Nothing Heavy

Good Morning, friends!

‘Tis the Sunday morning of a long weekend…is there any better feeling than knowing you still have tomorrow off? While it would be lovely to be relaxing on a dock at the cottage like Odette, or vacationing in Aruba with Averie, I’m just hanging around Waterloo this weekend…that’s ok, too. There is that holiday-mode vibe on the streets and in the air…everyone is chill!

Let’s just have a little visit this morning, shall we, and catch up a bit…

Groupon Update:

Yesterday, I worked at the store as is my usual for a Saturday. People could start redeeming their Groupons on Tuesday of this past week, and there has been increased traffic into the store ever since. There’s a blend of people totally new to the store and dedicated regulars for the Groupon users. While some shoppers are using their Groupon towards a specific big-item purchase (ex: shoes), others are playing my Price is Right game of “how close can I get to just going over $50 in product?” (To use the Groupon, your total bill must be $50 before taxes, minimum). So we’ve seen lots of random Powerbars tossed in at the last minute to reach that $50!

Knitting Update:

I’ve almost finished Ball #3 of yarn for the lacy baby blanket (one of my May goals was to knit up this third ball by the end of the month):

only one shade of variegation left on this ball, so that tells me the end of it is near!

After analyzing the size of the blanket…

it will widen and smooth a bit after being blocked

…I’ve decided it needs one more ball in order to make it the size I had envisioned. That will leave me with two balls of this colourway – not enough to really do anything with. So I’m going to buy two more of the same brand and type (it’s the Noro “Sekku,” fellow knitters), but in a different variegated colour theme, and make ANOTHER blanket, alternating two rows of each colourway. That’s what I’m seeing in my mind, anyway. I can either get the extra yarn at my favourite yarn store in Toronto, or wait til Mom and I go to the Knitter’s Fair in September. We shall see.

I’ve been playing around with the yarn left over from A’s sweater + the rainbow yarn from Finland….without much luck. I’ve now knit TWO toddler sweaters, both of which I’ve rippppped right out upon finishing. I wasn’t happy with the final looks. No photos as who wants to show off crappy knitting? It’d be like posting burnt pancakes or an inedible casserole – no thanks!

i'm going to stash the leftover cream yarn from A's sweater + the finland yarn for now...and wait for inspiration to strike again!

But I have a NEW project to tackle: a cardigan for Mom. A few years back (July 2005, to be exact), I made mom a buttercup yellow cardigan. It got ruined in washing (very unusual as Mom is Queen of Laundry Know-How) and Mom has lamented the loss of this sweater ever since.

felted and matted - not a great look; resembles closely "something the cat dragged in," as the saying goes

We got to talking the other day, and the timing is perfect for me to knit up a replacement. I found my pattern…

so glad i record details!

I had forgotten it’s called “Marnie!” (My Mom’s name). Mom got the yarn, I’ll do the knitting, and a new sweater shall be the outcome.

four rows completed! this shade is "natural mix" and is patons classic wool

Goal: finish this cardigan by the end of June. Should be do-able as I made specific notes the first time around, so I know exactly how many rows, patterns etc to knit to get Mom’s size.

Switcheroo:

It’s out with the old…

mitts + hats + neckwarmer + balaclava...the winter gear...

And in with the flipflops!

this mesh bag houses the flipflop collection over the winter...

Cold weather protection be gone!

away you all go til next winter!

emergency supplies will be kept on top, just in case

banished from sight!

How much more fun to see summer wear than heavy winter garb.

now THAT is fun to look at!

Considering I was still wearing mitts on Tuesday, though, I really have been needing to keep the winter stuff in plain view.

And with that, I’m off to enjoy my day: socializing work at the store, and a movie – I’ll tell you more about that tomorrow.

What will you do with your day off tomorrow, Canadian friends? Any plans for Memorial Day Long Weekend, next weekend, U.S. friends? I am working a few hours tomorrow (yup, the store is open on the holiday (?) but otherwise plan to avoid the rain relax!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna B  On May 23, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    Hope you’re enjoying your holiday. Ours is next Monday. I don’t have big plans just the normal everyday enjoyment of life.

  • Dorry  On May 22, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    Really fun that you got to make the switch to flip-flops and warm weather gear! It’s been warm here…it’s thunderstorming right now, though. Glad I’m home on the couch. We leave for our long weekend trip early Friday morning. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 23, 2011 at 6:02 am

      i hope this week passes by super quickly for you, dorry! warm weather is so welcome, isn’t it! we’re seeing milder temps but also rain!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On May 22, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    We do the same thing — swap out the gloves/hats bin for sandals and sunscreen!

    Next weekend for Memorial Day we’ll probably go to Jason’s mom’s for a picnic (she usually has one this time of year) and our 20 miler is planned as well — eek!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 22, 2011 at 8:32 pm

      i hope you can picnic AFTER the run! that social/family time will be a lovely…and with any luck, you’ll need that sunscreen!!

  • Zo  On May 22, 2011 at 7:29 am

    I have not figured out my memorial day plans yet. I have visitors coming in for the long weekend, so I’m going to have some time off…but they’re actually going to visit friends on memorial day…so I’m obligation free!
    Enjoy the rest of your long weekend, Cathy!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 22, 2011 at 7:44 am

      sounds like a perfect mix of social + solo time, zo! one more week for ya to get thru!…

Leave a Reply

