particular “article” in Oprah. Not much info and nothing new on that page. I’ll bet a lot of folks picked-it up for just that “article”, too. Disappointment reigns.

    My PP of magazines (as you already know) is all the subscription cards. I pull them out first.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 14, 2011 at 2:52 pm

      it appears we would be on the same “page” (pun intended) in our opinion of the money saving article, johanna! 🙂 since my copy of the O mag was “previously viewed,” at least there were no subscription cards to pull out!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On April 14, 2011 at 11:55 am

    That is also a magazine pet peeve of mine. The other one is when the title on the cover says one thing, but then the article itself is called something else — when I look at the table of contents I want to be able to find it right away! (This is the case when I am in a checkout lane and want to read the gossip but I can never find the trashy article I am looking for!) 🙂

    On a rainy day off, I would spend my time inside — cleaning for a while, then maybe finding a good movie to watch, reading, or maybe taking a nap on the couch. That sounds good to me!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 14, 2011 at 12:29 pm

      ah yes, the bait and switch from the cover to the contents…that’s another good one, holly! i find, in general, that magazine table of contents are so ineffective…or else i just don’t search well! flipping through/looking at gossip mags is the only bearable way to pass the time in the checkout lanes!

Trackbacks

  • By what kind of person ARE you…? « striving cynic on April 19, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    […] Plan to Recharge Every Day.” [Kiki recently had a post that discussed how annoying it is when the stories featured on the cover don't really match the article inside].) The article explains what’s going on with your body as you wake up and move through your […]

Leave a Reply

