This Is My Brain After…

In the past 36 hours, my little grey cells have been exposed to quite the variety of stimuli. Let’s see how the following three activities rank in terms of mental engagement…

1) Watching “Real Housewives of Beverly Hills”

It was a major score back when I found my favourite guilty pleasure the wildly entertaining Jersey Shore online. Sadly, I am now all caught up (I sure hope Season Four is not delayed too long!).

Sunday eve, I got the brainwave to check out and see if I could find some Real Housewives episodes, online, available for free viewing. Before now, I’ve watched only one season each of RH of New York City (loved!) and RH of Atlanta (menh). I intend to eventually watch them allllll!!!!

I had good luck with the online search! I decided to re-start my RH viewing with Real Housewives of Beverly Hills. One episode and I’m hooked already. Did you know that one of the featured women is Kelsey Grammar’s wife (Camille), while two of the ladies are aunts to Paris Hilton (Kim and Kyle)?! (Thought that info would make your day). It’s going to be The Summer of the Real Housewives, warning you now.

Ranking on the Kiki Brain-o-Meter:

FLATLINE!

2) Socializing with my friend Lisa

Yesterday afternoon, I met my dear friend Lisa at my neighbourhood Coffee Culture for…coffee!

the coffee friends!

Can you believe the last time we visited was in August? We had a most marvelous time. I β™₯ Lisa! Studies have shown that meet-ups with close friends are good for the brain – those warm endorphins are released, and our moods brighten (I have no proof to link you to – I just know that in some magazine or newspaper article, I have read references to these facts!). I know that being with friends energizes me, and my brain gets all happy and activated!

Brain-O-Meter Ranking:

ZIGGETY-ZAGG!

3) Completing Attempting crossword puzzles

The urge to do crossword puzzles has struck! I think it’s a delayed hankering because I did not take a xword puzzle book to Aruba this year; that’s always been a poolside past-time, and this year, I plum forgot.

I bought this book at Chapters a while ago.

fyi: "easy" is in the eye of the beholder; for me, it's a bit of a misnomer!

I really like to do crossword puzzles as long as I have a chance of getting some of the answers. My favourite xword is the one found in the back of People magazine. You want me on your team for Trivial Pursuit, celebrity gossip category.

Barring People, an EASY CROSSWORD BOOK will suffice. This New York Times one is NOT THAT EASY.

So far, I have yet to get one puzzle completely filled in.

a pretty typical end result

Here are some sample questions:

~ Clues that get me excited because I can answer them tout-de-suite:

* ___ Tacs (breath mints)

* Bill of Microsoft

~ Words I can figure out with a little bit of contemplation:

* Lands’ End competitor

* Brown shade used in old photos

~ Answers that I have not a hope in h$ll of deciphering and are just really not fair:

*Siouan tribe (4 letters)

* Part of ancient Asia Minor

~ When I wish I could call a friend:

* Shrinking Arctic mass (11 letters) The Brother??

* Texas’ official flower (10 letters) Dorry??

Doing crosswords involves a few specifics: coloured gel-pens, and this chaise-longue chair, planted in front of the Condo Casa windows:

i pretend i am esconced in a beach chair

I also set a time limit for how long I am willing to suffer going to work away. One xword a night is as good for the mind as an apple a day is as good for the body, no?!

Brain-O-Meter Ranking:

NEURONS FIRING!

What flatlines your brain and what challenges your mind?!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On May 10, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    Texas official flower is the bluebonnet!! I see someone else already gave you the answer. πŸ™‚ Bluebonnets are beautiful. I couldn’t agree more – favorite crossword is People magazine. I can complete it just about every time. And I like to try my hand at the one in the American Way magazine on American Airlines flights. πŸ™‚

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 11, 2011 at 5:17 am

      i will have to google “bluebonnet” to see this flower – even the name is pretty, though! i’m with you – people mag puzzle i can usually complete…i miss out if they ask for names from 1920, or something, but otherwise it’s right up my alley. obviously your style, too! πŸ™‚

  • Nicole  On May 10, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    Ok, 2 things: Is that a schnauzer statuette of some sort on the floor beside your window???? Also, I LOVE the People magazine crosswords. In fact, I love them so much that, I just HAD to buy this special boxed set:

    http://www.chapters.indigo.ca/books/The-People-Puzzler-Box-Set-Editors-of-People-Magazine/9781603202787-item.html?ikwid=people+puzzler&ikwsec=Home

    I actually spotted the yellow People Puzzler crossword book at the Lens Mill store for a mere $2.49!

  • Deb  On May 10, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    There is a RH of New Jersey – think its done now, but while it was airing it reminded me of my SIL’s – inlaws family. Happily she does not follow this blog to learn my secret πŸ˜€
    The drama of all of them is like a good trashy book. Love’em and am always AMAZED at the ages of these people.
    Oh there’s a RH of Miami – I’ve seen 1-2 episodes of it.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 10, 2011 at 8:35 pm

      oh, i’ll check out miami, too. too funny that you can associate SIL’s (i know who you mean!) family with RH…they need to do RH of the GTA! πŸ™‚ you’re so right: RH is like a candace bushnell novel in real life!

  • Johanna  On May 10, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    Friends episodes, Desperate Housewives, Big Bang Theory = flatline brain

    Learning chorus music = challenged brain (it’s my sudoku – I’m with you… I’m hopeless at them!)

    I love your chair/window spot – I have lounge/sunlight envy! πŸ™‚

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 10, 2011 at 6:06 pm

      oh, desperate housewives – i miss that one! have not watched since season 2. “friends” never grows old for mindless laughs! learning music – yes! that will keep you on your toes…so happy it’s a challenge that you find so much satisfaction from!

  • Holly  On May 10, 2011 at 9:33 am

    Oh yikes — Real Housewives definitely flatline my brain!!! Camille is crazy — just wait and see!

    What challenges my mind — work :), reading, puzzles, mind puzzles like Sudoku, etc.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 10, 2011 at 10:17 am

      Ooo, now I really can’t wait to watch another RH of bev hills!! Tonight I need to catch up on my top chef canada, though!
      Good for you with sudokus…I cannot even get the children’s ones I have tried…my dad is a master at them!

  • Johanna B  On May 10, 2011 at 9:23 am

    Texas’ official flower in the bluebonnet. It’s against the law to mow them down even if they are taking over your yard. Thanks to Lady Bird Johnson they’re planted en masse along the interstates. We used to drive past fields full of them and I must say they are beautiful.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 10, 2011 at 10:19 am

      Oh, thank you for that state flower answer! Wow, those fields must look just amazing.
      The provincial flower of ontario is the trillium, and it is against the law to pick them. They’re pretty, but their white colour is a little bland, IMO.

  • Zo  On May 10, 2011 at 8:46 am

    TV definitely helps my brain flatline…I used to watch the NY housewives, but not lately. I’m a big trivia fan so something like Jeopardy gets the neurons firing (I’m a little too competitive though!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 10, 2011 at 10:21 am

      Oh yes! Jeopardy is a good one for combining tv + mental workouts. Do you yell answers at the tv!? Haha!
      I think there is a RH of new jersey(?) – I will verify that asap!!

Leave a Reply

