Gluten-Free For Good?

Happy 1st Day of May!

(source)

Here’s a random conversation starter for you: did you know that this weekend is the only “crossover weekend” of 2011 – ie two months on one weekend. My thanks to Rick Dees and the Weekly Top 40 for imparting this scintillating piece of information!

I love the month of May. If I could choose my birthday month, I would pick May. [Sidenote: I’ve tried for years to convince my family to celebrate my birthday on July 9th, six months after the actual date of January 9th. So far, no dice. The Brother is the only one who seems to support a Birthday Transfer!…]

This month, I am looking forward to:

~ Mother’s Day

~ celebrating Easter with my extended family

~ the Victoria Day long weekend (a.k.a. “May 2-4”, the kick off to “summer,” for us warm-weather-starved Canadians)

~ Mom’s birthday

file photo, may 2010

~ my favourite local yarn shop moving into town, and opening in my neighbourhood!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Before we get too caught up in May excitement, let’s recap our two April goals, set thirty days ago…

Goal #1) Finish the re-knit of A’s sweater.

celtic pullover for A

Success!

A received her sweater Easter Sunday morning, and we were both super pleased with this version.

Goal #2) Go Gluten-Free for the month.

Again, success!

I didn’t have to make any radical changes in order to accomplish this goal. The biggest switch was buying only gluten-free cereals. Avoiding products with gluten made a remarkable difference in digestion, in general. I am definitely going to stick with choosing GF groceries and food products.

However.

I have decided not to be fanatical about being GF.

In April, I deviated from the GF diet twice: on Good Friday, with mom’s homemade Paska, then again on Easter Sunday when we enjoyed mom’s homemade lasagna and apple pie. And I am glad I chose to consume these items. Celebrations > diet restrictions!

I also tried Gluten-Free Pizza Crust for the first time. It was very tasty; next time I’d grab the ready-to-go regular slice. At Gino’s.

Moving on!…in terms of May Goals, I’m keeping it simple this month, and again, will stick to two :

1. Finish reading The Help.

The Help

In order to accomplish this goal, I am going to need to read like a maniac cover about 10 pages a night, PLUS plan on spending at least a few sessions in an easy chair at Coffee Culture. Right now, I’m on page 48 of 444! :0

2. Knit up the rest of this ball of yarn…

looks can be deceiving: there's more yarn on there than you'd think! plus it's VERY fine!

…for this baby blanket:

growing at a snail's pace!

I’ve been making this lacy coverlet since July. The problem is that I cannot knit on this project and read blogs at the same time! Hence, it’s Tier 2 in priority. I think the size of the blanket is going to be adequate once I finish this ball of yarn (that will be three balls used for this blanket).

Should that be the case, I still have THREE MORE of the same yarn, though!

i hope i don't need a 4th ball for the current blanket...that would only leave two balls, and i have no clue what project i could use them for!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

In local news, it’s Running Sunday today!

Two major events are taking place:

The St John Ambulance Waterloo Marathon and Half Marathon is being *run* in Waterloo, while in Kitchener, you’ll find The Mud Puppy Chase – go 3, 5, or 10km!

Pretty unique to find five running distance options occurring simultaneously in one region!

And… a special shout-out to Gina‘s husband Jeff, running the Winnipeg Police Service Half Marathon this morning! Go, Jeff, Go!!!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

What are you looking forward to this month? I hope we get at least a few days of hot temps and bright sunshine!

If you could pick any month of the year in which to celebrate your birthday, what would you choose? After my first choice of May, any warm month would suit me just fine!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On May 1, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    I love May, too! My sister’s birthday is later this month. I’m good with my birthday being in October – it’s one of the prettiest months in Texas. I feel the same way about eating gluten-free. I do it for the most part because it comes naturally to me and I feel better, but I don’t obsess about it. I’d love to read The Help -I’ve heard good things. It’s May 1st and I still haven’t quite finished my April book – oops! Time to get reading the next couple of days. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 2, 2011 at 5:33 am

      that’s right! and you have a *special* mileston birthday in october, 2011!! 🙂 october is very pretty in Ontario, too – it would be wonderful to see texas in october, to compare!

  • Lisa  On May 1, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    Wow—you are so on top of things! Posting it here–what a great way to feel accomplished!

    My birthday is July 26…and I have always loved having it that day. However, I’m lucky because Joe doesn’t like his birthday (or getting presents), so on April 20th he gets me a birthday present too 🙂

    In my family, we’ve started celebrating half birthdays, at least for Matthew. It makes it easier for my mom because his real birthday is associated with my sister’s death. We still go to his bday party in the fall…but have our own special celebration with him in the spring! I highly recommend celebrating the real bday and the half! Why not?!

    I need to set some May goals…so far, I’m totally avoiding it 🙂

    Have a great night Cathy!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 1, 2011 at 7:06 pm

      thanks, lisa! wow, you have the best birthday-date!! and that is so fun that joe gives you a gift on his birthday – i like the sounds of tradition! i so understand why you celebrate matthew’s half birthday…and for kids, that’s a great idea as a year is SO LONG between celebrations! i take it you would support me changing my birthday to july 9th, then! 🙂 i hope you have a great month of may, and that it’s not too crazy-busy for you!

  • Gina Unger  On May 1, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    Thanks for the “shout out” re: Jeff’s race. I will blog about it later today, but let’s just say that it was definitely NOT the weather we were all hoping for! UGH! This is MAY?!?!?
    Way to go on your goals! Awesome!
    And I can relate to your b’day wishes… I have often wished my birthday was in the summer instead of October.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 1, 2011 at 1:00 pm

      Oh no!! Of all the luck…drat that weather! Yes, please do share about jeff’s race – I hope jeff’s race wasn’t a complete disaster!!
      Summer birthday people are soooo lucky! I’d switch bdays with you, though!! 🙂

  • Julie  On May 1, 2011 at 11:43 am

    Did you compete in one of the races this weekend, Cathy?

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 1, 2011 at 11:46 am

      No!!! I’m working til 2pm today…and not sad to miss out: it’s a rainy, windy morning to *welcome* may, today!

  • Zo  On May 1, 2011 at 11:17 am

    Happy 1st of May! I’m definitely looking forward to warmer weather and of course, more light!
    I actually like having an October birthday, so I wouldn’t switch it. If there were a way to permanently make your birthday a day “off” that would be good though!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 1, 2011 at 11:25 am

      Yes! It should be mandatory/a stat holiday to have your bday off!
      October is a good time of year to celebrate! Glad you enjoy your bday time of year, zo!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On May 1, 2011 at 11:16 am

    Great job on your goals Cathy!

    Honestly I would to have my birthday in any month BESIDES Decemeber — I am so tired of celebrating my birthday + Christmas, getting joint gifts, etc. I know that sounds so selfish but I feel like I don’t have that day to myself, you know? Jason does a good job making the day special, but before him it was pretty sad!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 1, 2011 at 11:22 am

      Oh man, I so understand! You in december and me in january-christmas and birthday celebrations are so close together, then you have nothing for the rest of the year! Boo hoo!
      Happy may, holly!! We have a rainy day to start off with, though!

  • Nicole  On May 1, 2011 at 10:11 am

    Yay for May! I share your love of this month. It gives hope of warmer days ahead. Also, it’s MY birthday month!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 1, 2011 at 10:15 am

      Oh, that’s so neat that may is your bday month, nicole! All the *cool kids* have may bdays! 🙂
      Unfortunately, mr sun has decided NOT to appear to help us welcome may today!

Leave a Reply

