From the Director of “Super Size Me”…

Remember this guy?

(source)

Super Size Me” was one of my favourite docs of all time – and I ♥ me some documentaries!

Morgan Spurlock’s latest film,  “The Greatest Movie Ever Sold,” opened this weekend at the Princess, so I attended the early showing last eve.

(source)

It was a solo outing as none of my usual sidekicks seemed that interested in attending (are they still traumatized by Morgan spewing MickeyDee burgers, perhaps?!)

I won’t impart a play-by-play description; for a storyline synopsis of TGMES, click here, and you can see the Globe and Mail review here (note that the Globe is a notoriously harsh critic).

Product placement is a huge pet peeve. I’ve been known to snap out a judgmental hiss of “Product Placement!!”  during movies or TV shows (is that why no one wanted to accompany me last eve?!). While I adore Top Chef, that series is a big offender (as was Canada’s Next Top Model, not that it stopped me from watching, at all).

This film is both entertaining and fascinating. Remember that “Seinfeld” episode where Jerry and George try to get their “show about nothing” made? So it’s like a show within a show? That’s the concept here: Morgan’s documentary is about him getting sponsorship and advertising for his movie.

Just like “Super Size Me,” Spurlock’s winsome personality and self-effacing style keep the movie lighthearted in tone. If you are interested in advertising, marketing, branding and its effects on our lives, see this movie.

A couple tidbits to whet your appetite:
~cameo appearances/interviews with: Donald Trump, Quentin Tarantino, Noam Chomsky! (as well as other celebs)

~exploration of the terms co-production (synonym for product placement); brand personality (Spurlock’s is the combination of playful + mindful); faction (fact + fiction)

~one sponsor turns out to be the island of Aruba!!

Spin-Off ideas currently whizzing in my brain:

~ BLOGGING + product placement: the ethical questions posed in this movie totally translate to the blog world. I need to think on this whole issue some more…how do we know if a blogger is selling out or truly loves a product? Publicity (free and paid) via blogs is a multi-layered issue [I realize there are blog disclosure regulations; of interest is murky grey areas]…What about banners found on bloggers’ home pages? Is it product placement if a blogger states what she/he’s eating/wearing/driving/reading?

The seed of a future blog post is germinating in my brain…

Plus, how’s this for an idea? Piggy-backing on the concept of this doc, you could blog about your efforts to get as many giveaway items, banners, free products for personal use, invites to events in exchange for blogging about them…Kiki Project 2012?!

~the movie shows Spurlock getting quite a few doors slammed in his face as he makes his round of cold calls. The rejections he receives are numerous. The lesson I take away is that if you have a dream, it never hurts to ask, don’t take “no” personally, and dare to pursue your idea.

All in all, a very enjoyable and enlightening Night at the Movies. A *** star rating I bestow. And I leave you with…

ME saying "go see this movie!"

[The opinions expressed in this blog post are strictly those of the blogger; no monetary exchange occurred prior to the typing of this review]. 🙂

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Tiff  On May 17, 2011 at 10:19 am

    I hear ya! Product placement often gets on my nerves. I usually don’t read anything about “editor’s favorite products” in magazines because I believe they’re probably all pushing something. Oh well… life’s rough when you’re a skeptic.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 17, 2011 at 10:42 am

      oh totally!!! magazines irk me when they give “our top 101 beauty products for spring” or whatever because it’s just 101 product placements, bottom line! advertising camouflaged as a feature article!

  • Johanna B  On May 16, 2011 at 9:16 am

    I happen to be a big Morgan Spurlock fan. Have seen Super Size Me many many times. Have not heard about his new one. Will have to look around for it. Things don’t come quickly to the Topeka area.

  • Gina Unger  On May 15, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    Very interesting! I’ve added the movie to our “to see” list. Good food for thought on the advertisements on blogs.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 15, 2011 at 12:27 pm

      I think you and jeff would both really like this one. There’s a whole segment on education + marketing to schools that you both will find interesting!

  • Zo  On May 15, 2011 at 10:08 am

    This post is fascinating, particularly all the blog-relatedness you point out (and I love the 2012 idea!). I feel pretty comfortable talking about products I use because I just use my blog to chat about things and haven’t affiliated with anyone in any way…but I suppose that if I decided to change that, there’d be so much to consider.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 15, 2011 at 10:12 am

      I wish we could get a group together to watch the movie and chat! It’d be wonderful to get everyone’s opinions!
      Have a wonderful sunday, zo! How’s the cold? Hope you’re feeling better!

      • Zo  On May 15, 2011 at 11:19 am

        Thanks. I’m feeling better…but still coughing a lot!

  • Lisa  On May 15, 2011 at 8:15 am

    Oh…this movie is SO up my alley! I totally would have accompanied you! I’ve never even heard of it—but I want to see it. I can see how the insights would help me in teaching my nutrition classes. I have students (especially online) quoting nutritional info from commercials…and spouting off facts that are misleading. I was just reading a post by Kenzie at Healthy Purpose blog….about yogurt that tripped this type of thought for me. …the whole yogurt is good for bacteria balance, except that whole issue with all the sugar in it!

    I really want to see this movie now!!! I really love documentaries. I recently saw Waiting for Superman, and that was pretty interesting!

    Have a fab Sunday, Cathy. It’s totally raining here (probably for the next 7 days), but it’s still not winter!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 15, 2011 at 8:24 am

      Ohhhh, I wish we were closer as I would love love to see the movie again with you! I can just imagine the GREAT discussion we would have! And you would also enjoy the part of the movie about education/schools and sponsorship. Funny, too, that POM wonderful is his major sponsor! If you get a chance, totally see it! Have a great day and stay dry, lisa!

      • Lisa  On May 15, 2011 at 8:42 am

        I just found that the documentary is coming to the theatre down the street on the 20th…so I will definitely go (and as I type, the Today show is talking about how stores are using product placement in stores to capitalize on people’s tendency to impulse buy!). We can have a virtual discussion after I see it 🙂

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On May 15, 2011 at 7:50 am

    Sounds like an interesting movie! I had heard he had a new movie out but had no idea what it was about.

Leave a Reply

