Royal Accolades

Wasn’t it a beautiful wedding?

(source)

*Le sigh*…

I got up yesterday morning at my usual 5 a.m. However, it’s not EVERY morning, that I get to watch a Royal Wedding to start my day!

You know, earlier this week, I thought I’d not bother to watch. During the pre-wedding build-up, I really haven’t tuned in to the general hoopla, interviews, TV specials, speculation, and gossip.

But a funny thing happened once I turned on the TV…I got more and more caught up in the proceedings as the minutes ticked by.

See, “Watch a Royal Wedding” could not count as a New Experience. While I missed Charles and Diana’s wedding in 1981 because our family was on vacation in P.E.I. – although now that I think about it, why did that impact whether or not I watched?! – when Prince Andrew and Sarah Ferguson got married in 1986, Gina slept over and we DID get up at 5 a.m. to watch the TV coverage in our pj’s. That was a REALLY. BIG. DEAL! Fun memory!.

Now, if you and I had been curled up on the couch this morning with our spot of tea and vegan scones, here’s what I would have randomly commented upon…

◊ We’ve got the best seats in the house, us TV spectators! Just like at a major sporting event or concert: at home, you miss the electricity and excitement in the air, but you sure do get great close-ups – and no one’s head blocks your view!

(source)

◊ If I had been in attendance, I would have joined this girl, for sure:

(source)

Never pass up an occasion at which you can sport festive nails!

◊ Seeing William and Harry arrive at the church evoked a real sense of nostalgia…

(source)

I felt like a Proud Auntie because I remember when Wills looked like this…

(source)

I couldn’t help but think how proud Diana would have been.

◊ My new Favourite Girl’s Name is Pippa.

(source)

[Tangent: Eyebrows have been raised over the cream-coloured bridesmaid’s dress. To my mind, it’s the perfect choice: classy, formal, sophisticated…and if an actual colour had been worn, you’d have heard how *wrong* the shade was. Also: apparently, this muted shade is a British/royal tradition].

◊ I loved the fashion parade, and have nothing but good things to say about the choice of attire:

~ Kate’s lace was spectacular.

~ The Queen radiated in yellow.

~ Mothers-of-the-Bride, take note of Carole Middleton’s attire. That is an example to follow!

~ Beatrice and Eugenie…unique. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

◊ A few Cliff Clavin-ish facts, learned thanks to the CTV commentators (among whom was my close and personal friend Jeannie Beker, providing the fashion input!):

* the engagement was announced 22 weeks ago

* Sarah Ferguson was not invited to the wedding, and is considered “a disgrace” in Britain

* the first hymn sung (Guide me, O thou great redeemer) during the service was chosen in tribute to Princess Diana [happens to be one of my all-time favourites, too!]

*Le sigh.*

◊ He was dashing, she was gorgeous. Congratulations, William and Kate!


All in all, so glad I watched. Set me up with Warm Fuzzies for the entire day.

I had to leave for work just before the Balcony Appearance at Buckingham Palace, but thanks to the oodles of online and televised resources, I can catch that part of the celebrations…now, if I wish!

Did you watch? One observation or comment? Can you imagine getting married in front of millions of TV viewers, the throng of adoring spectators, like that?!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna B  On May 6, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    A few minutes ago I walked over to the hospital gift shop and actually purchased this week’s issue of People magazine. It had a big spread on the wedding and couldn’t resist.

  • Nicole  On April 30, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    Can you believe that 2 billion people tuned in!?! That’s unreal! The whole thing was quite fascinating.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 30, 2011 at 2:08 pm

      Ooo, thanks for contributing that piece of trivia, nicole!
      Wow-that it is a lot of extra “guests” in attendance! 🙂

  • Gina Unger  On April 30, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    I can’t believe I am the first to comment on this blog! I sooooo adored watching the entire ceremony, etc. – it was dream-like and beautiful. Kate mesmerized me and I loved her dress. Loved Pippa’s dress – her figure and dress colour/style was the perfect compliment to Kate’s as she carried the train. Loved the music during the ceremony as well as the ‘sermon’ directed specifically to Kate and Will… candid yet deep – very well put together. LOVED the balcony kisses and her cute smiles afterward. I can’t wait to watch all the rest that I PVR’d! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 30, 2011 at 1:53 pm

      I love your enthusiasm, g! Wasn’t the church music beautiful? All they needed was menno four-part harmony, along with that resounding organ accompaniment! 🙂
      Enjoy your pvr viewing! I’m catching up with online coverage!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On April 30, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    I didn’t watch any of the actual wedding, but I caught a few minutes of the procession afterward (traveling to the Palace for the kiss). I thought Kate looked beautiful, Pippa’s dress was gorgeous as well. Will looked great in his uniform, and I loved seeing the hats!

    What is the deal with Fergie not being invited? I didn’t know that. Her daughters had the most hilarious hats. It was fun to watch all of the hoopla although I didn’t really get into any of it.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 30, 2011 at 1:49 pm

      The fashions were the best!! The ceremony was boring compared to the church arrivals, balcony scenes, etc- everyone looked so elegan!
      Just one of those special occasions where it’s good to watch even a little coverage just so you know what went down!

Leave a Reply

