How to Blog Every Day…And Stay Sane

Progress is coming along nicely on my 2011 Goals!

~ Travel: yup – thanks, Aruba

~ Outings of the Month: on track

~ Eclectic Dishes Collection: yes! proof positive: Meg, Lief and Robin; pottery mug + plate

~ Blogging Every Day: 82/82 !!

I started this blog in January 2010. Last year, I blogged whenever, but mostly just tracked the 1970 Kiki Projects.

For 2011, I wanted to see what it would be like to *have* to blog every day. I’d embark on a streak, so to say! Don’t say I never warned you about my addictive personality!

Here, then, are some random lessons gleaned from daily blogging

~ PLAN: We know I love to plan. I love to plan my plans. I plan my planning time. It’s no different when it comes to blogging. Due to work, family commitments, social outings, home responsibilities, I can’t blog at the same time every day. Once in a while, there is no time for blogging (thank you, WordPress Scheduler!).

my daily agenda with work, appts, to dos...still a paper and pen kinda gal...

...and then theres the BLOGGING agenda (seriously)! i block out blogging time and (possible) topics

~ determine your preferred schedule: As an early-bird, I am most creative in the morning, although before bed works, too, for some reason. Blogging should be a fun hobby. Write when you have the time, feel creative, and will enjoy the process.

go with your natural voice: I do best when I write as if I was chatting. Whenever I try to get more formal, I get stuck [even making this list is not flowing easily, right now…]. Some of my favourite posts are just the random this-‘n’-that entries. Do you know how many times I have started an essay on “Jersey Shore and Body Image?!” – it’s just so not happening! [The ideas are in my head and won’t come out in my typing!]. (Although, maybe you just can’t get *philosophical* when Jersey Shore is your theme?!) Over time, your “comfortable voice” will emerge most often.

~ choose a theme or a project: Any post relating to a 1970 Kiki Project practically writes itself!

~ vary your topics: It’d be a pretty boring blog if allll I did was talk about knitting, or the store, or the nieces [well, I wouldn’t be bored at all by that last one!]

~ keep your eyes open:  I’ve learned to carry my camera and a pen with me at all times. A photo or an incident, a chance encounter, or a “deep thought” can trigger an idea for the blog. I may use the idea asap, or tuck it away for another day.

~ go with your vibe: The easiest writing just flows out the fingers. Trying to force a certain entry is tortuous [like this one]! I know it’s the right post for today when I hit publish and sigh a pleasant breath of contentment.

~ remember who you’re blogging for: What works for me: when I blog for myself [sounds selfish, but it’s true]. I pretend: if no one read my blog at all, what would I say? I love entries that make me laugh, warm my heart, leave me with a sense of creative satisfaction.

[Honestly, I’m not thrilled with this post, isn’t that ironic? When brainstorming ideas, I liked the turns of phrases that came to mind; right now, I’m challenged!]

What’s your ideal blogging schedule? I genuinely enjoy once-a-day blogging.

Some bloggers blog weekdays, others write six days a week…while some publish entries two or three times a day, every day!

Any blogging tips that work for you? Gina has had good luck setting a timer and writing only until she hears the “bing!”

Have a great day! I’m off to see the little ones! [I’m not planning to blog about it, this time!]

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On April 20, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    I appreciate this post a lot since I’ve been thinking/observing some of this with my blog. I’ve had posts where I planned and it just didn’t go where I wanted it to…posts where I had nothing particular to say that turned out to be a lot of fun!
    Again, big-time admiration for your posting every day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 20, 2011 at 9:26 pm

      thanks, zo! oh, i so hear you on the unpredictability of posts! having “nothing to say” is often quite fun as you just let the ideas/chatter flow out! i’ve had it, too, where posts that i think will draw a lot of comments elicit next to nothing, then something i randomly toss out (coffee!) gets enthusiastic response! very funny! i am still in awe of the 3x a day – every day – bloggers!

  • Lisa  On April 20, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    I hope you had a great time with the little ones!! I was with Matthew today (and Joe’s 4 nieces and nephew too). We had a blast outside!

    I like the bloggy tips. I haven’t made it to everyday yet, but my schedule will being clearing out soon, and I’m going to focus more on strategy…your thoughts are helpful!

    Right now I’m just blogging whenever I have the time/capacity. I also like to read other blogs in conjunction with writing a post…so if I don’t have enough time to do both, I do neither!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 20, 2011 at 7:46 pm

      oh, that is wonderful that you got m time today, and had the other nieces and nephew around, too! i bet there was a lot of laughter and activity! i can’t read blogs and write in tandem – one then the other! of course, i plan my blog READING time, too! that will be so nice when you have a bit more free time – and summer is the perfect season for that!

  • Dorry  On April 20, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    Great post! The busier I am, the more I need to plan my days and be more aware of time management. I’m the same as you – I blog I blog at night or in the morning…almost never during the middle of the day. Often I’ll write the majority of a post at night, then finish it up/edit it when my mind is fresh in the morning.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 20, 2011 at 7:45 pm

      yet more similarities between us, dorry! we follow very much the same blogging/writing style. …tangent, but i so love your blog design (header) and also your commenting system – i must get more details from you some day!

  • Gina Unger  On April 20, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    Some good food for thought here, for sure, Cath! I had to laugh as I read your post: #1: Planning your Plans! (I can relate!); #2: I could certainly relate to your quandary of not “feeling the vibe” as you wrote it, yet it was part of your “plan”! I have been in that boat many a time! Thanks for reminding me of the “bing” approach! I haven’t done it in awhile, but it really did work for me! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 20, 2011 at 4:37 pm

      i really love your timer approach, and it really DOES work! it’s perfect for sticking to “the plan” for the day! i guess it’s like any writer – journalist, novelist, essay-writer…some days you can’t type fast enough to record your thoughts and other days there’s just a ginormous writer’s block happening!

  • Johanna B  On April 20, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    Enjoyed your comments on blogging. I need to get more involved with mine instead of waiting for spurts of insight. Hope you’re enjoying the day with the kiddies. Still waiting for the grandson to arrive. It could be any day now.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 20, 2011 at 1:15 pm

      oh, please do share when the baby arrives! maybe he will be an easter baby?! sometimes it’s hard to find those creative inspirations…at least you stay in touch with blogs with your comments!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On April 20, 2011 at 10:31 am

    I have been blogging every day, but in the past I’ve taken weeks (months!) off between posts. It all depends. I think what is helping me this time around is that I don’t pressure myself to be like the bigger blogs — I try to do my own thing and I write as though the only people who read are me and my family!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 20, 2011 at 11:14 am

      Good point, holly re putting pressure on ourselves…the more you can “stay grounded” to your personal style, the more you want to blog!
      I missed you when you took a bloggie break, but completely understand the need for it sometimes!

Trackbacks

  • By striving cynic takes a holiday « striving cynic on April 21, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    […] mention my work and personal e-mail). I wonder what will happen…I was encouraged yesterday by Kiki’s post about blogging every day (again….wow!) and the acknowledgment that sometimes people do step away!  Maybe the time away […]

Leave a Reply

