April Babysitting with an Easter Theme

Saturday, the sun came out.

Literally…

…and figuratively:

Easter Weekend was the perfect opportunity for the April Outing-of-the-Month time with the little ones!

It was nice to give SIL Ana a short break since The Brother was busy elsewhere.

Let the shenanigans games begin!

Who could stay indoors when the temps finally rose, and nothing but shirtsleeves/sweaters were needed?! Well, and a beret…

Park time!

We started with a little bit of random exploring, then Little E and Baby C really got  into sandbox play. After more than a solid hour of digging, shovelling, raking, and castle-making, they had to be dragged home for dinner! [Sidenote: Baby C needs a new name! At 20+ months old, *Baby* is no longer completely appropriate…sob, sob!]

Back at home, it was time to investigate two new card games: Old Maid and Memory (Easter treats!)

Baby C was really feeling indy with her headwear choices this day!

Old Maid turned into Memory, as we made up our own versions!

…and Aunti must have we always enjoy our colouring time!!

Little E decided to copy the “teacher” card in the Old Maid game, and did an amazingly accurate rendition!

I can’t think of a more delightful Easter Saturday agenda!

photo courtesy of Little E!

What were your favourite childhood card games? Old Maid was a definite favourite…although I didn’t like to lose!

 

And a favourite playground activity? I loved climbing on “monkey bars,” as we called them…just not too high up in the air!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On April 25, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    So much fun! My mom still calls me baby D! The youngest of 3 girls…I guess some things never change. 🙂 I loved the slide when I was a little girl – hated the sandbox. Too messy for me. Ha. I also loved the swings. And I did puzzles by myself when I wanted quiet time. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 25, 2011 at 5:06 pm

      haha! i hear you on the sandbox being messy!…i remember having fun playing at the beach in the sand, but was never that devoted to sandbox play! now puzzles??? oh yea! and i bet you have favourites you did over and over!…i still love a challenging jigsaw (bright colours, please!).

  • Lisa  On April 25, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Old Maid, Go Fish, Candy Land, Sorry, Uno…we always had game nights at my house that were a lot of fun!

    Baby C….hmmm, Big Girl C? C-Love?

    Happy Easter 🙂
    Spring is sort of in the air here…warm and a little rainy…but not freezing!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 25, 2011 at 2:29 pm

      we’ve got rain here, too…but like you say, at least it’s no longer freezing out! UNO!! again, i forgot that one! we used to have absolutely rousing matchs of that game! that’s fun that your family was a games-night clan, too! thanks for the Baby C suggestions…i think naming the meg + leif plates was much easier, haha!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On April 25, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    Cute kids!!! What a fun way to spend the day.

    I really liked Memory/Matching games when I was a kid. And on playgrounds I liked the swings the best (and I really liked tire swings but those were a rare find!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 25, 2011 at 2:09 pm

      oh, i remember tire swings, too! and they were not too common around here, either! this was the first really nice weekend for park play, around here…

  • thehealthyapron  On April 25, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    awww that looks like such fun! I loved old maid or crazy 8’s! Tag was probably my favorite playground game though!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 25, 2011 at 12:57 pm

      Ah yes! Crazy eights was fun! I think that’s the first game I ever learned that used a *real* deck of cards!

  • Johanna B  On April 25, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    I loved the monkey bars but my all-time favorite was the swings. To this day if I’m around swings I have to get on and have some fun.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 25, 2011 at 12:39 pm

      Oh yes! Swings are the closest to feeling like flying, aren’t they!
      Little e loves the swings but baby c won’t go near them!
      Hope you had a great weekend enjoying time with the new baby grandson, johanna!

  • Gina Unger  On April 25, 2011 at 9:24 am

    Ah, this page is from my present and my past… I loved playing Old Maid as a kid, too (and Go Fish and Memory) and because of those memories I bought the games for our kids a few years ago… we were just playing a new version of the Memory Game the other day – the one that came with the Easter egg dyeing kit (did you see it in your box, too?) 🙂 Too much fun!
    Love the sweater Baby C is wearing (yours, I’m sure!) I totally get the “baby” name conundrum… we call Marin our baby, too, but she will be 2 in June! Maybe the youngest is always the baby?!?

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 25, 2011 at 9:35 am

      yes, that sweater is from aunti! maybe your family still thinks of you as the Baby, too?!! haha! glad you’re introducing the tried ‘n’ true card games to your kids…i guess the old maid name may be a little “politically incorrect,” but it’s so much fun!

Leave a Reply

