Conestoga Mall, Here We Come!

What’s a girl to do when the weather looks like this…

grey sky, rain, grey sky, rain

…for the 47th day in a row yet again?

Only one thing: go shopping!!

It just worked out that Mom and I had a date for our May Outing of the Month yesterday – and that we had pre-selected Conestoga Mall as our destination. When you can’t see the outside conditions, the weather is whatever you want it to be, right?

We started off at…

…where mom was on the hunt for some new jammies. We had great luck – she ended up with three pairs. I was the ‘thumbs up’ or ‘thumbs down’ voice of reason. Also the re-hanger-upper of cast-offs. You can take the girl out of the store, but you can’t take the retail out of the girl…

just give me the hanger, the pjs and let me do my job!

Then we headed over to Old Navy. We mostly just poked about but I did score…

$3 flipflops!

I chose the brightest pair I could find. Thanks for the treat, mom! (Payback for hanging the discarded pajamas?!).

We toured around…

a kitchen stuff store

Since they are no longer located in the mall across the street, we *needed* to take a walk-thru.

Then it was on to…

one of our faves!

I’m totally laughing over how many 80’s looks are back in style right now. Cropped tshirts, neon colours, shirt dresses…all being featured right now at the usual H&M reasonable price point.

By now it was lunchtime!

we always hit the food court. seriously, it has a super-wide selection since last year's reno

I’ve been wanting to try wonton soup + noodles the last 2-3 times we’ve lunched at the mall, and always have gone with an alternate option. With the damp chill still in the air, today was the day!

there's also a sit-down "spring rolls" restaurant in another part of the mall

Haha, I’m carrying over the spring rolls theme from yesterday!

Mom went with one of her favourites, the cottage cheese + fruit plate from Cultures.

let's eat!

We strolled through Winners after our break. As per usual for us, zero luck. Mom and I do not know how to shop Winners. Sharon, please come with us next time, and work your winning Winner’s ways, ok?!

Hey! We didn’t know this was here!

awesome, possum!

Apparently, this store location just opened on Friday. Now we won’t have to go all the way to Fairview Park Mall to find The Body Shop.

I snapped a photo of a divine dress that I now covet:

as seen in the window of melanie lynn

Don’t you just love that retro styling??

When we exited the mall, it was still cloudy but at least the rain had stopped. Nevermind – our spirits were high after our very fun outing. Thanks, Mom!

Now where will we go in June?

When’s the last time you shopped at a mall? Any interesting purchases? I don’t get to Conestoga Mall all that often as I tend to just shop in Uptown Waterloo (my neighbourhood).

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Explain me this, if you will…

as seen in waterloo park...

Why are these geese standing on one foot?!?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna  On May 19, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    Swans… yes. They’re just resting. It’s a birds way of pulling up the barcalounger. 🙂

    I rarely hit the mall. I’m with Zo – get in, get out!
    Love your flip-flops! I wish I could tolerate the toe-thong but I just can’t do it.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 20, 2011 at 5:17 am

      oh, thank you for the swan answer (and for confirming they’re swans) – if ANYONE would know, i should have known it would be you! you’re like mom – she hates toe separators, too. luckily, there are lots of cute toes-all-together styles out there, too!

      • Johanna  On May 20, 2011 at 6:36 am

        There are cute toes-all-together shoes but toe separated shoes are EVERYWHERE (EVERYWHERE) and taunt me with their cuteness all the time. I always try them on hoping that maybe THIS time it’ll be different but it hasn’t happened yet.

  • Dorry  On May 19, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    Looks like a fun outing with your mom! I love days like that with my mom. We tried to meet at one of our favorite shopping centers last week and randomly the entire block’s electricity was out so we didn’t get much shopping done! I work in a mall so I’m there 5 days a week. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 19, 2011 at 5:03 pm

      Oh, that’s cool that you’re lulu is in a mall…I was wondering if you were in a mall setting or at a streetside location. I am not in a mall at my store…better luck next time with your mom! Random power outage-unfortunate timing!!

  • Johanna B  On May 19, 2011 at 10:32 am

    The other foot was tired? Malls are a good place to be when the weather sucks. It’s stormy here today but I’m warm and dry inside surrounded by books. I love the Body Shop. Ours went defunct several years ago and now I just shop online. The bad part of that is I don’t get to try out the new stuff or smell the old stuff before I order. Oh well…

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 19, 2011 at 12:18 pm

      oh, too bad your Body Shop went under…it’s very fun to sample the product. i tried some vanilla body lotion yesterday and my hands smelled divine the rest of the day. thanks for the laugh on your goose guess!

  • Holly  On May 19, 2011 at 9:00 am

    Ok those geese are hilarious!

    I went shopping with my sister Kim on Sunday and we went to H&M and could not believe how grannie/80s everything looked! What the heck?

    I too fold clothes/pick up fallen off clothes when I’m at stores — I just can’t help myself! (and I’ve had customers ask me if I work there too)

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 19, 2011 at 9:11 am

      yea, i like the bohemian look but grannie prints are still not a style i want to adopt! haha, i bet when you’re in pier 1 you straighten vases and plump couch cushions, am i right?! 🙂

  • Zo  On May 19, 2011 at 8:31 am

    I love that ml dress…I wear a lot of black and white and it looks like a perfect summery dress (if it’s ever summer).
    I try to only go to malls on non weekend days if I can..otherwise I’m in get-in, get-out mode….not a fan of crowds!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 19, 2011 at 8:42 am

      we prefer weekday shopping, too. people wandering all over the aisles and you can’t get past them – that’s a pet peeve! we’ve got more rain today – surprise surprise. summer? what’s that?!

  • Gina Unger  On May 19, 2011 at 8:30 am

    FUN! Love those flip flops.. and Cultures?! Brings back so many memories of shopping with my own mom! It’s so great when malls renovate and make a dingy place fresh again. 🙂
    Are those geese… or swans?! Either way…not sure why the one footed thing is going on!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 19, 2011 at 8:43 am

      yea, remember the yogurt cones at cultures at fairview park? i think on our shopping trips we would get those sometimes! oops, i did call them geese, didn’t i…obviously i know as much about birds as i do about flowering trees! 🙂 thanks for trying to help! go get a pair of flipflops! a taste of summer for a cheap price!

Leave a Reply

