Movie Theatre + Movie Reviews

One day, earlier this month, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my mailbox to find a coupon to the new Empire Theatres in town.

$6.99 for a movie? yes, please!

Well, here we are in the final week of April, and this coupon was burning a hole in my pocket. So, last evening, I decided rather last-minute to take in a movie; as such, I just ventured out solo.
Unfortunately, the choices were a little slim. I definitely did not want to see Water For Elephants because I did not like the book (sorry!). I also was not at all enticed by Your Highness, Source Code, Scream 4 (thanks to Holly’s review!), Rio, Insidious, Hop, Hanna or Diary of a Wimpy Kid 2 (whew!…I’m picky, eh?!) That left either Soul Surfer or Arthur. Since I thought Russell Brand was hilarious in Get Him To The Greek, and I would pay to hear Helen Mirren read her grocery list, that made Arthur my final answer.
I didn’t realize this release was a remake! Mom clued me in. Obviously, I never saw the original!

not many people out to the movies on a rainy, monday night!

The lobby is sleek and empty and modern! Everything was immaculate (due to the newness + no people!). The child staff member who sold me my ticket was super-friendly – I’d bet they’ve received customer service training. Or else she was bored out of her mind.

liking the fake brick (L)...and a "lounge?!" fancy!

proof of my attendance!

New-to-me technology:

add about 20+ minutes to that start time, after viewing ads and previews!

There ended up being 12 of us in attendance!

where to sit?!!

Made me think of my Florida movie outing!…
BFF Debbie – this one looks promising!

chic flick!

All in all, I’d have to say Arthur was pretty uneven. It was alternately silly, touching, predictable, amusing…but I can’t really recommend it or give it an enthusiastic thumbs up. Still, it was an entertaining night out, and the new theatre is pretty nice.
What’s your feeling on solo movie outings? I’m quite a fan! Doesn’t bother me at all, really, to go out alone to see a film. You can’t talk, anyway, during the *feature presentation,* plus, you can see exactly what you want when you venture out on your own!
Last movie you saw, solo or accompanied? The King’s Speech was my previous outing!
◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

In other news…

A loved her sweater!

On Sunday, I gave A the re-knit of the Celtic Pullover, and she was delighted with this second version:

I’m happy that we’re both happy!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

The suffering has ended.

Also on Sunday, I finally finished this book:

I thought the day would never come.

I had about 25 pages left to read, so Easter Sunday afternoon, I cosied up in a Coffee Culture chair, and finished ‘er off:

hallelujah. that’s the final page. and that would be an XL decaf!

Unfortunately, I’d have to say that this is the worst book I have ever read. Usually if a book is bad, I’ll stop reading. Seeing as this was a gift I had asked for, I felt obliged to persevere. To add insult to injury, the last chapter absolutely made my skin crawl! Entitled “Costa Rica,” it details a vacation Chelsea takes with her Dad. Chelsea refers to her father “B!tch Tits” (I kid you not) throughout the chapter, and is on the receiving end of said father’s sexual innuendos. EWWWW!!!!

Upon returning home to the Condo Casa, I could not get down to our lending library quick enough:

i really felt like i should leave a warning for some poor, unsuspecting soul: “pick the james patterson!”

I have now started The Help. I’ve read <10 pages and am enthralled! I predict a Bloggie Book Discussion at the end of this one!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

When SIL Ana was in Finland last summer, she picked up this yarn for me:

As is the Finnish way (apparently), it has neither label nor instructions. SIL Ana said that when she inquired, the store clerk casually shrugged her shoulders, and said to something to the effect of “figure it out.” OK, then!

I decided to incorporate this yarn into a new mindless project. With tons of leftover wool from A’s sweater, I remembered a classic pattern from my collection that would be perfect!

how *classic* is the pattern? cabbage patch dolls were all the rage when it was printed!

So far so good!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Katherine: Unemployed  On April 26, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    I’m so looking forward to all the chick flicks coming out (all about weddings buh but oh well). I can’t believe how expensive tickets have gotten!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 26, 2011 at 6:31 pm

      yes! i saw three previews for chick flicks that i would go to see….too bad you’re not closer, i’d say “let’s go see BRIDESMAIDS!” (it does look pretty funny!) 🙂 hard to justify $10+ for a single movie when you can rent a DVD, use netflix for so much cheaper. the coupon was a nice bonus!

  • janetha  On April 26, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    I am always so impressed with your crafty knitting skillz. I need to bite the bullet and learn how. Haha, I love Chelsea’s books.. Sorry you weren’t into it!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 26, 2011 at 1:22 pm

      thanks, j! you should try the knitting thing…randy’d look cute in a little doggie sweater! or how about a colourful and funky winter scarf for yourself for apres-ski?! yea, i think i might have wanted to read chelsea in the first place because of a reference on your blog! 🙂

  • Dorry  On April 26, 2011 at 11:29 am

    I think solo movie dates are great! Billy is such a fan of going to the movies that I rarely go by myself. We saw Hanna and I loved it. Clever, adventure, action, etc. Glad your friend liked her sweater after all of your hard work! Chelsea Handler is just so crude, but that’s part of her whole persona, right? I’m not interested in her kind of humor either!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 26, 2011 at 11:34 am

      glad you enjoyed hanna, dorry! another friend of mine really liked it, too. i totally was unaware that the chelsea book would be so incredibly vulgar! i don’t consider myself a prude, but i really found the whole tone of the book quite distasteful! hope you and billy can get out for a movie date soon!

  • PB Addict  On April 26, 2011 at 9:55 am

    The last movie I saw was ‘Paul’. I was skeptical about it at first but it turned out to be pretty funny! It’s with the guy from ‘Run Fatboy Run’ and he’s always amusing.
    I love when movie theatres are empty like that – less chances of annoying people sitting behind you!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 26, 2011 at 10:37 am

      oh, i liked that “run fatboy run” movie! “paul” was not one of the possible choices last eve, or i would have considered it – i’ve read other opinions that said it’s pretty funny. i really dislike having people in front of me (i like to put my feet up on the seatback!) so that was bonus last night, too. and i hear you on how lots of neighbours around you can be annoying!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On April 26, 2011 at 9:39 am

    I’ve heard that Arthur is a remake, but I never heard of the original! I honestly have no desire to see it. I’ll wait for Netflix to have it!

    I’ve never been to a movie alone, but I’d probably enjoy it, I like to watch movies alone at home, so why not? And yes, Scream 4 stank but there was a really good looking preview for Apollo 18 — I don’t remember when it comes out but it looked really interesting!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 26, 2011 at 10:34 am

      i’ll have to watch for that apollo 18 movie! didn’t see a preview for that one last eve, although they showed FIVE previews (too many)…mostly chic flicks, and three of them looked like fun possibilities to see. netflix sounds like a good deal…it is in canada, now, but apparently the movie selection is not nearly as comprehensive as it is in the States.

Leave a Reply

