Spring Fever

Two things need to happen in order to feel like spring has arrived:

~ Easter weekend

~ no more mitten-wearing

pretty soon i can pack away the mitts + hats in my storage basket!

Check and check! [Well, I might still wear light gloves early in the day, but for the most part, mitts aren’t a daily necessity anymore. Yippee!]

The last few days, I’ve really felt like spring fever has struck! How? Well, I feel…

1. An itch to go swimming. Say what?! This sentiment coming from the girl who intensely dislikes being cold and wet??…what has come over me?! But yes, the thought of churning and thrashing gliding up and down the lane of the pool at our local swimplex does sound delightful, and refreshing. I have this hankering to s-t-r-e-t-c-h out my arms and legs, and lose myself in the rhythmic motion of front crawl.

(source)

2. Oatmeal is tasting heavy. Part of my favourite – and daily – breakfast is a hot bowl of oatmeal with peanut butter mixed in.

best pb on the market + the GF oatmeal

My taste buds have been requesting cold cereal in the morning, lately. Puffins + almond milk to the rescue!

1/3 bowl of each type of puffins + a dousing of almond milk

Now, this hits the spot on an April morn!

3. I could care less about hockey. According to the enthusiastic comments of my Facebook friends, there’s a lot of intense Game 7 battles being waged in the NHL right now. I couldn’t tell you who’s even still playing, to be honest. Since my beloved Leafs are nowhere to be found (what else is new), hockey is completely off my radar. I’ll just keep reading the Facebook updates for all the news.

The Canucks celebrate (Photo: The Canadian Press)(source)

4. Bright clothing colours are calling out to me. In winter, black is a wardrobe staple. Now, it just seems hea-vy. Time for my oranges, yellows, greens!

...not worn all at once, haha!

5. A desire to stay up later in the evenings. This is not good when wake-up is 5 a.m. Usually by 7 pm, I am winding down my day. Thanks to the extended daylight hours, 8 pm hits and I feel the urge to go shopping, start an organizing project, embark on a blog entry composition. It’s light! Bedtime must be hours off!

6. A re-awakening of appreciation for Mother Nature. The vibrant green of the grass in the park, the fragrant and bright spring blooms…I feel a renewed sense of awe at the beauty found in natural habitats.

7. The beckoning call of Chick flick movies! Usually, I love an intense, psychological thriller, or a lively indie documentary. Thanks to the previews I viewed Monday Night, I’d jump at the chance to catch:

~ Something Borrowed

(source)

~ Bridesmaids

Bridesmaids movie poster

~ Crazy Stupid Love

(source)

Just ask if you need a movie-going buddy! I’m in (esp since it will still be light out when we leave the theatre!).

What signals the arrival of spring for you? A calendar date is of little significance, personally – I need to feel the vibe!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On April 29, 2011 at 7:45 am

    For me, it’s spring when I suddenly want to spend time outdoors…in the winter I’m hustling to be indoors..once the weather’s nice…I want to go for a walk or hang out on our deck.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 29, 2011 at 8:28 am

      zo! are you back? welcome back, if so! (i think so?!) oh, deck sitting/lounging is the BEST. if you get a sheltered spot on a sunny day, the temp can soar!

  • Peggy  On April 28, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    I definitely feel that spring has really “sprung” when I can actually go outside without being uncomfortable (i.e. cold beyond belief!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 28, 2011 at 10:14 pm

      i hear you! so wonderful to be able to take a deep breath of fresh air and not 1) shudder from the cold 2) freeze your nostrils! 3) have hat/scarf combo on as protection! we’ve had rain for days, here…hope you have some better spring weather right now!

  • Johanna B  On April 28, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    I feel like spring is here when I can drive down 21st St going toward Wanamaker and along the block by the mall there are redbud trees, cottonwood trees and more than one color of green trees. The mix of colors is spectacular. Sometimes I pray that the light will take forever to change so I can just sit and enjoy.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 28, 2011 at 3:16 pm

      now that’s a grand example of taking time to “stop and OBSERVE the flowers,” johanna! so glad you appreciate those few moments of beauty. too bad this season of flowering blooms does not last longer!

  • thehealthyapron  On April 28, 2011 at 11:12 am

    ahh so excited for something borrowed and water for elephants!!

    I’ve also been “eh” about my morning oats. I want something cold too! I need to invest in some alternate morning options!

    Yay spring!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 28, 2011 at 12:04 pm

      i hope you get out to see those movies, erin! let us know what you think! cooked oats are soooo quick and easy as a breakfast option, eh! maybe we both need to switch to overnight oats??!

  • Dorry  On April 28, 2011 at 10:56 am

    Love your list. I love Puffins with almond milk, too! Delicious. Since giving up cereal for Lent, I thought I’d be really excited to eat it this week, but I’m still hooked on morning protein smoothies. It’s been pretty warm here (expect the past couple of days with a cold front) so a cold smoothie hits the spot. I like the longer hours of light outside. I feel more productive. And now, I really need a pedicure! That’s a sign of spring. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 28, 2011 at 10:59 am

      glad you’re enjoying your smoothies, dorry! they always look so refreshing. ah yes! flipflop season is upon us! bright nail polish is a great celebration for spring!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On April 28, 2011 at 9:55 am

    Ok I do want to see Bridesmaids — and I haven’t heard of that last movie but I love Steve Carrell so I’m sure I’ll see that one.

    I definitely crave and eat more fresh produce when Spring rolls around — and I have a desire to drink coffee again. I don’t know what it is, but I love hot coffee in the summertime!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 28, 2011 at 10:09 am

      i think steve carrell is so funny, too! 40 year old virgin is one of my all-time favourites, and that one with tina fey (forget the name) was just a hoot. we should plan a night out to see bridesmaids..of course, we’ll be in different cities, but we can compare notes after! 🙂 that’s funny that spring makes you want more coffee! most people want cool drinks! to each their own, right!

Leave a Reply

