Gluten-Free or Fam-i-ly??!

Goal #1 – Finish A’s sweater.

Goal Accomplished! With nine days to spare…

On Thursday evening (while my eggs were a-boilin’) I sewed the final seam on Version #2…

Sweater #2 is quite different: much more narrow in  both the body and sleeves, and note the very simple neckline. Compare it with Sweater #1:

I am super happy with Sweater #2 – the final measurements match exactly to the detailed notes I took before beginning the reknit. A will receive her new sweater on Sunday. Hopefully, the modifications are just what she was hoping for!

*#*#*#*#*

Goal #2 for April is Follow a Gluten-Free diet. To date, I have stuck to my plan. I feel fantastic!

Last eve, though, a dilemma presented itself: as she has done for every year since 1975, my Mom made Paska for Easter, and an invite to bread-for-dinner was extended.

My options:

a) skip Paska because it’s not GF.

b) partake in Paska eating because it’s Easter, it’s an opportunity to “break bread” with family, and I could enjoy a special treat that we only consume once per year. There is nothing like my mom’s Paska, eaten on the day it is made.

[Sidenote: Paska is actually a family tradition from my Dad’s side of the family – the German Mennonite side. My Grandma and Great-Grandma also baked Paska every year for Easter. My mom took over the tradition since Dad is lost in the kitchen when we were very small, and we have celebrated Easter with this special bread, ever since. I have never made Paska and likely never will. The Brother and SIL Ana have embraced the family practice the last couple years, so the next generation will carry on the tradition!]

It was not a hard choice.

Mom made four loaves, total (half a recipe). Paska is truly the best the day it is made.

Another tradition! When I was little, I always swiped the drops of glaze off of the wax paper.

Dad is the official bread slicer. The Paska is super delicate, and Dad has the gentle touch:

The glaze icing is my favourite part of the bread. I’d like a slice of TOP, please!

Ever since I can remember, I’ve eaten my Paska this way:

Eat the main part, then savor the glaze!

2011 was a very good Paska year, declared Mom!

Look! Mom and Dad decorated eggs, too!

So yes, I deviated from my April goal. And yes, later on I could tell I had eaten gluten.

And yes, I completely made the right choice.

Are you celebrating Easter with family this weekend? We will be having our extended family get-together in mid-May this year, due to the busy travel schedules of some family members! Not a biggie to me…it’s the celebration together that counts, not the date!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lisa  On April 23, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    The sweater is beautiful!

    Great paska story—it sounds like you definitely made the right choice.
    I splurged on candy today, and feel like crap! Weirdly—it makes me want to eat more, but I think I am just going to use it as a reminder and get back to “normal.” It was worth it though 🙂

    Hope you have a wonderful Easter with your family!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 23, 2011 at 7:17 pm

      deviation is good, from time to time. life would be pretty boring if we never “went outside the box!’ easter, christmas…good days to have our treats! have a great rest of the weekend!

  • Nicole  On April 23, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    Yup, I’m all about the icing. mmmm… the thicker the better! 🙂 I’ve recently discovered the most amazing glazed covered croissants at Zehrs- they’re covered in the most delicious honey glaze. They’re to die for!
    Happy Easter to you, too!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 23, 2011 at 2:15 pm

      Mom and I were talking paska last night…some variations DO call for a thick, white, “cake-calibre” icing instead of the glaze…and then they fuerther decorate with jelly beans on top!!
      I haven’t seen those zehrs croissants-wow!! 🙂

  • Gina Unger  On April 23, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    Great job on finishing the sweater – for the second time! I am always amazed at your knitting talents!
    Too funny that you posted this paska blog today b/c I was working at my own website this morning and told myself not to deviate from my plans by checking my emails first! So when I finished, I posted and checked out yours – well, you’ll just have to read mine to see why I’m laughing. 🙂 Instead of taking my own photos, I can just refer people to your page!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 23, 2011 at 1:33 pm

      all right! i can’t wait to see your paska tales! good for you for sticking to your plans…i constantly get sidetracked by checking email – like right now!!

  • Nicole  On April 23, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    oh, thank goodness you swayed from your gluten-free month. That Paska looks amazing. I would be just like you by devouring the glaze before anything.
    P.S Gorgeous sweaters. Is SIL the recipient?

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 23, 2011 at 1:20 pm

      do you enjoy the top of a cupcake the most, too, nicole?! i could just eat the icing and leave the cupcake! 🙂 no, this one is not for the SIL…she’s doing so well with her knitting, of late, that she could likely whip up her own sweater (if she had time!) 🙂 happy easter to you and your family!

  • Johanna B  On April 23, 2011 at 11:34 am

    I brought many of my own foods with me to Kansas City not knowing what would be available at the hospital or in my daughter’s home. I’ve done very well = no gluten but I’ve been hungry a lot of the time. I’ve also not had as many fruits and veggies as I usually eat. It was worth it to get to spend time with them and the new baby.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 23, 2011 at 11:48 am

      thanks for sharing your family vs foodie situation, johanna! i bet it’s been an absolute delight, bonding with your new grandson and sharing this special time with your family. all the more wonderful that this happy occasion has occurred on easter weekend. hope you’re taking many photos!!!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On April 23, 2011 at 10:11 am

    Great job finishing that sweater Cathy! It looks beautiful — and yes the shape looks much different.

    We’re spending tomorrow morning with my parents — church then brunch, and tomorrow afternoon we’ll be with Jason’s mom’s side of the family. It will be a full day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 23, 2011 at 10:13 am

      thanks, holly! i’ve got my fingers crossed that the sweater is a hit! your easter sunday family plans sound fun – do enjoy! hope the easter bunny brings a treat!

Leave a Reply

