The Big Cathie, Little Cathy Reunion

Do you remember your first babysitter?

When we were little, my mom was a stay-at-home mother, so the only time we ever had a babysitter was when my parents went out for the evening. We practically shoo-ed them out the door when we knew that next door neighbour Big Cathie would be coming over to look after us.

Talk about a long-time friend: Big Cathie has known me since birth!

L to R: cathies brother, don; me (16 months old); cathie in april, 1971

If I ever had an older-sister mentor, it is Cathie.

jan/feb (winter) 72

When I was really little, Cathie would come over to play with me, just because.

playing in our backyard, may 72 (i would have been 2 yrs old, cathie a 14 yr old teen

At Christmas, I always received handcrafted goodies for my dolls (clothes or furniture). Besides being very talented with crafty projects, Cathie has always been gentle, funny, kind, pretty, warm-hearted.

That bond established so long ago remains to this day!

Even though we had not visited in person for years and years, (and with communication limited to Christmas and Birthday cards, and the occasional email), I have always felt I can call Big Cathie a true friend. We’ve never been out of touch.

Last eve, Cathie and I met at The Symposium Cafe for a very long-overdue reunion! The day-long rain, wind, dampness and general dreariness evaporated when we settled in to chat (and sip tea and coffee)!

cathie, today!

cathie & cathy…

Poof! Suddenly, two hours had passed! Cathie and I still have so many common interests, and we each have two nieces! After much lively chatter and exuberant laughter, we finally had to call it an evening…but not before making a plan for another visit. Cathie’s birthday is in June…a birthday celebration outing will be in order!

 
Enjoy your Sunday ~ may a cosy café outing be part of your plan for today!
 
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On April 17, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    So much fun! I remember my 1st babysitters. We didn’t have too many since I have 2 older sister who acted as babysitters, but I loved a couple of them. One of them was really scary, though! Haha. She probably wasn’t really scary, but she wasn’t very much fun. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 18, 2011 at 5:09 am

      NOT fun sitters just are not welcome!! hope you didn’d have to have her over too often! ah, more older-sister sitters – you’re so lucky!!

  • Lisa  On April 17, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    How nice for you to be able to visit and enjoy each other’s company! I had a babysitter down the street named Cathy 🙂

    We only had occasional babysitters too, and definitely had our favorites. I don’t keep in touch with any of them, but they hold a special place in my memories.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 17, 2011 at 9:12 pm

      cathy/kathy was a much more popular name back a few decades ago…i don’t think i ever hear it for new babies, now! having a babysitter on a non-regular basis really made it an occasion, eh!

  • Johanna  On April 17, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Wow, that’s so amazing that you’re still in touch with Cathie! What a special relationship you guys have. 🙂

    Unfortunately, I don’t remember any of my babysitters. It’s funny that Cathie wasn’t one of them but maybe she was otherwise occupied three doors over. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 17, 2011 at 7:59 pm

      cathie and i were chatting about neighbours back on the crescent…she totally remembered you, and was so happy that we’ve been getting together again, too! i think you had sitters from the other side of the crosswalk beside you?? no “babysitter wars” allowed in our ‘hood!!!

  • Gina Unger  On April 17, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    I don’t at all remember my babysitters… I guess by the time my memory kicked in, Gayle and Gretta were my sitters! I think it’s so cool that you have kept in touch all this time. In reverse, I have thought MANY times of a family I regularly babysat and would really LOVE to see them all again. I have always thought about this… maybe it’s just time to phone them up when next I’m in their area!
    Still loving your bangs! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 17, 2011 at 5:34 pm

      thanks, g! i love the bangs, too. i notice my hair flying in my face less often! 🙂 you totally SHOULD look up the family for whom you used to ‘sit. i bet they’d love to hear that YOU’RE now a mom of three! i was always envious that you had older sisters to look after you!

  • Zo  On April 17, 2011 at 9:56 am

    How cute are those pictures?
    Have a great Sunday! I envy the fact you have so many cool places/cafes to hang out in!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 17, 2011 at 10:03 am

      Thanks, zo!
      Yes, we really do have a huge selection of cafes and coffee shops in the ‘hood…indy establishments + s’bux, of course!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On April 17, 2011 at 9:24 am

    I do remember out babysitter. My mom was also a stay at home mom and our babysitter was a gal from our church – her name is Jody (and my mom was actually a bridesmaid in her wedding!) My parents still talk to Jody (and her parents as well) every once in a while, but I haven’t seen her in forever!

    Isn’t it amazing how quickly 2 hours can pass when you and the other person just “click”? That is such a nice feeling.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 17, 2011 at 9:47 am

      That’s so neat that your parents are in touch with jody! Maybe you will have a reunion with jody some time!
      I know you know how two hours can fly with a good friend!

Leave a Reply

