Bonding With Bailey

Yesterday afternoon, I went to over to see BFF Debbie. We cosied up on her couch, and had this snugglepup to keep us company:

bailey enjoyed couch sitting, too!

Can you believe that I was once terrified of Bailey?!

It’s true! Nothing personal, Bailey. I have been scared of dogs as far back as I can remember (and cats, and guinea pigs, and horses, and birds…you get the picture!).

But dogs, especially, have made me jumpy and skittery.

I do remember a couple of bad experiences, as a child, with big dogs jumping up on me. And while running – Bechtel Park is esp bad for this – I’ve had off-leash dogs run right at me, something not much appreciated.

he's such a cuddly little guy!

Years ago, when BFF Debbie and I would visit at her place, she would have to put Bailey down in the basement before I came over, I was so scared! When we’d go walking, Bailey would be muzzled on his leash, and Debbie would keep herself steadfastly in the middle of Bailey and me. I’ve always appreciated Deb’s sensitivity and understanding.

wanna play??!

But over the years, little by little, Bailey’s settled down, I’ve mellowed, and now I genuinely look forward to don’t mind when Bailey greets me at the door, and wants a nose rub.

how could you not love this face!?!

aaaawwwhhh!

Debbie and I had been planning to take Bails for a walk today, but the rainy weather pushed us to indoor visiting, instead…

now THAT'S a photo for the record book!

…and the opportunity to Bond With BRIAN!!! 🙂

as seen on this past thursday's cityline

Debbie PVRs Cityline daily, so she picked an episode from the vault. Of course, Brian was Choice #1!!

we ♥ you, brian!!

Not quite as good as seeing him live, but it’ll do in a pinch.

This episode aired the day before The Royal Wedding; Brian was in fine form!

yes, these are all photos of BFF Debbie's tv...gotta do what you gotta do for the blog...

What a great afternoon of TV time, catching up, and curling up. Thanks for the fun visit, Debbie and Bailey…and Brian!

What’s your doggie-disposition? I do have a dog, you know!…

meet tiki!!

Tiki has been in the family for years…(I named him after Tiki Barber, yes). I think he’s adorable, and he’s just the perfect dog for me!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Gentle Reminder: today is Voting Monday!

(source)

Get out there and vote!

(source)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Nicole  On May 11, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    Unbelievable. I can’t believe I missed this post. I LOVE, LOVE the schnauzer. As you may have known (or not), we recently lost our beloved schnauzer, Jenny. We were once the owner of 2 schnauzers. They’re very dear to my heart. Here’s my blog post about Jenny:
    http://schnauzergirl.blogspot.com/2011/04/remembering-jenny_26.html

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 11, 2011 at 2:01 pm

      i know!!! 😦 (hugs)!!! while i’m not a dog owner, i can well imagine how a longtime pet becomes one of the family. i was SO SAD to read about your dear jenny. thank you for the link, too. miniature schnauzers are the BEST. the reason i have tiki is because we used to dog-sit a little darling, gretel when we were little. gretel remains to this day the ONLY dog that NEVER ONCE freaked me out. they are the best type.

  • Johanna  On May 2, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    I think it’s safe to say that you know where I land on this one. 🙂 But good for you – that picture of you snuggling Bailey is a remarkable and fabulous photo for so many reasons!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 2, 2011 at 8:09 pm

      aw, thanks, jo!! 🙂 see you CAN teach an old dog new tricks! (that expression is just so fitting at this moment!)

  • janetha  On May 2, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    ohmygoshohmygoshohmygooooosh!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE BAILEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 2, 2011 at 5:03 pm

      haha! i was thinking of you when we were taking bailey’s photos and when i composed this post, janetha! 🙂 glad you enjoyed! 🙂 too bad randy and bailey can’t go to the dog park together!

  • Johanna B  On May 2, 2011 at 11:18 am

    Cows are the only animal I’ve had a general all encompassing fear of. Can’t explain it. Grew up in a city where there were no cows. Alligators? yes. Nutria with their big red teeth? yes. Rats the size of large cats? yes. But no cattle. Silly me.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 2, 2011 at 11:24 am

      thanks for sharing about those scary-to-you cows, johanna! Not silly at all…we each have something, animal or other, that creeps us out. I admire you for not minding rats!!

  • Zo  On May 2, 2011 at 8:47 am

    I’m one of those people who sees a dog when I’m out and says “doggie!” like a three year old. I tend to like smaller dogs, but I’ve only had cats as pets (dogs are more of a lifestyle choice since they can’t be left for a while like cats can). I’m glad you’ve come around to Bailey’s ways.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 2, 2011 at 9:05 am

      oh, you remind me of my nieces! with both of them, i think one of the first words they learned was “doggie!” and yes, every doggie we encountered was mightily exclaimed over! i agree: dogs would be more “work” than cats. glad you’ve found the pet that works for your lifestyle!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On May 2, 2011 at 7:44 am

    Jason’s mom has a dog that scared me when I first met him — he had been abused by his former owner and did not trust anyone new! He’d jump on me, bark, growl, etc whenever I came over. But with time he calmed down around me, since he could see that I wasn’t going to hurt him! So yes I was scared at first, but it was so sad to be honest, that he felt that way.

    I love dogs and I wish we could get one, but Jason is allergic and he is kind of important to me! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 2, 2011 at 8:59 am

      haha, yes, holly!!! good choice in keeping jason vs getting a dog! glad jason’s mom’s dog and you have “made peace!” and that is a sad story, but it has a happy resolution…glad jason’s mom can give doggie a good home!

Leave a Reply

