Just A Little Slab’ll Do Ya

Dad and I are making great progress in working our way through the meal times of the day for our Outing of the Month project. So far in 2011, we’ve enjoyed…

breakfast

morning coffee break

lunch

…which brings us to afternoon break!

I’ve been terribly excited about today’s destination for a very long time.

Now, the weather is still like this today:

i've lost track of how many days the sky has looked like this, now...

Does it make you think of ice cream? Not really. But beggars can’t be choosers. We had much better weather last year when we enjoyed ice cream one afternoon!

Marble Slab has been in Waterloo for about two years now. The first location opened beside the University – smart move! Students + ice cream shop = sales bonanza. Recently, a second location opened in the ‘burbs of Waterloo. Families with small children + ice cream outlet = sales extravaganza, I am sure!

So, while I’d never set foot in a Marble Slab, I’d heard nothing but great reports about the creaminess of the ice cream, the incredible variety of choices for toppings, the unique customization of your ice cream. What have we been waiting for?!

Dad and I chose to hit up the University location.

Wow – sooo much to choose from!…

talk about being a kid in a candy shop!

dad and i are going to start getting a complex! do we smell or something? every time we go somewhere, we're the only customers!

I had to ask a few questions as I made my deliberations as I didn’t totally get the menu board:

as the girl explained, you get ice cream, one mix-in and your choice of waffle cone for the small, medium and large prices; i know it says that on the board. i needed verbal explanation.

Dad placed his order while I deliberated.

the girl customizing dad's selections...

Dad went with white chocolate ice cream with raspberries and caramel sauce as his mix-ins, all scooped into a waffle bowl.

I knew I wanted a chocolate mix-in…

...but which one?!

I decided upon: birthday cake ice cream with Nestle Crunch bits mixed in, scooped into a chocolate waffle cone.

the waffle cone options, alone, boggled the mind!

prepared right before my very eyes

Wow. This was one delicious treat. Marble Slab ice cream is very creamy, and their hand-mix concept is a unique marketing angle. I loved my cone! Dad raved about his combination, too.

happy campers

Yippee for yet another fantastic outing – fun with Dad, and fun slurping down my cone. I can only imagine how this ice cream hits the spot when it’s hot, humid and sunny out!

Thanks, Dad! Our outing was such a *sweet* treat!

What’s your favourite ice cream shop? I’ve always had a soft spot for Baskin Robbins and their vanilla/chocolate chip ice cream. It’s been my #1 choice since childhood.

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Dad’s Famous!!

hey! i know that man!

OK, not really, but he was on the 6 o-clock News the other night!

mid-interview

The feature was about the psychological effects of this rainy, dreary May weather, and it was the lead-off story of the broadcast (??).

dad’s seven seconds of fame

The behind-the-scenes scoop: Dad said they interviewed him for about three minutes, but only 10 seconds ended up being shown. Dad, a lot of your footage ended up on the cutting room floor, eh?!

these photos are pics i snapped of my tv

Way to go, Dad! It may not have been 15 minutes of fame, but we’ll take what we can get, right?!

Have you ever been interviewed on TV? I answered a “Street Beat” question a couple years ago for that segment of the nightly local news broadcast. I think I was on-screen about seven seconds, too!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Sticking with our Sweet Treat theme, I made cookies last night (Recipe #10 of the Unofficial 1970 Kiki Project).

I used a tried ‘n’ true recipe because the cookies are part of a birthday present, and this recipe is a favourite!

I did make this recipe last year as part of the “40 Recipes” portion of the 1970 Kiki Project (it was recipe #1!)

Wednesday, I went over to Bulk Barn for the necessary oats. I eat the GF type, but have discovered they’re not the best for baking. I wanted exactly 2 1/3 cups oatmeal. Brainwave! I tucked my measuring cups into my knapsack so I could purchase just the amount I needed!

i could have used a third hand here - or a photographer; camera+scoops+bag+oats=a lot!

A whole $0.55 later, I was back out the door.

Here’s the recipe for these Jumbo Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies again, in case you don’t feel like clicking the link, above (Never say I am not helpful!).

(from Baker’s Chocolate Celebration Cookbook)

Jumbo Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 1/2 cups firmly packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/3 cups oats
  • 2 tsps baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 package (350g) semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup raisins

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Add flour, oats, baking soda and salt; mix until well blended. Stir in chips and raisins. Drop dough in 1/4 cup mounds onto greased cookie sheets [I used parchment paper]. Flatten each cookie into a 2.5 inch circle. Bake at 350 degrees for about 15-20 minutes. Cool on pans 5 minutes; remove and finish cooling on racks. Makes about 20 large cookies [I got 26.5].

oops! ok, don't place your raw dough cookies too close together!

**DO use the 1/4 cup measuring cup! This is key to the popularity of this cookie!

yummy, i promise!

Happy Friday and Happy May 2-4 Long Weekend, Canadian friends!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • janetha @ meals & moves  On May 23, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Of course I would see this post–teasing me–because I tried to go to Cold Stone on Friday and it was closed! Ha. Glad you enjoyed the ice cream with your dad!

  • Dorry  On May 20, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    We have Marble Slab here – so rich, so good! It’s been a long time since I’ve been, but there’s one very near our home. I also love Baskin Robbins. So many childhood memories. My favorite flavors as a kid were Rainbow Sherbet, Cookies n Cream and Mint Chocolate Chip. 🙂

  • Zo  On May 20, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    I should NOT have read this post while waiting for my dinner! I’m so hungry! That ice cream looks amazing…we have a Cold Stone Creamery near us that does ice cream the same way. Yum!

  • Gina Unger  On May 20, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    It’s hot and humid here so I just got home from an ice cream/play/biking outing with my kids! We didn’t go to MSC today, but they were just asking me yesterday if we could go there! (it’s right near Costco and why they thought of it). It IS super delicious!
    Your dad’s TV interview (and cuts) reminds me of mine this past February! 10 minutes of interview time = 5 seconds of TV time! Still, it’s so cool to see yourself or someone you know on TV!

  • Tiff  On May 20, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    Cookies and ice cream in one post? Amazing. I still love Baskin Robbins due to the traditional ice cream parlor smell. (Is that weird?) However, Cold Stone is my favorite in taste. Cake batter ice cream – yes please!

  • thehealthyapron  On May 20, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    I love marble slab! Yum! We shared an ice cream in hawaii that made me drool. Bday cake ice cream, oreo and brownie mix ins…YUM!M

  • Johanna B  On May 20, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Ice cream is my favorite food in the whole world. I would go to Cold Stone Creamery every day if my budget and health would allow. I love their Coffee Lovers special creation. I have one every year on my birthday because I get a coupon for a small one free. Yay for free ice cream.

  • Holly  On May 20, 2011 at 8:57 am

    The cookies look fabulous! And I think that ice cream is good any time of year in any kind of weather. Good choice on the choc waffle cone. That sounds great!

Leave a Reply

