Three Bloggers, Seven Shores

Yesterday, I once again enjoyed a super-fun lunch date with Angela and Odette! In April, we had a meet-up at thrive juice bar. This time, we ventured over to the Seven Shores Urban Market and Cafe in Uptown Waterloo.

may 17th and yes, i am seriously, in mittens and hoodie. where. is. spring????!

no chance of dining al fresco on this day!

I was excited to finally get to Seven Shores for lunch; it’s been on my list of hot-spots-to-try for a very long time. (Dad, you should be super-grateful that Angela and Odette spared you a vegan/vegetarian lunch as one of our Outings of the Month!).

cafe menu behind the display of freshly baked goodies; don't you just love that warm paint shade on the walls?

seven shores offers a small selection of organic produce and health food-y products

Odette was the only one of the three of us who had eaten at Seven Shores before. She had good things to say about the spring rolls:

the menu - note the description of the spring rolls near the bottom, there

I didn’t need much convincing to try those!

While waiting for lunch, our conversation flowed fast and furious. We all read each other’s blogs, but there was still so much to discuss and catch up on!

Round-robin photography:

angela and odette...

odette and me...

me and angela...

Actually, we each ended up deciding on the spring rolls. Makes for a winning choice for each of us, but boring photography!

la table

Close-up shot:

perfect portion for lunch! (we also rec'd a side of potato salad with each order)

I loved the combination of distinct flavours – the dipping sauce was spicy and sweet, a wonderful contrast to the mild rice paper wrapper. The carrot-based filling melded well with the dab of cashew butter – scrumptious!

One final photo before we had to say our good-byes:

I can’t wait until our next outing (we discussed a potential venue, already). Both Angela and Odette are absolutely delightful, so easy to chat with, and we share many likes and interests.

Blog reading is fun; blogger socials are fantastic!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

I almost missed the season!

This flowering tree is absolutely my favourite of spring blossoms:

i make a point of visiting this tree every year...

...and a new-to-me find! i'll remember to check this house again next year, too!

As you can see, there are already petals on the ground. A couple more days, and I’d have been out of luck with my chance to soak up the blossoms’ beauty. I am quite chagrined to admit that I have no clue as to the name of this tree. If you can enlighten me, I’d be eternally grateful. [Sidenote: I’m just woefully ignorant of plant/tree/flower names, in general. Take flowers: I know roses, carnations, tulips…after that, I morph into “pretty flower” for the type name!]

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

And you wonder why…

I disparaged the Canadian Marathon Scene in Monday’s post

According to this thread on the Running Mania forum, there was a SNAFU at the Mississauga Marathon on Sunday. The first two marathon finishers were disqualified because the lead bike led them off-course. Nice. There’s some debate as to who’s at fault. You could argue that the lead runners should have known the course, stuck to the route. In their shoes, though, don’t you think it’d be pretty hard to ignore the pace bike? Top contenders shouldn’t have to be thinking about where they should be running. They should be able to just hammer and focus on running fast. *Sigh.*

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On May 18, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    We had that pretty pink tree look going on a few weeks ago…I really enjoyed it. That marathon story made me laugh, although it’s amazing how the perfect example just came right after you griped about Canadian marathons!
    Your meet up looked fun (and yummy!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 18, 2011 at 8:02 pm

      i’m so glad i know what my favourite blossoming tree is now! and my mom told me where to find a few more in the ‘hood. unfortunately, misfortunes in marathons are all too common in canada…my odds were pretty good on some goof-up happening! :/

  • Johanna B  On May 18, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    Hope you’re having a good day. It’s the end of the nursing school semester so we’ve been really swamped with students finishing up projects and studying. Hope to have more pertinent stuff to say tomorrow.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 18, 2011 at 5:23 pm

      i understand that your brain is likely ready to just go home and relax. plus, you fulfilled your blog friend duties by giving me the MAGNOLIA answer this a.m.! 🙂

  • Lisa  On May 18, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    Looks like a fun bloggy meetup…and a great place to meet!

    I hope it got a little warmer for you today….here, the sun finally came out for a few minutes and I went to the store without a jacket…progress!

    On the marathon thing…it’s definitely the pace bike’s fault. Even if I knew the course, I would still follow because I would trust that they knew more than me!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 18, 2011 at 4:36 pm

      thank you for another vote of “biker’s fault.” we’re all in agreement, so far! yea, sunshine! we do not have that, but at least the rain has stopped (for now – looks a little threatening, still!) our blogger meet-up was so fun, i can’t help but wonder what HLS would be like!

  • Gina Unger  On May 18, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    I was going to say crabapple tree (with a bunch of question marks) – glad to know what kind it really is! Lunch sounded like so much fun! And those spring rolls… my mouth is watering! as for the weather… i could relate… up until this week when it suddenly became SUMMER! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 18, 2011 at 4:35 pm

      we usually get your weather 3-5 days later than you have it…oh, please, send some HEAT and SUNSHINE! i’d love to take you to seven shores some time when it works for us…it would be “our type of place.” and we could try their coffee! 🙂

  • Averie (LoveVeggiesandYoga)  On May 18, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    what a fun meetup!!

    but gloves and that COLD weather in late May…oh you NEED to come down to Aruba, pronto 🙂

  • Tiff  On May 18, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    How fun! I want a blog social! 🙂

  • thehealthyapron  On May 18, 2011 at 11:46 am

    Lunch looks fun! I need to do a blogger meet up sometime!

  • odetteansell  On May 18, 2011 at 11:26 am

    Love the recount of our meet-up! I also loved the pic of the hoodie and mitts- I love Canada with all of my heart but sometimes I just wish she would learn a thing or two from California’s sunshiney weather!! So happy you liked Seven Shores and glad your dad didn’t have to be subject to vegan food if he has a hankering for a meatier dish! 🙂 See you again soon!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 18, 2011 at 1:36 pm

      oh, i am with you. i hope enviro canada’s prediction of a hot, dry summer (as angela shared with us) is true! i really really want to try a coffee at seven shores, now!

  • Holly  On May 18, 2011 at 9:07 am

    Too bad about those marathon runners — I think the course should be clearly marked. I don’t want to think about taking a wrong turn when running a race, I want to focus on running!

    Those spring rolls look fabulous and this posts reminded me to plan something with some MN bloggers — meetups are a lot of fun!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 18, 2011 at 9:12 am

      exactly – if you’re in a race (hello, you paid for this, too!) there should be no questions whatsoever about where you are to go. a MN blogger meet-up – how about that for one of your monthly goals some time?! so much fun!!

  • Johanna  On May 18, 2011 at 7:30 am

    Magnolia tree! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 18, 2011 at 8:45 am

      thank you!!! maybe i should have had a giveaway-offer/prize for the first person to give me the answer! 🙂 i’ll owe you!!

Leave a Reply

